We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Ranked #155 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Ibis North Point was significantly cheaper than the Ibis Hong Kong Central probably reflecting its location. That said it is a three minute walk from end of the A11 bus route which takes 70 minutes from Hong Kong airport at a cost of HK$40 (£3.20) and is a 30 second walk from the MTR so its very convenient.

The room was small - but this is Hong Kong where all rooms are small - and more than acceptable with a good view. The air conditioning was not particularly good at dehumidification (condensation on windows in the morning) but worked OK and I slept well.

I agree with other reviews that the potential weak point are the two rather slow lifts - one was out of service when I checked out early for a flight but I was lucky and didn't have to wait too long on any occasion. It might not have been the same later that morning.

I only paid £56 ($84) per night which is good value. Its not luxurious - if money is no budget try a hotel like the Four Seasons, but if you are on a budget, and don't plan to spend all day in your room but want to explore the city I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you love our convenient location and great harbour view during your stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,609)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hong Kong North Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

great location right by the North point MTR, many restaurant options in the vicinity and 2 Wellcome's for water, milk, fruits, etc. Clean hotel, clean rooms, horrible hard beds and pillows--very uncomfortable. Wish I didn't have to return but no choice since the price is a steal. The 'Family kitchen' restaurant next door has great service and local food to die for --at very affordable prices-----absolute must do !!

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are available at an upcharge but are worth the extra cost--the view is great
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our great location and convenience. We had replaced all our bed, including bed base, mattress together with an additional comfort topper last December which should give you extra comfort during your next stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a fairly good location right beside the North Point A1 exit. The rooms are incredibly small, but you can't expect much in terms of size considering that it's cheap and clean.
My biggest problem with this hotel is with the elevators. There are only two tiny ones that fit about 5 people, 3 if there's luggage involved. If it's full, it doesn't stop! We stayed on the 16th floor which is a middle level and the first morning, we waited for at least 10 minutes, watching both elevators pass us multiple times. We were tempted to walk down the staircase, but it said staff only. The cleaning lady finally passed by and taught us to press the 'up' button as well to increase the chance of catching an empty elevator.
It is good value and wi-fi is free, but something really must be done with the elevators.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HungryLilTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our convenient location and great value. In view of the efficiency of the guest elevators, we are working closely with our contractor and hopefully we could find a good solution soon.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Small room but clean and comfortable.
The Wifi doesn´t work vey well but it´s enough to see the emails.
The location is great, the bus terminal (with direct buses (A11) to the aeroport) is across the street from the hotel. Small restaurants, bakeries and supermarket close to the hotel. The entrace to the MTR is very close.
The lifts can be a problem, we were in the 23 floor an had to wait quite a bit to go up and down.
In all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you love our great location and convenience during your stay in our hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights with my wife.

The room was the smallest of all the accommodations I have had.

Pros:
1) Just within 50m of North Point MTR.
2) Cheap
3) "Tea House" just beside the hotel.(I had my breakfast there usually.)
5) Free Wifi

Cons:
1) Room was too small to accommodate 2 persons. Or rather, too small to accommodate 1 person+1 luggage. Especially when Hong Kong is such a shopping paradise, you are going to find it hard to maneuver in such constraint space.
2) Slow.... slow.... elevator.
3) Slow front desk service.

I don't think I would ever patronise this hotel again. I would rather spend more for a bigger, comfy room. But if you are travelling alone or backpacking and want a little more comfortable stay than in backpacker's Inn, this hotel should be good.

Cheers..

Room Tip: - Stay Alone. - Get a room facing harbour. - Don't bring a big luggage. - Don't shop too...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelvinOngKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you love our great location, value and convenience during your stay. We have taken note of your comments on the space and efficiency of our hotel. During our renovation two years ago, we had redesigned the rooms in a better shape and facilities. Unfortunately, it is the typical issue in Hong Kong, particularly to a city hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location of the hotel is very good, just a few step from MTR exit. Very near to groceries and restaurants.. for Malaysian, Indonesian & Muslims, u can even find an indonesian shop inside the MTR station, which sells indonesian foods and stuffs.

Room is not very spacious, but very clean and comfortable for 2 people. Never had problems or issues during our stays there. We spent 3 nights there, and we had very good sleep. The in-room WIFI connection was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our great location and facilities.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at ibis North Point Hotel for 2 nights on 20-22 Feb 2014.
21Fl. harbour view.
Good things: Location very close to MTR exit A, price is inexpensive, good view.
Drawbacks: Noise from other room can pass to the room even close door. Only 2 elevators for 30fl buildings. Bathe room amenity is just small soap.

If traveller looks for inexpensive and near MTR, this hotel is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pornchai_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our great location, value and fantistic harbour view.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#170 of 721 in Hong Kong
903 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#109 of 721 in Hong Kong
647 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong North Point

Address: No.138 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $54 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong North Point 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Hong Kong North point is located in the heart of North Point area. All forms of transportation are easily accessible with the Mass Transit Railway next door, bus, tram and ferry stops nearby.Make yourself at home… Inviting, modern, spacious and comfortable, with a cosy bed and a functional bathroom. Your choice from our comfort standard room or breath taking Harborview room. Your room has everything that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Century Hotel
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Hong Kong Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing