We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path but worth getting a "club floor" room. Good for business.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #64 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but worth getting a "club floor" room. Good for business.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Traders Hotel isn't at the center of the action in Hong Kong but the staff are helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
It's not far by taxi or tram from the middle of town and other guests said the walk to the more tourist areas was OK.
Having booked at the last minute, the extra few pounds for the upgrade to a "Club" floor room included complimentary evening drinks and hot snacks on the 28th floor and complimentary breakfast the next morning. The food and drinks were good. There's also a meeting room available to guests although I didn't use it.
They have a free shuttle to the airport express train terminal.

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms. 24th floor is the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    757
    179
    40
    26
See reviews for
272
545
203
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Traders hotel at Sheung Wan would be a good pick for free and easy travellers who likes Hong Kong eateries around the hotel, does not mind the distance from hotel to the MTR station and has the following attractions that you would like to visit.
1. Hong Kong Disney land
2. Lantau island
3. Ocean Park
4. Stanley market

Have previously stayed in Mong Kok and New Territories area and found both to be not as ideal in terms of distance to the attractions.

The hotel room is functional, clean and tidy and absolutely love the harbour view.Stayed with hubby and my 3 year old girl and all of us had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Would like to highly commend the housekeeping lady who serviced room 1907 during 24th Dec to 30th Dec,she is very courteous and cheerful and I was impressed by the tidiness of the room after the morning room service.

Last but not least, if you are keen on taking the hotel shuttle, please arrive at least 15 mins to queue. We had missed every single morning shuttle bus that we wanted to take due to limited seats and ended up taking the taxi for most of the trip which was also alright for us.

Overall a great stay for the good value and heartwarming service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacetinklyelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Peacetinklyelf,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your recent stay in Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to hear that you find our rooms functional and service impressive, we are however sorry that you did not find our complimentary shuttle up to your expectation. Your feedback is always our best means to continuously improve our standards. We are continuously looking into your comments and improvement plans are currently in place to remedy the situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Thank you very much for your comment, and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

An affordable stay that offers good value and great service all around. Location is a bit far from the nearest MTR station but otherwise it was a pleasant stay. To get around you can always take the cab, bus or tram. Several mini marts and local food choices nearby. The view is not great but you don't stay here for the view. The room and bathroom are rather small but they are clean, and the bed is comfortable. Having said that, for a hotel in this range I would say the overall room experience was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank sayajoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrey Hills, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are great for HK, not as small as you would expect and given this is the poor little sister of Shangri-La the finishes are well done.

Restaurant serves a decent (yet not exceptional) breakfast and after breakfast transforms into an OK Malaysian resturant.

Check in was very disorganised and despite having requests confirmed prior to arrival, were not organised and took them a while to sort out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Good location for most places
Great complimentary mini bus takes you right to IFC every hour
Rooms just what you need, very well serviced and quiet considering busy area

Would definitely stay here again

Hong Kong busy but worth the trip

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank haigh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff was attentive, the rooms clean, the breakfast buffet delish and the best shower on the planet. Café Malacca provided an excellent sampling of peninsular dishes and a very reasonable drink menu.

Room Tip: Of course you would want a harbor view room and the bathrobes are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your recent stay in Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to hear that you find our breakfast and offerings at Cafe Malacca impressive, rooms clean and staff helpful. Your feedback is always our best means to continuously improve our standards.

Thank you very much for your comment, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a Harbour view room and so we were part of the 'Traders' Club'. We very much recommend this as it was such a bonus. I'm sure there are nicer hotels in HK, but this suited us perfectly, and gave us just enough of a touch of luxury. Great!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizbe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Lizbe2,

Thank you for staying at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your recent visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed a beautiful honeymoon staying in our hotel. Your feedback is always our best means to continuously improve our standards.

Wishing you both a wonderful and exciting life together, and we are looking forward to welcoming both of you again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#31 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#111 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing