We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you like Kowloon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK if you like Kowloon”
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This hotel charges 4 HK$ (US $.0.50) per minute for internet usage which is a deal-killer for me since I use the internet so much while traveling. This gives me a bad impression of the hotel since it's about on the level of charging for TV usage or putting a coin operated lock on the bathroom in this day and age. I don't mind if they charge a flat rate of say $US5 per day for an internet connection but if they are going to advertise a wireless internet connection in the room then they need to tell you they charge for it by the minute because that makes it basically unusable. If I had known that I wouldn't have stayed there but fortunately it was for only one night.

Our room rate did not include breakfast and they charged about $US 25 for the breakfast buffet and with a family of 5 that's just ridiculous so we weren't too happy with that either.

The hotel is very close to the ferries and metro and several museums but unfortunately to get there you have to walk through dozens of hawkers shoving fake watches in your face, tailor services, massages, and other products and services. Nathan Road and the other streets of Kowloon are very unpleasant to walk through at night and not much better during the day. On the side streets like Moby Road there's an unpleasant smell of sewage.

The staff at this hotel was nice and helpful, the health club was nice, the rooftop pool was a little cold and closes early (7 pm) at least in the winter, and the rooms were pleasant although not nearly as nice as those in the Shanghai Radisson, which we had just left. The view from the room was of some hideous collapsing building that looked like it had been condemned.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,344
    392
    100
    59
See reviews for
1,053
450
168
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

This was our first visit with our two children.Top notch accomadation with a premium location and we at all times felt secure.The restaraunt breakfast was a daily highlight. .Our return trip is already being planned for 2008.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

One of the eternal landmarks of Hong Kong and Nathan Road is the old Golden Mile. It has undergone several renovations over the years and the top floors (14+) are very nicely done. If you do have the misfortune of getting on a lower level (say 8 or lower) it is still pretty nice, but getting quite dated. The view is terrible from either side (an alley way on one side, a tailor and housing on the other) but take a 5 minute walk to the harbor. There are a ton of things to do within a 5 minute walk as long as you don't mind being in a constant crowd (organized chaos). Be sure the check out the Spaghetti House and Deli France if you're tired of local fare. For laundry, don't use the in-hotel service, but walk to the back of the lower level of the horrible looking Chungking Mansion, and you'll find the very nice lady at Purity Laundry. Save you a ton of money, and get your clothes back within 4-5 hours. Be sure to check out Hari's bar, happy hour until 9 pm, great place to watch the ladies of the night in action, and look down on the busy area outside while sipping some spirits. As far as the "tailor sir tailor" "copy watch" as these guys, just ignore them. If you make the mistake of saying no, or even worse shaking their hand, they got cha! Just walk on by like the locals do.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The touts outside
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

stayed here for 3 nites. the room was clean and comfortable however the room that i stayed in was facing an old building. Maybe for future stays I would opt for rooms facing the other side of the hotel. Superb location for shopping and travel. It was personally easy for me to get halal food as the bulding next to the hotel has many halal outlets and even across the road.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — busy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 young children, and found the staff to be extremely helpful, the room was tastefully decorated and comfortable and the location is just superb if your only in Hong Kong for a few days and want to do alot of exploring.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Hong Kong.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The hawkers on the street.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky-ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted, a five minute stroll to Star ferry terminal, and a 60 second walk to the MTR station. The rooms were of an average size, although the bathroom was a little on the small side, but the room in general was very clean, with a really comfy kingsize bed and pillows !

Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

There is alot of noise from the building site opposite and was a bit of an annoyance, as the construction work noise lasts most of the day, (although to be fair you are out for most of the day, but if you pop back to the hotel for an afternoon nap, because of the jetlag you will not get any peace!!)

The hotel buffet meal in the evening is quite nice and good value for money which includes the dessert buffett - fab (scoop as much Haagan Dazs ice cream as you want!)

As you read in alot of these reviews, the hawkers selling you 'copy watches' and custom tailoring' gets really annoying as they do not take No for an answer.

I would definatley return to this hotel in the future, good value for money

  • Liked — The location was fab
  • Disliked — The noise from the construction site, and the Hawkers that hang around outside the hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Loving_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Have just returned from a 6 day holiday (not stopover) to Hong Kong. We picked this hotel from its location on Nathan Road and price. There were three women on our holiday sharing a standard room. We were offered an upgrade at a price but decided we weren't actually going to be in our room much to warrant paying extra. Yes, there wasn't much of a view out of our window on the 6th floor, but we didn't pick this hotel for its view. The room was tidy, had everything we needed for our stay and was roomy enough for the three of us.
The location of this hotel is a major drawcard. It is on the southern end of Nathan Road within easy walking distance to major shopping areas. MTR (underground rail) station is right outside and very user friendly. This line takes you right to the Mong Kok area, a shoppers paradise.
By MTR, Hong Kong Disney is roughly 40 - 50 mins away, Hong Kong Island 10 - 15 mins.
Yes, Hong Kong Disney is small but not to be missed. You can easily see all the sights in one day. If travelling with smaller children, this park's size would be an ideal alternative to the hustle and bustle of Californias Disneyland. Early in the day the queues for rides and photo opportunities with Disney stars were non existant.
Restaurants at our hotel were superb. I cannot fault the service or food in any way. Apart from a special birthday dinner to R66 and dinner at Jumbo Floating Restaurant, we ate in the hotel's restaurants.
Hawkers do seem to like Nathan Road but are not large in number and will leave you alone if you indicate "no thank you".
I would not hesitate to book again with Holiday Inn, Golden Mile.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mandmwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,647 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,636 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Property: Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing