We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HK is not ready for primetime. Traders is not on the rail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #66 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“HK is not ready for primetime. Traders is not on the rail.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Traders is okay, not carefully maintained, with insufficient numbers of functioning elevators. Worse is that since the hotel is not near the MTR trains, you need to rely on the cabs and the cabbies of Hong Kong do not know English. Every morning I waited more than 20 minutes for a cab. When I and my fellow convention goers raised the issue with the bellman he was helpless.

Room Tip: Stay near the rail
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank jamesfaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    757
    179
    40
    26
See reviews for
272
545
203
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend especially Traders Club floors. My third stay.I was unfortunately ill one day- management arranged a doctor, staff to go with me and private car. Then kept checking I was ok. Travelling on my own was lovely to be so cared for. Food on 28th floor and cafe malacca very nice and staff so polite. Great location-can see real Hong Kong and easy to get around. Would not stay anywhere else (have stayed elsewhere in HK)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank lorriebak8063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear lorriebak8063,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, and found our colleagues accommodating and food at Traders Lounge and Cafe Malacca impressive. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.
We hope you are alright by now, and thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We would stay at this hotel again. My wife and I stayed for two nights for a business/leisure trip. Price was great, we got a room upgrade due to a shortage of standard rooms. Clean, friendly, and convenient enough to get around if you're familiar with the bus/tram network and don't mind walking for two minutes. A cab to Soho/Lang kwai fong is not too expensive either. Check-in seemed a bit more complicated than necessary but that seems like the norm in China. Didn't choose the breakfast option as there are a few small local restaurants nearby but I would suggest it as an option to others since there aren't many "nice" restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsclywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Traders is located some distance from the main transport hubs, yet a regular free shuttle service to Hong Kong Station mitgates this problem. The area is also well served by trams and buses as an alternative mode of transport.
The Traders Club offers a good breakfast, which includes scrambled eggs and omelettes (contrary to the experience of a recent reviewer).
Great staff!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl_Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The location of this hotel is quite away from the any major mall and no underground trains at walking distance...but yet its got a special charm bringing back regulars....If only it was located slightly more towards central would have been perfecto! Traders Lounge breakfast is quite disapointing with cold croissants and no egg station...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Kheman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Kheman1,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you like our hotel, yet we are disheartened to learn that breakfast on the Traders Lounge did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we are looking into this problem and improvement plans are currently in place to remedy this situation.
In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The headline is that, whilst the hotel service was great, the bed comfortable and the room spacious and well-presented, it was simply too far away from the centre of Hong Kong. Clearly, this is not the hotel's fault, but mine for not selecting carefully enough, but, even with the regular and included shuttle bus service, and despite being well served by the trams, I would not pick this hotel again — I would have prefered somewhere within reasonable walking distance of the centre.

There is, however, a great bakery across the street, and a *fantastic* local restaurant about five minutes away (I wish I could rate it on TripAdvisor, but I have no idea what it was called — it was small, on the same side of the street as the hotel, turning left out of the door, and had crab as a speciality) so, if you do find yourself staying here, it is most definitely not a bad choice. Just less convenient for us than we would have liked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good value of money.
The room was clean and modern design.
The location is slightly far from the main sightseeing area. However, it is still located at the convenient neighborhood which Mc donald is just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#58 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#94 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#31 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing