We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large spacious room, warm service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #199 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at Rosedale on The Park for 1 nights on 5 April 2014 and checked out on 6 April 2014.

This is the summary of my experience:

Location: Convenient! Just a 5 min stroll to Causeway bay MTR.

Amenities: Shops and food joints all around the hotel. Everything seems to be just a quick stroll away.

Room: VERY Spacious by HK standards. Bed and sheets were comfy and the pillows were fantastic! There was an iron, mini bar, coffee maker and a couple of arm chairs. The room looks a little tired and well-worn but housekeeping kept the rooms very clean.

Soft finishing : A little dated. Lots of wood and green elements.

Tech stuff : Free wifi in room and lobby area ( reasonably fast!). TWO x Flat screen TVs.

Bathroom: Bath tub,Shower and vanity table. Toiletries were provided. Spacious bathroom but décor probably needs some updating.

Service: Very warm and attentive service. When they found out it was my partner's birthday on the day of check-in, they immediately upgraded us from a superior room to a junior suite. The concierge team were friendly and very service-focused. We actually booked the room at a very discounted price at a discount site so it was nice that they gave us a birthday upgrade without us even asking.

Pros: Good location, spacious comfortable and clean room, decent facilities and very friendly, efficient and warm service. Fuss-free check in/check out.

Cons: Design is quite dated and some room décor elements look a little tired. Also, taxis are not able to drive to the lobby of the hotel as the building is at a road corner. However, the very friendly porter will carry your luggage, even in the rain! I felt so bad for him as he was getting drenched, so I tried to shelter him with an umbrella. ( The hotel provides guest umbrellas)

Breakfast selection was below average and service at the breakfast café was quite abrupt and dismal overall. But to be fair, they looked really busy and over-whelmed and were probably short-handed? But I'm not too perturbed as I'm not quite a breakfast kind of person.

Overall : I would stay at Rosedale on the Park again ! Very Good value and excellent service!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatcat2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 619 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked this hotel for 10 nights.
Paid just over £100 per night for a suite.
The suite was a decent size with TV in both rooms, a small sofa and bathroom with bath.
Room was on the 26th floor so it had a decent view facing inland.
Some of the furniture in the lounge was a bit worn, but it was clean and everything worked.
Suite had fridge, microwave, safe, ironing facilities and a good selection of toiletries, toothbrush etc.
The breakfast was very Chinese, but there were some western options, cereal croissants etc.
There are only 3 lifts in the place and if it's busy you have to wait a bit on occasions especially if one isn't working.
The gym is a small room with 3 pieces of equipment.
The hotel is mainly used by Chinese, but there are some westerners and most staff speak reasonable English.
The Wi Fi is free and very fast it works throughout the hotel.
The hotel is located on the tram line, the tram takes about 20 minutes into Central.
Overall the staff are friendly and I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite or a room on a higher floor. You may have to wait on the lift, but you'll hav...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jameshill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Rosedale On Park during The Hong Kong 7's tournament 2013...it is located about 750 metres from the stadium and our room even had a great view of it when it wasn't misty as it often was during our stay. It was the perfect location for the event with a great breakfast available if you make it on time. We partied long into the wee small hours and didn't always make it on time. The rooms are quite small for a couple but this understandable for a place like Hong Kong as you will spend only sleeping time there.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is located on Shelter Street, adjoining a typhoon shelter zone in Victoria Harbour. It is ideally located if you like to use the island tram system to get around. Reception is very prompt and friendly. The room which I think is standard size was compact to say the least. Not a lot of room to move around. The decor is early 80s and could use a smarten up. The bathroom was similarly compact - proportional to the bedroom. There is free wifi available. I didn't use any of the dining facilities but the room has tea making facilities. The immediate area has all of the usual fast food outlets and a Chinese bakery is also close by. The hotel is within walking distance of Causeway Bay so you can easily shop until you drop and make it back to your room relatively quickly. Overall, a reasonable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved the quality of the hotel and room.

The food was good and the views from the 31st (maybe 32nd) floor over the harbor made for a wonderful setting for a meal. The prices were not cheap but where in a Hong Kong hotel are they :)

I had a 1 bedroom suite which was very comfortable. Great bed. Good working desk.

The bathroom would be the only down side. The water pressure and temperature were good but it was so tiny.

Having Victoria Park right across the street was a nice plus.

I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

LOCATION, GOOD
We attended HK convention centre, the location itself was close enough for taxi and shuttle bus.

ROOM, GOOD
The room itself was simple and clean enough for us.
The price was cheap.

CUSTOMER SERVICE, BAD
Most of the staffs we encountered (reception, restaurant) were a bit grumpy, and seemed annoyed when we talk to them. Bad staffs.

OVERALL
We would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himalaya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Himalaya2010,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the room to be comfortable and clean.

We are very concerned that you found our Front Desk and Restaurant staffs to be grumpy, and seemed annoyed when you talk to them. Please be assured that this is not usual and that the appropriate follow up has taken place with the service team to ensure that your mentioned do not occur again in the future.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again when your next visit in Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over New year. We opted for a junior suite which had a separate living area with dining table, chairs, .small sink tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave as well as sofa, and tv. The bedroom had plenty storage space and the double bed was comfortable. The rooms could probably do with some sprucing up though, but we were happy enough. The staff were excellent and very helpful. They all had some English and a couple of the staff spoke it quite well. . We were on the 28th floor and never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for one of the 3 lifts. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, we didn't expect much but were pleasantly surprised with the buffet which had a selection of British type fair, ie eggs, bacon, mushrooms, beans, hash browns, to Chinese dumplings, noodles, rice, vegetables, toaster, selection of breads muffins, fresh juices and cereals. Thoroughly enjoyed sampling the different dishes on offer. I went up to their skylounge one evening but was not impressed, I found it a bit smelly and dingy, the carpets could do with being replaced or at least getting a good scrub. The view from the windows was on to some fairly run down looking apartments, however looking out to the left of the window you could see Victoria Park and the harbour. With regard to location it's not right in the heart of causeway bay, and by crossing the road at the library and a ten minute walk through the park you come into the tin hau area, which was ideal for us as we were visiting people who live there n that area Alternatively the main lively shopping part of causeway bay is only a short walk from the hotel. I found the hotel value for money and if I were to return to Hong Kong would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#71 of 721 in Hong Kong
484 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 721 in Hong Kong
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#121 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,303 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#108 of 721 in Hong Kong
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No. 8 Shelter Street | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China (Formerly Rosedale On The Park)
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $99 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong rests at the corner of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's most vibrant and energetic area for shopping, dining, entertainment and business. With a view over the historic Victoria Park and the iconic Victoria Harbour, Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong brings you a hotel for tranquility and comfort right at the edge of excitement and life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale On The Park Hotel Hong Kong
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing