We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Lodging in Causeway Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #211 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I chose the Rosedale because of its Causeway Bay location, and was not disappointed. It is situated a mere 10 minutes or so to the heart of the shopping area and close to the MTR station. The electric tram was even closer, pretty much just outside the door. I initially arrived at the hotel by taxi from nearby Wanchai, where the airport bus dropped me off. This turned out to be the right move because the main entrance is located on a small side street that would have been hard to find had I been traveling on foot.

The room itself was small, although by Hong Kong standards it was fairly spacious. More important, it was very clean, with all facilities in good working order. I stayed on a high floor, and had a wonderful view of the Hong Kong skyline. The concierges and doorkeepers were friendly and knowledgeable, and always willing to answer my numerous questions about the surrounding area. All in all I had a pleasant stay, and the hotel was a good base for my shopping errands in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonasei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 643 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here in a short business trip but it was enough for my very first impression of a good hotel: clean, polite and gentle staff, small but cozy and clean room. It was near to shopping area which take just few time to walk and in a enough quite place to relax. the only point I think was that staff there should smile more :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phuonglinh2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in a business trip. Of course, the cost was paid by my company so i couldnt say it is cheap or expensive. All i can comment is that i like the hotel view, decoration, even the light. the room is also comfortable and people are very polite and customer oriented. however, one thing i felt a bit cold there was that the reservation people give a bit few smile :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutekidesune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Rosedale is a good basic hotel, with comfortable and clean but small rooms and with all the things one needs for a short visit in HK (free wifi, decent breakfast). The restaurant on the top floor is not bad, but oddly the side with the views of the harbor does not have any windows. The location is convenient if you are planning on spending time at Victoria Park or shopping in Causeway Bay. Otherwise, it is a bit out of the way and not all taxi drivers can find it easily. Dim Sum at the Chinese restaurant on the 3rd floor is decent. Basically, if you can can get a good rate it is not a bad choice for HK.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here twice in September 2013. The hotel is nice enough and I imagine it is a pretty good value for Hong Kong. Rooms come with all the standard amenities, the free WiFi works exceptionally well, and the hotel staff is courteous and attentive (most speak relatively decent English).

Location is pretty decent. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the Causeway Bay MTR, which can easily access Central or the Kowloon side in a relatively short period of time. The hotel itself is a little difficult to find the first time, but it is right across from Victoria Park and there are tons and tons of shops located five minutes walking at HK Times Square in Causeway Bay.

There is a 7-11, McDonald's, Starbucks, Subway and Pizza Hut (in addition to numerous little Chinese stores and restaurants) all in the same block as the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker, make sure you are not on a smoking floor. I stayed here twice -- once on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blofeld X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for a week while working in Hong Kong recently. I was lucky in that I got a suite (for the same price as a regular room) this is good as the rooms are small but the suites are great. I had enough space to spread out with a Kitchenette in which I could prepare snacks with the microwave.

The bed was very comfortable with a small but functional and clean bathroom. The room itself, while tired, was kept clean during my stay with used items replaced promptly.

I was lucky to have a room on a higher floor as the lower ones (Below floor 22) stare straight into the apartments next door which are very close to the hotel.

The location was great in Causeway Bay, very close to good shopping options if that is your thing. There is also a great park opposite for exercise. The tram runs right past as well making getting around convenient (if slow) the nearest MTR is only 10 minutes away.

The staff are helpful and efficient, I was very happy with them.

Overall I would stay here again

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor (level 22 and up), lower ones have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a group of 37 people to the Rosedale on the park this past summer. I wish I had spent more money to book the rooms through expedia or a broker. Their sales department is the definition of confused, they would not run our credit card because they had never worked with us before - but the sales assistant did not tell us this - she said it has been declined. Which was patently false. Great hotel, great breakfast, great rooms - but bringing a group here was more than the sales department could handle. Oh and they need to reprogram the elevators/open the stairs to public use - they are painfully slow.

Room Tip: Book through a third party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuniorTeamCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to the hotel. I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with the hotel rooms and breakfast served during your stay with your group.

I was however, as you have mentioned, disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the confusion of your credit card payment. We have been tried to process the said payment by using your provided 2 different credit cards several times through our local bank. However, all transactions were declined with the reason of "The Issuer doesnot process manual authorization". I have also shared your feedback in regards to the speed of our elevators with the Chief Engineer of the hotel in order to ensure all elevators running more efficiently.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when your next visit in Hong Kong.

Kind regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#127 of 727 in Hong Kong
893 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#99 of 727 in Hong Kong
498 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No. 8 Shelter Street | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China (Formerly Rosedale On The Park)
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $89 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong rests at the corner of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's most vibrant and energetic area for shopping, dining, entertainment and business. With a view over the historic Victoria Park and the iconic Victoria Harbour, Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong brings you a hotel for tranquility and comfort right at the edge of excitement and life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale On The Park Hotel Hong Kong
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing