We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location as a convention...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Ranked #116 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Very convenient location as a convention hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,228 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

I love the size/space offering of the room, considering how crowded HK is. The room gave me a very clean and classy feel. The shower drainage in my room felt a bit choked the first 2 days but it seems the house-keepers realized it and the problem was rectified without me raising it to the front-desk :)

BIG PLUS point: free airport shuttle service. 2nd stop on the H2 bus (to and from HK station for airport express passengers).
Friendly service. Free wifi (2 Macbooks) at the lobby.
Location wise it is conveniently located near Wan Chai station. Although as the days went by, my tired legs thought the distance was a teeny weeny bit of a stretch.

Would not hesitate to go back to the hotel on my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank audreysoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We booked the Executive floor rooms as we felt it provided better value for money. This includes breakfast either in the main restaurant or up in the Executive Lounge on the top floor. internet is included in this rate. One is also well supported by the staff from the lounge which is important for the business traveller e.g. printing out boarding passes, booking out a small meeting room; there is also free afternoon tea with little cakes and early evening cocktails with nibbles (but not much here for the vegetarian). The rooms have a fridge, coffee making facilities etc. One improvement I would suggest though is a pull out washing line for the bathroom for hand washing.

The main restaurant is fine for breakfast with mixed Chinese and Western fare on offer. The buffet was reasonable but for a more varied experience I'd suggest going out to eat locally as it is much cheaper. If guests are vegetarian I recommend walking over the block to Hennessy Road, turning right and walking down about 100 yards until you see a sign on the right that says light vegetarian restaurant. Walk up a flight of stairs past staff selling little cakes; excellent tofu. There is also a vegan restaurant another block over, walk past the garage towards Central.

If you need to do some laundry while staying at the hotel there is the Sunshine Laundry on Lockhart street: turn right out of the main entrance towards central, it is at the end of the same block. You pay per weight and the clothes come back washed and dried; I think they might offer an ironing service but I'm not sure.

You can catch the Star Ferry by turning left out of the hotel and walking up the covered walkway, through the shopping complex, over Gloucester Road. The MTR can be accessed by walking past the above mentioned Laundry towards Central. The Tram is wonderful value for money at HK$2 per ride, just go over to Hennessy Road. The taxis are also excellent value for money and tempting when the weather is muggy; otherwise the above methods of transport are much cheaper and more fun. I found the taxi transfer to the airport for two people was much cheaper overall than trying to take the train.

The swimming pool is lovely and the seats around them offer a nice place to sit outside. The gym looked to be well equipped.

All in all, a good location, excellent staff who very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 21Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

As this is now my 4th (different) Novotel visit in 4 months, I've come to be quite accustomed to the standard and amenities. So, after I checked in to the room on the premier floor at 2am, I was very shocked to find a bit of an oily streak on the bedside table! It was relatively minor, and it was easily cleaned with a tissue, although that certainly wasn't what I expected from this chain.

This was quite unfortunate, I thought, as it was the only bad mark in the copy book for this stay. The room was otherwise quite clean, and it is of a very large size for Asian standards. The breakfast in the lounge, while not excellent, certain does the job quite well, with a reasonable choice of cooked and continental choices. It also has superb views to the harbour.

The location for this hotel is also excellent. It's a couple of minutes away from the trams, 5 min walk to an MTR station, and, for the IT/gadget crowd, it's quite close to a couple of computer malls as well. Shopping in the Causeway Bay district is also just a 10 min tram ride away. The free shuttle to the Airport Express train station also stops right at the door.

In terms of value, however, it would really depends on the price you can get. Once again, I managed to book the room with Accor's half price promotion, making it very good value for money. However, with a normal price around $200 USD plus for most nights, I would think that there are numerous other options that may be able to provide a similar level of comfort for substantially less cash.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awesom_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Dear all,
the enjoyed my stay at the Novohotel in HongKong. The staff was really friendly and the room was great. Especially the view and the great bathroom are worth to mention.
Furthermore I really enjoyed the great gym which is probably one of the best, I have seen in a hotel so far.
I hotel is located in the central of HongKong not far away from the subway and nice restaurants. Hence, I definitely can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HansWerner3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I have been coming t the Novotel for 3 years now and in that time I have seen the levels of service and standard of the amenities improve steadily. The team there look to streamline every interaction - without de-personalizing the way they meet your needs. Business hotels can be really impersonal - but the Novotel has a good bustling atmosphere, proactive staff and a great location to boot!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calverta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

the location of the hotel is simply amazing. ok, though it is not exactly next to a subway station, one can easily arrive here from the airport through the free shuttle bus service provided by taking the HK airport express trains into Hong Kong station, or hop onto the cab at Hong Kong Station and pay less than 30 HKD for the fare to get you to the doorsteps of Novotel if you are a large group with many bags.

But the best way you can get around Hong Kong Island with Novotel is the amazingly hostorical tram that is one block away. The tram will bring you to many places on the island from Causeway Bay (for food and shopping), to the posh Admiralty (for more high end shopping), historical Central district for the Old Supreme Court, Mandarin Oriental and all the way to Kennedy Market. All for only a cheap HKD2 fare!

The hotel also has many nice eateries (not those nice posh restaurants, but rather, in the hole eateries where you can mingle with the locals), and the nice reception guy, Zen, actually reccomended me a roast meat store just opposite the hotel besides Wing Wah for their BBQ pork, ducks and pork.

In terms of comfort, the bed was great. It was comfy with a firm mattress and a choice of two pillows of either a firm latex or feather. The room, though small, is sufficient for two as the layout is minimalist and smart. The bathroom had all the required amenities and surprisingly good shampoo that does not dry out one's hair. Water pressure is always there to ensure a nice shower anytime of the day.

The only complaint for the room is the lack of a a night lamp, which means one either have to sleep with kindda bright lights, or completely dark. The noise level was low on my floor (15) even though my room, 1511, is the first room when one comes out from the elevators.

The gym and pool are nice touches too.

Definitely will reccomend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 730 in Hong Kong
402 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#112 of 730 in Hong Kong
320 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,512 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Century Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Century Hong Kong

Address: No.238 Jaffe Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $127 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Century Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Century Hong Kong hotel is located in the Heart of the bustling Wanchai district- ideal for both Business trips and vacations- just a 8 min walk from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center; subway station (MTR); Wan Chai Star Ferry and a 10 min walk to Causeway Bay key shopping areas.Renovated in 2010, the hotel offers 510 elegant rooms and modern facilities including- 2 restaurants, bar, gym, swimming pool, spa, meeting facilities and executive lounge.Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and complimentary in the lobby, all restaurants and the executive lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Century Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Century Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing