We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good Staff - But Confused”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #193 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Good Staff - But Confused”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a group of 37 people to the Rosedale on the park this past summer. I wish I had spent more money to book the rooms through expedia or a broker. Their sales department is the definition of confused, they would not run our credit card because they had never worked with us before - but the sales assistant did not tell us this - she said it has been declined. Which was patently false. Great hotel, great breakfast, great rooms - but bringing a group here was more than the sales department could handle. Oh and they need to reprogram the elevators/open the stairs to public use - they are painfully slow.

Room Tip: Book through a third party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorTeamCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to the hotel. I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with the hotel rooms and breakfast served during your stay with your group.

I was however, as you have mentioned, disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the confusion of your credit card payment. We have been tried to process the said payment by using your provided 2 different credit cards several times through our local bank. However, all transactions were declined with the reason of "The Issuer doesnot process manual authorization". I have also shared your feedback in regards to the speed of our elevators with the Chief Engineer of the hotel in order to ensure all elevators running more efficiently.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when your next visit in Hong Kong.

Kind regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    313
    158
    38
    26
See reviews for
77
128
60
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel does not enthusiasm, but it does not disappoint either. Good rooms (somewhat dated), quiet, and with good service. The rooms larger than one may expect in HK. The hotel's best asset is its excellent location: it is as close as you can be to Causeway Bay without being sucked-in by the crowds and the noise. It is just across the street from Victoria Park (always good for a stroll) and ten minute walk to the subway (maybe less). I have been to the Rosedale on the Park at least four times over the last five years. It did not change. It is a reliable reference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is strategically situated beside the overpass and makes it accessible to those who travel by foot. You can take a 15 minute walk to and from the Causeway Bay MTR station and pass by indonesian stores along the way. There are also money changers and convenience stores all around which makes it convenient for guests who wish to find their impulse needs.

Service in the hotel is good. Communication is easy since most of the staff can speak in english

Overall stay is pleasant and enjoyable. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed Semi buffet Lunch at $138 with 15% discount when shows HKB credit card ! It consists of main course , salad ,dessert ,soup etc.....! Good quality found in service and variety ! Recommend to all px !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lungkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I just finished my stay in this hotel for 3 nights, from 20th August to 23rd August. It's a decent hotel without a fuss.

I took the airport shuttle bus to the hotel but as the hotel is located on a small street, the bus dropped me off at the main road and I had to luge my luggage all the way to the hotel from the main road. Given the location, you would need to walk to the main road to hail a cab. Not to worry on this, the helpful concierge will walk you to the main road to assist in hailing a cab. It wasn't really a short walk to the MTR, I reckon it took about 10 minutes of walk to reach Causeway Bay station. Not too ideal distance to be covering after a long day of shopping.

There are couple of restaurants around the hotel so you won't be short on choices when it comes to food. Anyway, this is Hong Kong! There are plenty of good food choices all around!

For the breakfast spread, I would say it's a disappointment. The food variety didn't vary much during my 3 days of stay. Being in Hong Kong, I was expecting a larger spread of Dim Sum for breakfast but it was not to be. Congee, bread, fried noodles, nuggets. During my 3 days of breakfast, no waiter served me any coffee and they were either engrossed in walking around, chatting with the chef or arranging the newspapers.

For the rooms, the size was just enough for a solo traveler like me. The rooms were well equipped with toiletries like shower foam, shampoo, tooth brushes etc. The WiFi in the room was fast and reliable , which is something I appreciate. On a side note, you need no password to connect to the hotel WiFi. This is a huge security flaw as anyone can just come into the hotel and tap onto the network. The bed was rather comfortable but I felt that the pillow was too hard. It would have been great if it's a tad softer.

I had no qualms staying in this hotel again if it's for business but if for leisure, I would give it a miss as I think I have better choices available for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinjalanjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good location as only a few minutes walk from two MTR stations - Causeway Bay & Tin Hau. Very friendly & helpful staff. If staying more than 1or 2 nights recommend you pay the extra and up-grade to a Suite as rooms are very small (fine if only one person). Free WI-FI in rooms is a bonus. Top floor restaurant, Skyzone, has great views, fantastic Happy hours 5:30 - 8:00pm & really nice food all at good prices. Competitive rates on money exchange. Plenty of both Asian & Western cafes in close proximity.

Room Tip: Up-grade to suite if staying more than 1or 2 nights. And particularly if intending to do a lot of sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good Location, about 7 mins walk to Causeway Bay MTR. However you will need to cross an overhead bridge to walk to the MTR. There is an elevator for the bridge so do look out for it as it is not very prominent.

Hotel design though is not of modern style but clean and comfortable. Amenities in the room are very complete. Bed room slippers, bath robe, shower cap, toothbrush, shower gel & shampoo, body lotion. Complimentary coffee, chinese tea and Mineral water.

Room size though not big but pretty decent for a Hong Kong standard (I had stayed at other mickey mouse size room in Hong Kong before)

Breakfast: Not spectacular. But I was suprised that hot milk was provided for the coffee. Very often other hotel will just provide packet creamer or cold milk.
Round the corner of the hotel there is very local style congee/noodles shop, Macdonald & Starbucks.
If you walk to Causeway Bay there are also plenty of shops for food. Din Tai Fung is just across the street beneath Regal Hotel.
Not neccessary to book for hotel breakfast

Gym: 1 treadmillm, 1 cycling machine and another machine for weights. Out of the three only treadmill was working.

Conceirge staffs were all very helpful.

Complimentary shuttle bus from Hong Kong Airport Express station stops behind the hotel so going to and fro airport is super convienient.

-ve: Do remember to request a non-smoking room upon reservation if you are non-smoker. Forgotten to request and I was given a smoking room. Just felt that the staff at check-in counter should have the initiative to ask and check before giving us the room key. Smoking stench was unbearable when I check-in. However they were fast to change to a non-smoking room.

A light bulb in the toilet was blown and tripped the electricity. Maintenance staff was quick to response.

Room card key mulfunction for 2 nights out of 4 nights that I stayed, got to approach the reception to re-activate it. Quite a fuss after a long day out.

Overall I will say this is a decent and comfortable hotel to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyngernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 718 in Hong Kong
811 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No. 8 Shelter Street | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China (Formerly Rosedale On The Park)
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong rests at the corner of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's most vibrant and energetic area for shopping, dining, entertainment and business. With a view over the historic Victoria Park and the iconic Victoria Harbour, Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong brings you a hotel for tranquility and comfort right at the edge of excitement and life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale On The Park Hotel Hong Kong
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing