We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,113)
Filter reviews
3,113 results
Traveler rating
955
1,514
446
127
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
1,514
446
127
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnathan roadmtr stationexcellent locationihg membertwo double bedsexecutive clubtsim sha tsuiwalking distancenathan rdrooftop poolchungking mansionsconvenient locationbuffet breakfastexecutive floorshopping districtan upgradehandy phone
Filter
Updating list...
2,450 - 2,455 of 3,113 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We were recommended this hotel and it was definitely as described, it is central, 5 star and great service. We decided to upgrade to Executive level as it was the same price when we booked direct with the hotel compared with the normal room via the travel agent. You got so many extra's eg. drinks and nibblies at night, I was drinking Chivas Regal every night, also coffee and bikkies anytime during the day, also a great breakfast all inclusive. So we definitely got our moneys worth, oh also you were always on the 17th or 18th level and checked in there too. The hotel is really central and you can walk to the Star Ferry, walk to Temple St Markets, also Ladies Markets and also an easy 35mins on a train to Shenszen, China (the only place to go shopping, it was the best and cheapest anywhere). Loved the place and would definitely go back there. Just beware of all the touting as soon as you walk out the hotel door but it is everywhere. Also if you can avoid June please do as it was so hot in June but there was always so many shops with air conditioning to go into, so you just put up with it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I travel almost constantly across Asia, and the Holiday Inn Golden Mile is one of my favourite hotels. and perhaps the best Holiday Inn anywhere in Asia (except perhaps for the new, funky Holiday Inn at Ploenchit Rd in Bangkok).
The Holiday Inn Golden Mile offers very good value for money. Service is always very quick, competent and friendly. Where do they recruit all these young, smart people? I have stayed here many times and never had a bad or annoying experience. This is one well-oiled hospitality machine. Rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable. And the location is excellent. I even like the views of run down apartment and office buildings, they give an authentic flavour of Hong Kong life. Through the windows one can observe people hanging laundry and old men in white undershirts doing their morning exercise. It is like catching a glimpse inside a Wong Kar-wei movie. Hotel has a nice rooftop pool.
Touts, hookers & their pimps and fake Rolex salesmen on Nathan Rd are tiresome but it is easy to ignore them. Just steps away is the iconic Chungkin Mansions, the atmospheric (or delightfully sleazy) hostel complex & shopping centre.
The bar on the mezzanine floor of the Holiday Inn can be a bit wild late at night, but is surely an interesting experience. Food in the restaurants is ok but nothing special. Better (and cheaper) to go outside the hotel for most meals and for evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IsabellaNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on our return journey from Taiwan. There is a free shuttle bus service (K3) to/from Kowloon Aiport Express station which will save you the taxi fare, however the taxi fare from Kowllon Airport Express station will only be about 60 HK dollars max which is about four quid (@ May 2007 prices).

Check in was flawless and the staff very friendly and attentative. Our bags were delivered to our room (on the 15th floor) within two minutes.

The room view was poor overllooking a high rise building opposite. The actual room itself was excellent, with everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn hotel. There were several restaurants, a pool, a good equiped fitness room etc.
We did not eat in the hotel as there are an abundance of places to eat on the door step.

The only down side to our stay was the amount of hawkers outside of the hotel. This is no reflection on the hotel or the staff itself, but at the time of our visit we wished that the Hong Kong authorities would do something about the hawkers on this area of Nathan Road who constantly badger you to buy shirts, suits, real fake rolex watches etc. The best way to deal with hawkers we found was by totally ignoring them (i.e. do not acknowledge their existence).

The hotel is located on Nathan Road where there is an abundance of pubs and places to eat from 24 hour opening McDonalds to 24 hour opening Noodle bars.
The Irish bars within minutes walk; Murphys & Delaneys both serve excellent food.

Overall our experience ot hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Drumnaconagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Booked two rooms at the Exeuctive Club floor for four nights. We found the rooms extremely spacious for HK standard - imagine a King bed, a two-seater couch, coffee table and still ample space for my toddler to run around! This was a welcome change from our last visit where we stayed at the highly rated hotel at Mongkok area. Also, rooms were well-lit.

For the Executive Floor, we paid extra HKD360 per room/night to enjoy its priviledges - complimentary b/f and evening cockktail at its Lounge; use of internet at the lounge; late check-out at 4pm; DVD rental, etc. Every evening, we would head to the Lounge and relaxed for a cup of brewed coffee and cookies - a good way to chill-out after a day of sightseeing.

In terms of accessibility, one could not ask for more. Complimentary Airport Express shuttle plies between Kowloon station every 12 minutes; Exit G of TST MTR station is right in front of the hotel; Star Ferry terminal and Harbour City shopping centre are within walking distance.

In terms of F&B options, we only tried the chinese restaurant - food was so-so but prices are steep. I would recommend the one at the Cultural centre which is not far away. Good cantonese food at reasonable prices - plus good harbour view.

As for the flip side, indeed the hotel is situated among many rundown buildings so the view from the windows are not exciting. But having said that, I reckon that most would find such from other hotels as well, unless one stays at the pricy ones along Salisbury Road. Afterall this is part of the everchanging HK cityscape - newer developments surrounded by older buildings. For those who are affected, one could request for a room facing Mody Road and nearer to the Nathan Road end.

As for the touts, yes there were many promoting restaurants and massage services. Again, you would find others elsewhere along Nathan Road. Fortunately those we met were not very persistent - perhaps they were less inclined towards Asians.

All in all, it was an excellent stay and i am sure we would head back to Golden Mile when we ever visit HK again for its rooms and convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe_Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Having seen previous reviews we opted to upgrade - the extra was only HK$200=£13 a night - and we couldn't find fault with the room, hotel or service. The Austrian restaurant was great value, especially the buffet - and again excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wartling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews