We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #30 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2011 and would highly recommend it.

Location
The hotel is located above Pacific Place mall, which includes a subway station. The entrance to the hotel from the mall can be a little difficult to find if you're not careful, but it was definitely convenient having a subway station underneath the hotel. Elevators are controlled, so you have to swipe your room key to get to your floor. Outside of the mall there isn't much, but since this is Hong Kong there's tons of stuff within a few subway stops.

Service
Excellent. I checked in during the evening and was unpacking in my room when room service knocked on the door. I hadn't ordered room service, but this was a welcome tea that I'm assuming is given to all hotel guests. The tea had a fruit plate accompanying it. The tea and fruit were definitely a nice touch. Front desk was helpful and had good English is providing directions. The only complaint: one night it was raining and cabs were in short supply. Hotel guests, myself included, waited more than 20 minutes for a cab. While I can understand having to wait, the JW Marriott is a 5-star hotel; one would think that these transportation issues wouldn't happen.

Room
The room was well appointed and felt luxurious. View of the hills of Hong Kong island. Flatscreen TV, multi-functioning phone, nice washroom with amenities. The only complaint is that there was no ipod dock in the room.

Value
Depends on what you're looking for; if you just want a room, then you probably won't find the JW Marriott to be good value. If you want some luxury with your stay (see: welcome tea and fruit) in a convenient yet quiet location then you probably will like this hotel.

Sleep Quality
Fantastic - king size bed with lots of pillows.

Cleanliness
Spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,633 - 1,639 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip in May and on first impressions the hotel is spectacular! Everything about this hotel exudes quality. The room and bathroom were to a very high standard and very well equipped. There was lots of bars and restaurants in the hotel to meet most tastes. The hotel is in a really good location - close to the main business district and not far from main railway station. I just cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blownawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's right on top of the Admiralty MTR station, with direct access through Pacific Plaza. For that alone this was a great place to stay. The staff is very attentive and accommodating. The room wasn't huge but it had floor to ceiling panorama windows with a great view. The bed isn't the most luxuriously comfortable, but slept fine. Breakfast in the executive lounge was excellent and free because of our Marriott Rewards status. The pool is small but beautiful with a great view of the city. Worst pina colada I ever had from Fish Bar. room rate is steep though, so everything should be great. Free Airport express shuttle stops here if you're coming from the airport by train.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Our room had a great views of the city as well as Victoria Peak. The room was smaller than other hotels (Shangri-la and Westin) we stayed in during our 2 week tour of China, but was still comfortable with enough storage. The bathroom was comfortably large with a great shower and large sunken tub. We had access to the concierge level services, and the food/beverage quality, selection and service were very good. The pool area was large for a city hotel, clean and nice atmosphere for relaxing. The pool also had staff who attended to guests as needed. The hotel staff is excellent and helpful. Definitely would stay at this hotel again.

The location of the hotel is great and convenient to transportation to all parts of Hong Kong and Kowloon. You don't even have to walk outside to get to the MTA. The MTA is so fast, convenient, and the stations are air-conditioned. From the airport, the Airport Express is the most convenient way to get into the city. In less than half hour, you'll be in the Central area of Hong Kong - the train is clean, comfortable, and fast. Free shuttle buses are available to take you to select hotels.

Restaurants - Peking Garden in Kowloon, Jade Garden in Causeway Bay - great food. Lei Garden in Elements Mall (great dim sum). Local tip - make reservations for restaurants, including dim sum.

Visit the 360 degree Cable Car in Lantau - if you go on the weekend, suggest going in the mid-afternoon where there are less lines. Or buy tickets advance on-line. Fabulous views of Hong Kong and the Big Buddha. Temple Market is also a great street market shopping experience - go at night.

We had a great time in Hong Kong - exciting diverse city, and the JW Marriott was a great place to rest and relax each day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The JW is in a great location in Hong Kong, on top of a world class shopping centre with also a large array of restaurants as well as a subway station below the property - location, location, location.

But the thing that stands out is the service. There are a large number of staff but they are not obtrusive or over the top. But all are helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. I have been to Hong Kong many times and have stayed at a variety of good 5 star hotels but the service I experienced here was second to done and will be the main reason I would return.

The other reason I would return is the buffet breakfast. It is outstanding from the personally prepared smoothies, the soft tasty scrambled eggs, the variety of many other items including ice cream!! Just loved the spread.

The rooms are a good size, not huge but comfortable with all the necessary mod cons including a huge flat screen TV.

In summary a great place to stay in Hong & Kong.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Went all the way from the airport to hotel without ever feeling the outside. Property is atop a very upscale shopping centre. I went there for my Birthday and they made sure I enjoyed my trip there. From the front desk, Executive Lounge and restuarant and bar area. The buffet was on the expensive side, but the food was so abundant and well prepared. Everyone was extremely friendly. The wine bar area has more wines than could every drink and/or want. They had live musik every night. I don't know what asians obsession with Journey is, but I wish they would get over it.

Room Tip: Nothing crapped about the room. Flat screen was the size of the wall and everything had a switch on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moobs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I traveled alone to Hong Kong from San Francisco with 3 children at the beginning of a 2 week China trip. We had the car from the hotel pick us up which began a fabulous stay at the JW Marriott. When we arrived Andy met us and escorted us directly to our room, by passing the whole check in counter wait. I booked a suite with concierge level access which was perfect. The suite was very corporate but comfortable. We had an unexpectedly lovely view of the harbor from the 25th floor. The suite only had one queen bed but they quickly brought up 2 rollaways. My kids loved the outdoor pool which was a treat after touring around hot and humid Hong Kong. The concierge level was a delight. Breakfast, tea and the evening offering (including free alcohol) was a lifesaver. The breakfast was complete with hot entrees (both western and Asian), fruit, veggies, a cappuchino maker and a lovely view of the harbor.

I would highly recommend staying at the JW Marriott as the service and amenities were perfect. The manager even stopped by and gave us some good ideas about what and when to visit certain attractions.

Room Tip: Pay the additional cost and stay on the concierge level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#21 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,374 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,099 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,837 reviews
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#9 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,007 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $269 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury getaway awaits you here in downtown Hong Kong. Ideally placed in the city's bustling Admiralty district, the JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong is ready to exceed your expectations. Our 602 immaculately appointed rooms and suites blend modern technology with traditional sophistication, and include complimentary Wi-Fi, elegant marble bathrooms and large flat-screen TVs. Enjoy views of Victoria Harbour, the mountains or the Hong Kong city skyline from your luxury room or suite as well. Additional perks for your downtown visit include a heated outdoor pool, an on-site gym and eight exquisite dining options. The newly elevated JW Marriott Ballroom brings a new level of luxury to your next meeting or celebration. And our prime location, atop Pacific Place Mall and moments away from the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, makes it easy for you to see and experience everything that makes this city so special. We look forward to your visit to the JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing