We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel ..... good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #107 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

this is a average hotel but bang in the heart of kowloon with all huge shopping and dining options right next to the hotel. the rooms are average and surely need a renovation . but if you here as a tourist , where you are most of the time wanting to explore the city and coming to the hotel just to sleep....then it is a nice option

Room Tip: rooms facing mody road
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,754)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 2,754 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe room for two nights. We chose Holiday Inn Golden Mile because we were redeeming Priority Club points and felt that this hotel had the best value for the points. Our rate was 25,000 points per night, but the new rate is 35,000 points after the changes Priority Club made to its program.

The best asset of this hotel is its location. We found it to be central to everything we wanted to do in Hong Kong. The MTR station is just outside the hotel and can quickly get you to Hong Kong Island or further up Kowloon. We also easily walked to shopping malls and the ferry, which was a fun experience though it took a little longer than the MTR to get to Hong Kong Island. "MTR" is Hong Kong's subway system, but I use the term "MTR" because in Hong Kong, a "subway" is an underground walkway that gets pedestrians across a road. We needed to use the "subway" to walk from Holiday Inn to the shopping malls.

When we checked in, the room we were assigned had a very musty smell and some loud guests next door. Outside the window was a wall to another building about 20 feet away, so there was absolutely no view and probably little natural light. We complained about the noise from our neighbors, and staff moved us to another room. The new room also had a musty smell, though not as bad as the other room. Fortunately the new room looked out over a street, so we could open the curtains and let some light in the room. I think the hotel will need to replace the carpeting soon to address the musty odor.

We had drinks at the hotel bar on our arrival night because we were given drink vouchers at check in. The bar was surprisingly lively at close to midnight on a Monday. We never ate at any of the hotel restaurants. For breakfast each day we went across the street to the Starbucks in the iSquare building, where they had reasonably-priced egg sandwiches.

Overall there's nothing particularly special about the hotel itself, but its location and value (particularly for rewards nights) make it hard to beat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have a view of a wall.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've been to Hkg at least 8-10 times and stayed at various hotels. I wasn't expecting much- tiny room average hotel as most i've stayed. However , pleasantly surprised to have a nice sized room, workable bathroom. I had colleagues also staying at this hotel in double room which was much bigger - I was impressed.location is great - connected to Nathan road on one end i found it to be very very convenient and off the crazy Nathan road bustle.... Lots of places to dine walking distance up Kimberly Road- hyatt is across the street from thsi hotel.
.East Tsim tsai tsui train station is literally footsteps away.. I highly recommend this hotel ..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NRamsoomair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stay for 2 night in January 2013.

The best thing for this hotel is location. As other members said, it is walking distance to everything in Tsim Sha Tsui. As a priority club platinum member, I got an upgrade from newly renovated premier room in lower floor to an very old room in executive floor, not sure this is an adventage as they also allow access to club lounge and breakfast for me only, not for my wife.

The bed and bath is holiday inn standard, but it is clean, comfortable, but very dated.

If you need under HKD 1,500 room in very prime location just for sleep and keep your luggage, this is the right choice. If you need for romance or enjoy property, you have to choose others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

the hotel is located in Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon very close to subway station giving easy access to HK island and to ferry terminals
it gives easy access to northern parts of kowloon like MongKok
the hotel located on Nathan St. and the lobby is always busy
rooms are fine - did not find any problem
price - little bit expensive although this must be the average in HK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmulik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is great if you have limited time as everything you need is in easy walking distance eg. MTR, K11 shopping with great 'Marketplace' supermarket in the basement. Room newly renovated and well appointed, spotlessly clean. Near the elevator made for a noisy room, as far as possible from the elevator would make the stay great. King size bed and comfortable room, pillow menu, nice walk in shower. Good area for making tea/coffee with a nice selection to choose from. Air con efficient and quick to cool room, was quiet too. Check in/out efficient. Taxis readily available for easy transport.

Room Tip: Mody Rd side a little quieter, room far from elevator.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toowelltravelled64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

One word that sums up this hotel: location & convenience. Everything is within walking distance -- convenience stores, halal restaurant, mobile phone vendors to get internet for your phone & tablets (free Wifi included in the rooms), the train stops is literally across the street & hundreds of meters of shopping malls & luxury shopping. The rooms are adequate for a family of four & I have no complaints on the price. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to first time Hong Kong travelers.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#97 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,678 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,894 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#75 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $148 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing