We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have lived in Hong Kong with my family for the past twenty years. During this time I have travelled extensively and stayed in a variety of hotels throughout the world. In my opinion Asia has some of the best hotels in the world - but take my word for it - the Holiday Inn Golden Mile certainly isn't one of them! Wthout a doubt, the property is very average indeed and not worth paying the premium that the hotel seems to get away with charging!

My wife and I stayed there recently BTW, as we had attended a grand ball at the hotel and we wanted the convenience of staying over for the night. The ball was very enjoyable and the food, given the scale of the event, very good. But we did not expect much from the hotel itself and therefore we were not disapointed. [We got what we expected in other words].

So, why is the hotel average? Mainly because the property is old, the decor and style is old fashioned, and is long overdue a complete makeover to bring it up to date. That's it really - nothing fundamentally wrong, if you dont mind staying in a hotel that would probably feel more at home in the 1980's.

Good points? Location, if you want to be in the middle of Kowloon. Service - the check in and check out experience was efficient.

We were only there for one night, as mentioned, so I have no idea what the other facilities were like apart from Harry's Bar which we visited briefly after the ball. The bar was quite busy with a reasonable atmosphere, but certainly nothing special. But as reported in other reviews, there do seem to be few prostitutes hanging around in the bar which you may consider a good or bad point depending on your objective!

Summing up - if you are looking for some kind of 'special' hotel experience don't stay there. If on the other hand you just want somewhere to stay, conveniently located in Tsim Sha Tsui, then I guess this place will do (if you are not fussy).

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in this hotel during a four night stay in Hong Kong. The hotel was quite impressive and certainly surpassed my expectations for a Holiday Inn. Compared to North American properties, this hotel definitely felt higher end. The lobby was quite impressive with marble floors and a huge crystal chandelier. Rooms were clean and modern in decor. They were small, as is typical in Hong Kong, but well appointed with nice linens, modern furniture and a cool touch panel on the front of the nightstand that controlled the lighting and heat/air conditioning in the room. The two free bottles of water were appreciated as well as the free Wifi.

Service was exemplary. Check-in was painless, and every staff member I encountered was friendly and professional. I did eat at the adjoining Chinese restaurant, and the food and atmosphere was wonderful. One of the strengths of this hotel was the location. On the Kowloon side, the hotel is centrally located on Nathan Road – close to tons of shopping, restaurants, metro, and an easy walk to the Night market. I found the MTR very easy to navigate and would encourage visitors to use the metro system in Hong Kong. Despite the busy area and the masses of people, I always felt safe. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a great value property in Hong Kong in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newfietraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights from April 14th to 23rd recently in Room No 811 and here's what I have to say about this wonderful hotel:
1. Rooms - for the HKD1,800 with breakfast and exceptionally fast wifi connectivity, the Deluxe Rooms are truly a home away from home for the tired traveller.
2. Restaurants - personally I have dined at the Italian Restaurant - Osteria and also at the Bistro on the Mile. The spread is pretty extensive and also very international that would certainly suit everyone, including excellent Indian breakfast in addition to the regular Cantonese fare!
3. Gym - the gym located on the 19th floor is adequate and equipped with the latest equipment and there's also a good sauna and steam room located on the same floor.
4. Location - Located at the bustling Tsim Sha Tsui area of Nathan Road, all the lanes and roads around the hotel offer plenty of choices for food, shopping, souvenir hunting, you name it, you can find it. For the food lovers, there's a Café De Coral, Tsui Wah and Hui Luh Shan within 5-10 minutes walk, there's a Macau Restaurant serving Macau-styled cooking just across the road behind the mall. For Indians, just step out of the back entrance of the hotel, turn to your left and walk 10m to Chung King Mansion and lookout for Lahore Stall for good thosai and thali set meals.
5. Public transport - throughout my stay, I have never had to wait longer than 10 minutes for a cab, and just outside the hotel, hardly 2 minutes walk, you're already in the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station which connects you to either Mongkok further in Kowloon or Hong Kong Island. For those who want an easy exercise, within 15-20 minutes, you can reach the Star Ferry terminal to take a preferred scenic ride across the harbour.
If you're travelling for business or for a vacation, this would certainly be a wise choice to set your base and move around Hong Kong.

Room Tip: I can only speak for myself and I liked Room No 811 very much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gopi2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stay 2 night in this hotel , perfect location , small room like every hotel in hong kong , busy lobby you cant enjoy your sitting , standard room , bad smell , nice breakfast , at the end good hotel in middle of every think in AMAZING CITY

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's our second stay in this hotel. This time we have a longer stay to get a better experience of the hotel. Our room was not ready upon check in at 3pm, but it's a good gesture to have given us a temporary room to rest. It was a smoking floor room. The smoking smell on the corridor as well as in the room were terrible! Even a smoker friend said he couldn't take it.
It's greatful that we were upgraded to the new Premier room. It's definitely a nicer room with modern touch compare to the deluxe room we stayed previously. I like it without the bathtub, feel more spacious and clean. Our room was on lower floor. Everynight I didn't sleep well because of the noisy crowd hanging around 7-11 across the street. Anyway, it's not the hotel fault, so I didn't bother to complain. But I do think the hotel needs to have a better or double window layer installed, afterall it's located in a noisy and busy area of TST.
The gym is small, but well equipped and enough to let me sweat. They have an outdoor non heated out door pool.
The hotel regular price didn't come cheap, but it's definitely worth the price for it's location, great staffs and food. Would recommend to those that don't have a tight budget.
Tips for those with baby stroller: take the N exit from K11 to avoid climbing the stair cases from MTR station. Hotel is just across the street.

Room Tip: New Premier room is great. Choose higher floor with even number room which closer to K11, will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainManPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2013 and were quite satisfied. The room we got first was not acceptable as the interior was very old and the the room was smelly. But reception reacted very quickly and we got another room within one hour and a letter of apology from the management. We tried the italian restaurant and it was really good as well as the breakfast - lots of choices and fresh food. The location is brilliant and the pricing was also ok.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank loeslein_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

On arriving at the holiday inn i found the lobby chaotic to start with ,then there was the room that was o.k but it was in a noisy part of the hotel and as for the vew from the window please refer to photo that vew filled me with such joy HA HA. So we asked for a upgrade to the executive club with that we was moved to new room. The breackfast in the club lunge was excellent all staff in the lunge was happy polite and always willing to help.the DVD loan was a added bonus. The hotel is in a prime place but i really got cheesed of with ladys of the night ( and day) hovering out side the lift once you made your way threw these little flowers and there side kicks (the pimps) you only had the street vendors out side the main exit trying to sell you a genuine dodgy nock off watch.We ate at the osteria ristorante italiano once do yourself a faver avoid unless you want to give your credit card a good spanking the same goes for the lunge bar i only wanted a drink not part shares.apart from that the stay was all good and yes i would stay again only with the upgrade.

Room Tip: go with executive club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveholidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,984 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#97 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,710 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $157 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing