We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Ranked #161 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed here in April 2013 as a family - 2 kids and 2 adults. Hired 2 rooms next to each others.
after reading the reviews we were expecting hard beds - when expectations are set low the actual result is not too bad :) Staff is friendly and very efficient. I'd also have to say I was surprised how spotless clean the rooms were. Views over the harbour were a bonus as well - although the weather was murky so couldn't see much.

Location is superb - close to MTR and buses - we've used both daily. We haven't had breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food. We went to a local Chinese place downstairs serving yum-cha / noodles etc. 1/2 min away from the hotel - they don't speak English very well, but food is very nice and authentic.

Note that the standard rooms and bathrooms are TINY! I was told by my husband that by Hong Kong standard this is normal for the price you pay. Its something to note if you haven't stayed in Hong Kong before as it might come as a surprise. Also after reading other reviews I expected a small room not a tiny one :) it wasn't a problem for us at all, as we barely spend time there. We've actually found it quite amusing in the end and have a bit of a laugh about it now and then: 2 people couldn't walk past each other around the bed, and when we had kids in our room (which was every morning) - we really had to plan who can stand up form the bed and walk sequentially with everyone needing to announce where they are going! I suppose a lot of people live in rooms of these sizes so it was a bit of a humbling experience for the kids (and us :))


all in all we've enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: do not to get a room on top floors - we were on level 22, and one day spent 15min waiting for the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTheWorld44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the size of the room. I trust we can welcome you back very soon!
Best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here last Aug. 3 to 6. The location of this hotel is very near the mtr and the bus station. Took the A11 bus which terminates across the hotel so it is very convenient if you are not taking the airport exress which cost 100 hkd for one way. The room is really small but it is okay considering the price of the hotel room. We were able to use the store luggage facility while we had lunch at the nearby Family Kitchen restaurant. Staff are nice and speaks English. I was worried of the review about the bed being hard to sleep on but it was okay and having bed bites but the bes is okay and clean, but they should change their pillow thou because it is very thin and not fluffy, other than that my experience with the hotel is great and I will definitely stay here again. It could have been nice if i asked for Mr. Adam Hipp to meet him personally since he has been the one replying to our reviews hahaha!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I trust next time we will have the chance to meet personally.
Many thanks again and kind regards,

Adam Hipp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CBS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager_INP, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Presume my 10th or more stay here. Got a twin instead a real single and great harbour view from 26th floor. Quick check in, friendly staff, Wifi connex satisfying. Since ever, just 2 elevators, which really is a bottle neck within the course of the day here. Anyhow went to breakfast at a very moderate price (not prebooked). Good quality, friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: Harbour view, as far as a certain time will be spant in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind comment, as well as for choosing our ibis North Point as your preferred hotel when staying in Hong Kong. It is great to read that you enjoy your stays with us and I am very much looking forward to welcome you back!
Best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Kenopy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in Ibis North Point in late July for 5 nights. Its location is excellent, being virtually on top of North Point MTR station and just parallel with the terminus of the CityFlyer A11 Airport service. I opted for the single room with a harbour view (possibly unnecessary but it was a good view). I expected the room to be really small having read some reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of room I had. It was a single room so how much space does one person need? There was plenty of room for my luggage, and to circulate freely. The desk overlooked the harbour (which was nice). There was free tea/coffee facilities and everything worked well - shower, tv, air con. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day.
I had heard about problems with the lifts (there only being 2), but I had minimal waiting time any time of the day. I wouldn't have used the stairs as I was on the 25th floor. I made use of the 2nd floor restaurant one evening which was acceptable and quick. I was also able to use the facilities to store my luggage on departure day. Very happy with Ibis north Point and would definitely stay here again when I go back to Hong Kong. Just remember, it's a budget hotel so don't pay budget and expect 5 star. If there was one thing I'd have to mention it would have to be the rock hard bed. Now I like a firm bed but I couldn't believe how hard this bed was. Fortunately, my days were full of activity and I was too tired by the end of the day to notice!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Halescouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am very happy to read that you truly enjoyed your stay in our ibis North Point hotel! Please be assured that your comments will gladly be shared with the team. With regards to the bed please be informed that mattress tops are fully available at housekeeping for those who prefer softer beds, please feel free to ask for one when next staying with us!
Many thanks again and best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I paid for a budget price for Single bed, but got upgraded for free to doublebed.
The room is actually very small and compact. But is good enough for 1 person travelling if you only need a place to sleep and change. Comes with necessity of tv, fridge, table etc.
Just walk 50 steps from North Point Exit A, you will reach the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clytia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your comments! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our location. It is indeed very popular among visitors of Hong Kong as it is very easy to discover the city from here.
Thank you very much again and
Best regards.
Adam Hipp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#115 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#107 of 730 in Hong Kong
704 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
997 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong North Point

Address: No.138 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $61 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong North Point 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Hong Kong North point is located in the heart of North Point area. All forms of transportation are easily accessible with the Mass Transit Railway next door, bus, tram and ferry stops nearby.Make yourself at home… Inviting, modern, spacious and comfortable, with a cosy bed and a functional bathroom. Your choice from our comfort standard room or breath taking Harborview room. Your room has everything that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Century Hotel
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Hong Kong Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing