We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #62 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“comfortable experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

It's a hotel surrounded by real HK daily life, Though the room I stayed was not big for sure, it had everything I might need for three nights stay. It was very clean and quiet with a double bed, put together by two singles, that couldn't be more comfortable for one who became fatigued of a whole day hike. I was hospitably greeted when come across hotel staff. The hotel provided guests with hourly free shuttle bus to key places like Admiralty and Central, but I didn't try as my time couldn't acommodate the bus schedule. To me, the location is a bit far away from the city centre. Overall, I will choose this hotel next time if could get a reasonable room rate again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan_CHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    764
    180
    40
    26
See reviews for
276
553
206
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed at the Traders in Hong Kong while attending the electronics exhibition. The hotel is no more than adequate. There is nothing that is specifically wrong with the hotel, it just does not have the same spectacular level of service as the Shangri-la hotels.

I paid for a club room. Check-in was reasonably efficient on the 28th floor club level.

My room was very small, but clean. The facilities were fine. the internet was a bit slow. The air conditioner only cooled the room and did not seem to settle on the programmed temperature. it kept getting colder and colder, so I had to turn it off.

The TV had very few channels. It had CNN and BBC, but the sports channels did not show any of the decent action, only pre-recorded games. No HBO etc.

The breakfast in the club room was pretty woeful. The orange juice was awful, but the coffee and cappuccino was very good. The choice were limited.

The evening snacks were also pretty poor for happy hour. On one occasion all the hot snacks had pork, which made the food uneatable for anyone who doesn't eat pork.

Despite all this, the staff in the club were friendly and helpful.

On one day, my room was only cleaned at 4.30pm. I had returned a bit early to have a rest, only to have to sit in the lounge while I waited for my room to get cleaned.

The hotel is far from anywhere. The hotel shuttle takes guests to central Hong Kong, but it is a nuisance.

I will probably not return, and although I am a Shangri-la Golden Circle member, it is not worth it for me to stay at Traders.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not anywhere near the elevators (lifts).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering-J-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
383 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked 6 night stay at Traders hotel in HK. First thing to mention is that the hotel is located in the North of HK - where real local people live. We really liked the area with real people and restaurants. We used the tram for all of journeys in the central area - really cheap and just 15 mins into the central area. We booked a club room with mountain views - the use of the club lounge is essential - you can have breakfast, teas/coffee ad snacks thru out the day, Then happy hour and buffet in the evening. This was really great value. Not so sure I would pay extra for a harbour view room - it was pretty misty and the views from the lounge are the same = so why pay twice. Staff are friendly andy courteous. Rooms are small with limited wardrobe storage - but this is HK so actually a good size.

Room Tip: Definately pay the extra to use the Club Lounge - this will save you on drinks and snacks and includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel. I did not expect much, did not get much. Location was ok even though it could have been better. Rooms are quite small, but that is HK. They are quite functional although half of the bathroom is basically in the room... Breakfast was kind of disappointing. There is no charm or special atmosphere in this place. Leaves you rather indifferent. I would not really recommend it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have no hesitation in recommending the Traders in Hong Kong The rooms are spotless, new and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the restaurant is very good.

We had a small problem when we arrived because the lift didn't stop at the ground floor (for security reasons) and we had to man handle our cases up the escalator.

Also the hotel is a little way out from the centre of HK, but the tram to Central is very close

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UndercoverGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Hotel was booked through Trail Finders,a 'superior room' but was offered on arrival an upgrade to 'Club' for a reasonable sum. Well worth the extra, a large room on the 23rd floor, well equipped and very comfortable. WiFi comes free and local phone calls reasonable. Enjoyed the 'Club' lounge for a vast choice buffet breakfast, free coffee/tea and nibbles at any time, 'a la carte' menu available, and the 'Happy Hour' free buffet/drinks made the cost of the upgrade well worth the money. Local area full of shops and cheap dining, about a £3 taxi fare to 'Central' for ferries and the bus station. Staff excellent, so friendly and helpful. If you leave for an early flight a 'what you fancy' breakfast comes by room service. Cannot find anything to complain about.

Room Tip: Rooms have either a view of buildings and country or the channel between HK island and Kowloon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel was originally called Hotel Jen when I first stayed there three years ago. I have now stayed twice and am just planning my third stay.
Traders, as it is now called is an excellent hotel, simple, clean and efficient. Staff are friendly, most rooms have a view, some of the mountain, some of the bay, but all are to an excellent standard.
The restaurant is very good as well and occasionally has themed dinner sessions which are a bit different. Although it is out on a limb somewhat, the tram stops only a few minutes walk away so it is easily accessible.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are better....and closer to the bar, pool and gym on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#99 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#33 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing