We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break before the Standard Chartered Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #77 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice break before the Standard Chartered Marathon”
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at Marco Polo hotels several times, but this is first time at room 865, which is a deluxe suite.

The room is spacious, with excellent view of Victoria harbour, including Ocean Terminal and Central district of HK Island. You can watch is Symphony of Light show in the room.

The marathon start at 7:45 am, we have to eat breakfast 2 hours before the race, but the coffee shop open at 6:30 am, so we ordered room service at 5:45 am, sure enough, the door bell ringed start at 5:45 am. Just great for us!

The hotel don't have a gym or pool, guest can use the nearby Fitness First at HK$55. We wanted to use the sauna but too lazy to walk and search for it.

One thing I found slightly inconvenient is the elevator key card (room key is separated), you have to insert that in order to reach your floor, so many things to carry so I either couldn't find it or forgot to bring it.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taipo_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    930
    285
    94
    43
See reviews for
624
724
152
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Well, after staying in budget accommodation we splashed out and planned to spend NYE in luxury and let me tell you we were not disappointed.
Our agent had stuffed up and instead of 3 beds we only had 1 huge bed (two singles pushed together) but this bed was soooo huge we were able to sleep 3 of us in the one bed. I have to say this was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The room was large, bathroom was large and plenty of wardrobe space - oved the robes and slippers.
The view was ok - we had harbour glimpses and a great view of the building work that was going on next door.
Room service was great. The pool was rather special, plenty of room for sunbathing. Towels are provided and the attendants serve you a glass of water once you find your seat. There is a trick to entering through the waterfalls though.
We had a great view of the NYE fireworks and all in all it was a great stay.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyTuesdaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My family and I took a cousin from NY to visit Hong Kong just before the Chinese New Year (from Feb. 1-3). I had initially wanted to be in the city in time to see the parade and fireworks, but friends had told me that many businesses would be closed on the dates around the the actual New Year (Feb. 7 this year) and we'd be stuck there with no place to go but the hotel. I took their advice and it was well worth it.

The Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel has been our hotel of choice since way back... the first time I had ever been there was in 1985, if I'm not mistaken. It is primarily a business hotel, and its amazing proximity to the Star Ferry and the docking area of cruise ships cannot be surpassed. If you are a business traveler who is attending a trade show at the Convention Centre across Victoria Harbour on the Hong Kong side, taking the ferry is your best bet. You cross over, walk on the convenient walkways over the traffic, and enter the Renaissance Hotel through the bridgeway, and you're inside the Centre. Of course, people have asked why we still stay at the Marco Polo HK when it's all the way on the Kowloon side and the Renaissance is actually attached to the Centre... and my answer is shopping. Yes, shopping is better on the Kowloon side, in my opinion. The Hong Kong side is the business district, if you will, and of course there's the bar/club scene to be had there, but since I am not interested in that, it really holds no fascination for me. Besides, as the Marco Polo HK sits on Canton Road, it is just across Kowloon Park (which I have wandered into by mistake some years ago and spent some relaxing hours wandering about the gardens; it has nice paths), it is close to the frenetic shopping on Nathan Road some streets over, it is just a Promenade walk away from the historic Clock Tower and cultural center and the science museum, among many other places. If one wishes to check out the night market along the Ladies Street and Temple Street in Mongkok, you just have to take a quick ride on the subway (just HK$5.00).

Inside the Marco Polo HK Hotel they have a Lane Crawford store with high end items. The entire Harbour City complex in fact houses the biggest names in fashion. And when it's the sale season, just as it always is just before the Chinese New Year, prices go way down. You don't even have to go outdoors, really. Just wandering inside the complex will have you fed and clothed. This was an advantage for us during this last trip, because it was cold (for Asian standards), some 8-10C, and with icy rain falling.

The Marco Polo HK Hotel primarily has location going for it. Also, since the SARS situation years back, the staff has become more helpful and have been positively solicitous of guests. The hotel itself has undergone renovation work in the lobby and the restaurants and the rooms. If you are used to European spaces, you will find the hotel rooms quite spacious, which is actually typical of hotel rooms in Asia.

They issue actual room keys and then they also issue elevator key cards. This is a good security measure, I think. I often encounter this in Swiss hotels.

The buffet breakfast, if you are lucky enough to get it included in your rate, as we were, is amazing. The selections are so numerous that it is impossible to try everything at once (although we've seen some fellow guests attempt it!). They make very nice eggs, their bacon is not too salty, and their boiled ham rather tasty. The Asian selections are equally good. Try congee for breakfast just as the Chinese do, or cold soba noodles topped with shredded nori and green onion and drenched with a light soy sauce, among others. This breakfast is good enough to take you through the most hectic guided tours or the most involved of shopping expeditions.

The room's minibar had more of a selection this time, and complimentary water that's replenished everyday, besides.

My only complaint is that one hears the showers of one's neighbors, although not the neighbors themselves. Also, our shower dripped. You could hear the tap-tap-tap of falling water.

We also tried the dinner selection of Cafe Marco, and that buffet was also quite good, if also quite expensive. Next time, we will try their other restaurant, Cucina. It had a lot of hype while we were there.

  • Liked — Location, breakfasts, and helpful concierge service
  • Disliked — Dripping shower head
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miranjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Had high expectations of this hotel was slightly disappointed. It's not a deluxe hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it probably was in the 1980's. The hotel has been given a face lift with new soft furnishings, but the furniture and bathroom is still a little dated. Harbour view rooms are worth the upgrade, although you do have to crane your neck for the bright lights of Hong Kong island, I did have a good view of Kowloon harbour though. The hotel is located directly in the designer shopping district and just a 5 minute walk from the Star Ferry (which apparently runs every 30 minutes, it cost less than 20p to get across to the Island). Would I stay here again? Probably not, I would prefer to stay on the Island itself and come across on the ferry to then look back at the Island for the impressive skyline (most impressive at night).

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I never regretted we stayed in this hotel it was fabulous. Rooms and bathrooms were big and it can easily accommodate a family of four. The location was conveniently located in all shopping malls and restaurants definitely I will be coming back. Great hotel and highly recommended to all.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank rm2467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Nice accomodations in good location on Kowloon. Large bathroom, too. River views are spectacular especially at night. Near Ferry to Hong Kong island, other destinations. Room service prompt. Front desk people were a bit indifferent, but could be helpful if pressed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred44SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

I stayed here for one week and decided to take a room on the club floor, level 17, with a harbour views.

Staying on the club floor is luxury with a private dining room for club stayers where breakfast is served by butlers in black tie and tails. In the evening there are complementary cocktails and excellent snacks.

The staff are particularly friendly and helpful and the service is excellent. The room I had was huge but needs a bit of an upgrade such as flat screen TVs.

The hotel is located conveniently to the Star Ferry, Nathan Street and is part of Harbour City, a huge shopping complex.

BUT I have been to Hong Kong on quite a few occasions and my preference is to stay on the other side, Hong Kong Island, where you don't get hassled by the Indian hawkers flogging tailors and fake watches and bags, where the shopping is better and where the restaurant district of SOHO is located.

  • Liked — Convenience and luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#40 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city's busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong's cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex. Guests enjoy easy access to the area's major tourist attractions like Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel's 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel, or catch up with the latest blockbuster from the wide selection of movies while enjoying the hotel's In-room Dining service. For guests preferring the exclusive comfort and personalised service of The Continental Club, our designated guest floors come with unparalleled benefits that have become hallmarks of the Marco Polo hospitality. In a city known as the 'Culinary Capital of Asia', the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel features three of Hong Kong's most renowned restaurants and bars, to include Cucina which features Italian open kitchen, all-day international cuisine at Cafe Marco, and the Rum Bar at Lobby Lounge - conferred the Guinness World Record for "Bar with the World's Largest Selection of Commercially Available Rums." Whether you are looking to plan your dream wedding or the perfect corporate meeting, our 14 state-of-the-art function rooms will meet your every need. The built-in audio-visual facilities of the function rooms on sixth level provide the ideal setting for small- to medium-sized events. The Centenary Ballroom at lobby level is the perfect balance between elegance and intelligent architecture, where clients can transfer even the biggest display materials easily due to the ballroom's unique lobby level access. Stay connected with family, friends, and workplace from our Connect Lounge. Take a dip in our pool to unwind after a long day out, or do a quick workout at the gym. Better still, indulge in some retail therapy at the adjacent Harbour City shopping mall which is the ultimate destination for shopping, dining and entertainment with over 450 shops that feature the world's leading brands. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Staying at the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel gives you the perfect blend of warm Asian hospitality and a central location with its convenient access to Kowloon and Hong Kong. Hotel note: In our effort to continually provide a top quality environment for our guests at Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, a hotel exterior upgrading programme will be carried out in phases, from Mondays to Saturdays between 9am and 6pm, with expected completion in the second quarter of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing