We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick trip to HK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #60 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

On arrival (7am) I was allowed to check into my room early, having just flown over night this was a great bonus.
I was upgraded to a ocean view room and the rest of my stay matched my welcome.
Only negative was the location that meant taxi was the only means of transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank JC999992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have lost count of how many times we have now stayed at Traders. The good news is that the quality of the product has been a constant. Many of the staff in Trader's Lounge we have known for years and we are delighted to note that staff like Guchi have been promoted. They deserve it. The view from the harbour-view rooms never fails to thrill. Breakfast and the evening drinks and canapes are as generous as ever. The free shuttle service to key points (Macao Ferry, Star Ferry and Hong Kong Central works like clockwork. There is a good tram service 5 minutes away. The Airport bus (A10) stops in sight of the hotel. A taxi from central cost about£2.50 with tip. The further good news is that the MTR extension to the end of the road should be operational within the year.We will be back here in 2014. I have already received a message from the General Manager about our next visit. If you are planning to stay at hotels in the Shangri-La group (which includes Traders) join their loyalty scheme. I am now a Jade member.

Room Tip: Opt for a Trader's Club room. Ask for a floor as close to the Club Lounge and rooftop pool as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Ruth R,

Thank you very much for your precious time to write about us again and staying with Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your recent visit to Hong Kong.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our rooms and Club services, and found our staff very helpful. Your comments is the most important means for us to continuously improve our standards. We shall certainly convey your feedback to the concerned people, especially Guchi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Traders hotel falls under the Shangri-La brand. Although it cant reasonably be compared to its bigger brother, I found the traders hotel very pleasant for the following reasons:

Staff: Very friendly, and most of all efficient. Very well trained to help English speaking guests and genuinely trying to go the extra mile

Rooms: decent and quite spacious, especially for HK standards. Next to the rooms there is a lounge on the 28th floor offering great views at night (come before 11 though, otherwise most of the lights are turned off)

Location: the hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the closest mrt station, however the hotel offers free shuttles rides to the mrt/ferry and airport express. Its also next door from the tram which is actually probably the coolest way of exploring the island. Although the location isnt in the middle of everything, its still fairly close and the neighbourhood also gives a glimpse of everyday hong kong life, instead of the more artificial central area.

Last but not least, service: for me at a hotel, the little things matter. After coming back to the hotel after my last day in HK i wanted to take a quick shower before heading to the airport. Without any charge they gave me a room and told me to come back in 45 minutes. Nice!

Would i stay again? Considering the above, sure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank SBO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear StevenB81,

Thank you for staying at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong during your visit and for taking your time to write about our hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you love our rooms and find our service colleagues accommodating and helpful. We are also grateful to know that you have a good impression on Traders before leaving Hong Kong. Your comments are much appreciated as they are one of the best means we have to continuously improve.

We look forward to welcoming you and serving you again in the future.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel. The service and accommodations were excellent. The staff was extremely helpful and anticipated our every needs. Moreover they followed up on all of our requests. The view from our room was superb. The concierge service was great both at breakfast time and during happy hour.


Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Kowloon. Stay on a high level floor and get the concierge service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Mayer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is great especially the swimming pool at the top of it for you to see Hong Kong... I may say the services are good... I may just suggest that members of the information desk should at least know how to speak English well...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Renith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived from the UK at 8am, tired, and dishevelled. The booking in time was 2 o clock. The staff on reception saw to it that we could have our room at 10am, and, it was a good one, fairly high, so we had a view over the water. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and of good standard.
We were a bit concerned that the hotel was a little out of the way, but this was not a problem, as the courtesy bus ran frequently to the harbour ferry terminal. In fact I would say the location was great, as it gave us the chance to see more of the city.
We stayed for 3 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanhall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a small Shangri-La property in the old part of Hong Kong Island toward Kennedy Town. No MTR nearby. Best way to commute is using the Tram and taxi system. If you are going towards Central during peak hours, take a cab. Cabs are difficult to catch from this hotel during the Peak evening and early morning hours.
Rooms are small but comfy. There are no bathtubs just showers. Staff is young and professional and can help you catch a cab by running after them for you. The area is an old residential area. There are many local shops so if you are interested in soaking up the local flavor this might be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for Executive Harbor View room on Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytrip36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#61 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,385 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,764 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,202 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $130 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing