We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #96 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Holiday Inn Golden Mile is really in the center of Kowloon action.
MTR Tsimshartsui Access G is just 2 minute walk. BUT WARNING! Access G to the train platform itself is another 10 minute walk underground!

Internet is free for those executive rooms only. 180HKD++ for 24 hours internet. Not cheap for me. Go to Habour City/ Gateway Mall. Free inside. Yes. The whole mall is Free Wifi!

Holiday Inn has a "promotional" free breakfast and internet. But why will you pay hotel rate breakfast when you can get authentic and CHEAPER food outside? RIght? Makes sense to me. If you're in Hong Kong EAT Hong Kong!

I paid EXTRA for a deluxe room since it's the "renovated" room. But it doesn't look like updated. Maybe new paint here and there, that's it. Its has that old hotel room smell. Good think my asthma didn't attack. I think it's about time they do some MAJOR renovation. Small bathroom. Shower and Tub only.

Quick check-in. Good staff.

HK Plugs are the same as those in Singapore so if you can bring some adaptors. But they provide anyway.

Watch out for those people outside offering private rooms. They can be a nuisance.

Small swimming pool in roof top. Nice gym facilites/ machines.

5HKD per local call made.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    1,245
    358
    86
    48
See reviews for
950
412
156
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

Just got back from a 4 night stay. Shame that it rained for 3 out of 4 days, hence didn;t get to use the lovely roof top pool. Beds were great size for us as a family of 4.

Only downside was its location, next to ChungKing Mansions. We did feel intimidated when exiting the MTR at night, so much so, that we got off at the stop earlier and taxi-ed up to the hotel entrance on a couple of occasions. There were just too many hanger-around-ers at the MTR entrance and street. If the Hotel management read this, please take note.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Kowloon and close to all the shops and MTR. Its a very handy location for the tourist.

The entry and lobby looked welcoming after a long flight in but its the little things one notice when settled in.

The standard room I got looked tired and old. The furniture could do with an upgrade and gave the overall impression it was dark. The bathroom was small for a room of this size. However, the bed was comfortable and everything worked. Had a look outside the window and I realised why the curtains were permanently drawn. It was not a pretty sight. But the complimentary bottles of water were always a bonus.

The bathroom while tidy and clean, felt cramp. And they still have this old contraption that is a dryer hanging on the wall. Its been a real while since I had seen anything like it.

Since, I was only in for a night, there was nothing to get too critical about. The hotel could do with an upgrade. There is nothing too much to expect from the hotel. Its good location is a big plus but if I had a choice, I probably would not return to this hotel. There are better and more economical hotels around that offer better value.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mox_Fulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
217 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed after several years with my family in Holiday Inn Golden Mile. Location is excellent if you want to be in heart of Kowloon but dont expect much from rooms. Still outdated and for the price felt not worth it. The rooms are stuck in the 70s....kettles on the curtains. They told me the rooms were recently refurbished. I doubt that. There has to be better hotels for the price ($280per night) in Central Kowloon

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

This hotel has to be the most disgustingly dirty places I've stayed.

I stayed in a large room with 2 colleagues and all of us starting sneezing as soon as we entered the room. It didn't take long to work out why. The room was COVERED in dust and looked as if it had not been cleaned properly for months.

The bath had soap scum marks all around and dark black marks on bottom.

We were staying for 7 nights on business and every morning someone would knock on our door and try and enter to "clean" the room before 9am. Considering nothing really happens in HK before 11am, this was ridiculous and very frustrating.

In addition to this, one of our party got sick for one day and we put out a do not disturb sign when we left them there in the morning. This meant nothing. The phone apparently rang continuously with housekeeping staff asking if they could come and clean the room. Random people also kept knocking on the door and ringing the bell to try and come in.

Not sure what these housekeepers actually did as they don't change the sheets every day unless they are told to (in contrast to every other hotel that asks you to put the card on the bed if you DONT want linen changed, this one won't change the sheets unless you put the card on the bed), they definitely don't vaccum or dust and certainly don't clean the bath during your stay.

Downstairs, the lobby bar is literally filled with smoke from the moment it opens to the time it closes, so don't even bother unless you're a smoker.

The reception staff were excedingly rude - and no, it isn't because of cultural differences; I travel very frequently in Asia and have come to know what is the norm...the frontline staff here are for some reason just rude and very unhelpful (example: on checkout, our billing was interrupted for over 15 mins while the person serving us decided to serve a different customer who wanted access to his safe deposit box...there were other counter staff available to help, but they preferred to stand around chatting while one staff member did all the work).

Also be warned that directly outside this hotel is a notorious drug dealing and prostitute pickup point on Mody Road. You'll also be harrassed by the "copy watches, copy handbags, suit, ladies suit" crew every single time you step outside the hotel door on Nathan Road.

This hotel also charges an absolute fortune to use the internet. It was so pricey we were forced to buy a card from 711 and head to Starbucks across the road to do what we needed to do. Given how much they charge for the room it is absolutely outrageous to expect guests to fork out another small fortune to access the internet. It's a real disadvantage when you're on business as you need to work in the evenings and early mornings in more than 5 min email blocks like leisure travellars.

The only thing good about this hotel is the fitness centre which has a better shower than what you have in your room. Hardly anyone ever uses the steam/sauna/bathroom area so if you want a bit more space to move, head to Floor 19 to shower etc...even if you don't use the gym room (which is very good with a good selection of cardio and weight options).

Location is good but there are plenty of other FAR better hotels in the area.

Don't stay at this place unless your boss forces you to...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

There was nothing about this hotel that makes it stand out from all the rest. For what we paid I was expecting a little more. The rooms were just an average hotel room just like any other hotel room in Asia. The bathroom was tiny. The only good point is the location, it was fairly central to most things. We were located at the back side of the hotel, which meant that it was very quiet, but the views out the window were nothing spectacular. Probably wouldnt stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongebob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

I booked a standard room, during check-in they tried to sell us an upgraded room but I already thought the price we paid was expensive so no takers there. The room we had was 5th floor. It was okay but looking very tired and old fashioned. The bathroom in paticular, shower over the bath with plastic shower curtain and vacuum cleaner type hairdryer , one of my pet hates. The worst view from a hotel room I have ever had, looking straigt into the building next door. Very little natural light came into the room and I couldn't even tell what the weather was like outside. No full length mirror. Broadband access was very expensive so we went to Pacific Coffee where it was a more reasonable price, and a good cup of coffee with a view of the harbour.

Location was good, close to MRT and walkable to Star Ferry but the touts for copy watches and handbags lurking outside the hotel door were very annoying. I am sure there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#80 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#81 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#52 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#141 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Property: Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing