We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #65 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I visited HKG for 3 nights for our anniversary. We booked Traders because of the very reasonable rate and the expected 4* star service. What we received was more like 5* service. Friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff (kudos to the supervisor(?) who checked us in), great service in giving us an upgrade with a great view on the 18th floor plus a delicious cake and nice amenities.

The rooms are well equipped, top floors have great views, cleanliness is excellent (thank you housekeeping). The location of the hotel is exactly what we wanted, being the real feel of Hong Kong in a less touristic area. Public Transport to the city is good with bus or tram, as well as to the airport with the A10 Cityflyer. If that's too much hassle for you, Traders offers a good shuttle service.

Breakfast is extensive, both the Asian and the Western cuisine. Well worth the money.

All in all we got great service for a very reasonable price and we had a great stay in HKG

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Folker F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

If you have time to spare travelling on a slow tramp then this is lovely place to stay. But if you have only a couple of days and need to rush through all the shopping and sightseeing then better stay in hotels nearer the action!

We spent 5 days in HK and took it slow. Anyway we have visited this city many times so no rushing for sightseeing.

We enjoyed the tramp rides and seeing the local life.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel when it was still the Hotel Jen. Things have not changed much under the new management, which is actually a good thing since the previous Hotel Jen had most of what I needed, helpful staff, comfy bed, clean room. The only noticable difference is the restaurant now serves Southeast Asian cuisine.

It's in a quiet (relatively) area of the Central District on HK island, which I personally prefer. it's about a 5 min walk to the nearest tram stop. Eateries are dotted around the area, so food isn't an issue. There are the Western fast food chains as well as small HK cafe's.

The room itself is small (par for the course), but clean and comfortable.

All in all, no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Traders hotel was a nice base, a little further out than other hotels, and more a local area, but taxi ride to the main train station is 5 minutes. Hotel was clean and simple. Hotels nearer to Hong Kong Central train station would make travelling around a bit easier, but there is soon to be a train station near Traders Hotel which will help accessibility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamOnHerTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst this hotel is not in the heart of things for a tourist, the tram is conveniently located to take you into Central. Make sure you enjoy the view from the lounge. The noodle dishes we ate there were some of the best we had on our trip in Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice hotel for the value. Staff was very attentive, and listened to our request. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in HK. Location is a little limited if you are looking for a place close to the MTR, but can be managed if you take a taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmondk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was not my first choice hotel, but I was not disappointed. I booked a deal where I got access to their lounge, with good canapes and drinks available. Small pool, which was good for a quick dip, although it was pretty chilly. Great choice for breakfast - there was a large group of people having breakfast at the same time (all for the same conference elsewhere in Hong Kong) but they managed it well, and apart from a short wait for eggs-on-demand (which were done perfectly as I'd asked for every time) it was well organised and the choice was good. Comfortable bed and good service from the front desk. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerionT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#62 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,409 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,784 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,149 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $128 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing