We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #61 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. The hotel is very clean and great facilities. The secret to the high regard I hold for this hotel, is its staff. Always helpful, respectful and friendly. Nothing is too much for them, to make your stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our rooms clean and colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    784
    184
    40
    26
See reviews for
292
564
210
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I've got a chance to stay here with special rates. Overall, it's a very nice hotel with lovely staffs. We are in an ocean-view room on higher floor. (highly recommened!) The room size is pretty for us, cas the functions are impressive. It's sad to miss the gym and pool since we only have 2 nights. The location is not a big deal. There's shuttle bus service and Tram station is not so far from hotel.
If you like modern&trendy hotel but not too near the centre, try Traders HK. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letian008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Letian008,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our rooms functional and colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was excellent with compact but very clean and attractive rooms, roomy shower, toilet and closet in adjacent compartments. Great beds. Our view of the western harbour was nice but not spectacular. We stayed one night. Given the cons below (mostly the neighborhood) I would not have wanted to stay much longer - 2 nights at most.

Pros
Check-in was done in an open format on a central table as opposed to the traditional desk/counter format. I liked Trader's approach to check in better.

The price was very good for the quality of room we received.

Check in staff were very helpful and all were pleasant and service-oriented.

Cons
Although we are adventurous we did not find any of the nearby street restaurants to our liking for dinner - they just had a very down-in-the-mouth feel to them. Perhaps we should have looked harder but we arrived late. We resorted to a nearby McDonalds for dinner at about 9 p.m.

The hotel is not on the free airport shuttle network. If you are travelling to or from the airport the hotel provides a shuttle to or from Hong Kong Station however it goes only once per hour. Taxi is the best bet and costs about HKD25/USD3.50. This is no problem from Hong Kong Station, as there is a 4-queue taxi stand downstairs. (Note re HK Station, the taxis drop passengers off at street level but are only allowed to pick up downstairs so follow the signs to taxis in the lower level of the station, don't just go outside expecting to hail one -- also, to save time, go to the furthest of the 4 queues, the line is much shorter). It is a slight problem departing the hotel as taxis are fairly randomly dispersed and the hotel is right on a main road, the front door being two metres from the road -- get someone at the hotel to hail a taxi for you.

On the whole, we had a pleasant stay and were happy with the price, room and service.

Room Tip: High floors give quite nice views of the western harbour but it is the industrial end of HK. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlm1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear mlm1023,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our reception counter interactive, colleagues accommodating, and rooms functional. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This review is long overdue and I hope that there is no time limit imposed by Trip Advisor! Anyway, I brought my daughter to Hong Kong for her 21st birthday present a little while ago and always meant to write a review of the hotel and the restaurant. We were booked into Traders hotel and albeit a large hotel, our whole experience was restful and relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the 'sage green' soft furnishings and decor of our room, which added to the peaceful feel of the place. All the staff we encountered on our holiday were friendly and helpful with customer service being their priority, as nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant was magnificent - we ate there most evenings but on the day of our departure, we ate at the lunchtime buffet which was out of this world - the range and quality of the dishes on offer and the attention to detail, was first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

Our special thanks to your writing about your pleasant experience even after so many months! Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Living in HK for 13 years you appreciate everything that it is and isn't. I've stayed here more than 30 times. Great staff Wendy and Brenda... Like cheers everyone knows my name. They have proper cribs for the baby, clean ... Attentive staff.. A can ride away for now to central but the mtr will be open soon.. but that's alright worth the cab ride...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghainezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Shanghainezer,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating and our guestroom clean. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely revert your comments to our colleagues, especially Wendy and Brenda.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was pleased that I booked the Traders Hotel Hong Kong for a three-night stay at the end of March 2014. My room, 2207, had a good harbour view towards West Kowloon, and, while quite compact, offered a clever design that maximised usable space. The decor was crisp, stylish, modern and comfortable. Maintenance and cleanliness couldn't be faulted. My room rate included use of the Traders Club Lounge on level 28, something that I thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfasts and evening snacks were good quality, I thought. All the staff with whom I had contact were welcoming and efficient. The hotel location was a new area for me. I found the area interesting in itself--and well positioned for exploring Hong Kong. From the airport, there is a fast bus service that calls at a stop only a hundred metres from the hotel door. Other reviewers have noted that Hong Kong's tramway service is close to hand for an always interesting trip to Central. I'd also mention that bus services from the area are also frequent.

Room Tip: My harbour view room was bright, the view excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear CanberraSteve38,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating, guestroom function and breakfast and evening snacks on the Traders Lounge impressive. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

By the time this review is written, I have already stayed at the Traders in Hong Kong for over 10 nights in the last several months. All the rooms I have stayed have been very well maintained and clean and I have been sleeping very well at the Traders. Note that all the rooms (except the suite) are of the same size but the layouts of different room types are different. I prefer the walk-in showers in the Deluxe Rooms. Superior Rooms are fine but the bath tubs are shallow and the shower heads are mounted on the walls which make showering less enjoyable.

Breakfast was of decent quality but not much of a choice. The gym was not big but it was equipped with most stuff you need for a quick workout. Pool area was quite nice to chill under the sun (although I have not tried the pool yet).

Staff are well-trained, polite and friendly. Most of the time they try to answer your questions immediately and solve your problems efficiently. However, I feel that the hotel is under-staffed at times which is not really the staff's problem.

Shuttle service has made the location of this hotel less of a problem. There is a shuttle between the hotel and Central every hour and it makes travelling to and from work easy as long as you remember the shuttle schedule. It also stops right in front of the Airport Express Link station so it is very convenient for those travelling to and fro the airport. In my opinion, it would be nicer if the shuttle can run more frequently, say, every half an hour.

Room Tip: The Traders Club Rooms are worth the extra dollars - nicer rooms, access to the Traders Lounge, Brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmwmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Ming Wai L,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our guestroom clean and functional and colleagues helpful. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We are aware of the frequency of our shuttle bus and improvement plans are currently in place to remedy this situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via david.preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#62 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,356 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,728 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,736 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing