We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Golden Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights here in August 2011 for a weekend. Well stocked mini bar, size of room is okay - nothing too fancy but it's clean and that's what matters! Bathroom is clean as well and seems like everything is kept well. There's a 7-11 conveniently across the street and also access to the TST MTR station. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby as well! Would recommend for cleanliness!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jordynhmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 2,919 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is that it's really at the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui. The nearest MTR exit (N5 via G of the Tsim Sha Tsui station) is like, 10 meters away from the hotel's entrance on Mody Street. Every corner you look is a shopping mall, K11, being my favourite because it's both a mall and an art gallery. It is literally next to Mirador Mansion and Chungking Mansions, which are great places for bargains and the best exchange rate for currency. It was also easy to get to the hotel. We took the Airport Express, and was able to catch the last shuttle from the Kowloon Station (shuttle K3).

The rooms were good (stayed on the 5th floor, non-smoking, deluxe double room). They had LED lamps and my favourite part was the iPod/iPhone dock alarm clock. The bathroom was very clean and newly refurbished, and the showerheads had good steady pressure and easy temperature control. There's also a digital scale. No cotton buds thou' in the complementary toiletries.

Service was also good. I did not facilitate check-in and check-out personally, but our TV did not have channels working, but Crystal from Reception was really nice and sent someone up based on the schedule we gave them. They were also helpful in giving out directions, they knew mass schedules of the nearest Church, and everything to compensate for the fact that you have to pay for WiFi.

The hallways are a little bit less modern than the actual interior of the rooms. I don't know if there are plans to refurbish those areas as well.

We also used the pool. It's modest, but nice, especially when you think that it's on the rooftop of a very busy neighborhood. It's not really a mini-oasis, but it's good for some relaxing exercise amid the hustle and bustle. The pool staff was also very friendly.

At this point, I will now introduce booking. We booked through the Holiday Inn website. It's almost accidental, because we were going to use points, and I thought that the points mentioned on the site meant that those were the points you could use to purchase a night. LIttle did I know they meant those were the points to be received if you book the night. So with that confusion, the site automatically deducted from the credit card without warning, whatsoever. So people who want to book has to be wary about this, especially if you have are a Priority Club Member. They don't even have the usual security prompts and stuff.

But overall, it was still a positive experience. Post-booking communication is also good, but email is better than calling the local hotline.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank prinsesaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Room comfortable with good air con (vital!) and very conveniently located. The Bistro-style restaurant was excellent - such an extensive range of absolutely delicious morsels from which to choose, that we ate there several times. This was our first visit to Hong Kong, but we would be happy to stay here again. Concierge staff very helpful upon our discovering that the coach tour of HK that we had pre-booked and paid for months earlier been cancelled. They rang around to find an equivalent tour operating on that same day, and obtained the last 2 seats for us, to our great relief and gratitude!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I arrived after a long journey for the UK, I waited at check in for 15 minutes standing, there was no apology for the delay.

When I finally got to my room I didn't think it was too bad, until I saw 2 cockroaches. I stayed in this room as I was too tired to swap, I didn't see any more bugs but 2 was enough!

The sink was dirty in the bathroom and there was mould on the ceiling.

The bed was comfortable but the room just didn't seem clean nor did it smell fresh.

I ordered room service, the food came relatively quickly but was not good at all, no chef is required!

When I went to check out this also took a long time even though it was 6am!

I do have to compliment the bell boys though, they were very helpful and helped me out when my taxi driver wouldn't give me all my change.

For the amount paid, this hotel is well below standard, it is the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarinaBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2011

Dear sfdgsdf,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are concerned with your comments, hence we did some follow up and we would like to share the results here with you.

We conducted a thorough inspection of the room and we were unable to find any trace of said bugs. Nevertheless, we conducted a pest control fumigation to ensure that there could be no repeat of your experience. This procedure is carried out on a regular basis and we would like to assure you that we take guest room hygiene seriously. Additionally, we have completed a deep cleaning of the bathroom to ensure it will always have a clean and fresh look.

We strive to keep our room cleanliness to the highest standard and we are sorry for this lapse in standards which has resulted in your negative impression. Your feedback has enabled us to double check our procedures and standards and we can assure you that this is an isolated situation.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us another chance in the future.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Holiday Inn is a good, comfortable hotel in the Tsim Sha Tsui area of Kowloon. It is close to the MTR and the Star Ferry.
We have been staying in this hotel since the early 1980's for both business and holiday visits and have found it good value. The rooms are a good size with the only criticism being that the bathrooms are relatively small. Only one person at a time.
The recent renovations have changed the ambience of the main restaurant. The original Cafe Vienna is now the Bistro On the Mile and it is just that - Bistro atmosphere. There is no interaction between the staff and diners. The whole experience is lacking and atmosphere. For those who know in Australia - Coles Cafe was a similar experience.
Would I stay here again - YES!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

After a lot of deliberation, I had selected Holiday Inn, Golden Mile, Tsim Sha Shui. The reason for the choice was, we were 4 members (2 child of 7 years) and knowing that hotel rooms in Hong Kong is small, we had to make choice of hotel depending upon the size of the room and the bed.
However, we were extremely happy with both. Rooms (double deluxe) was quite spacious. Beds were large enough for 2adults. cleanliness was high, service was good too.
There were only 2 things which I did not like - the outside view was terrible, however i was aware of the same. I had insisted on higher floor, but still it did not make any difference. However, since it was family trip, we were out of hotel by 10am and was back only by 10pm and did not feel the view issue to be of any disturbance. However, if you are planning a leisure stay, you may not enjoy the hotel as view is not as good. Second thing which i did not like was - the Mody road entrance had a lot of seedy people after 8pm, mostly call girls, pimps were seen outside the 7eleven store on Mody Road, which made things slightly odd especially when you are with your family.

Location wise the hotel was fantastic and C1 exit of Tsim Sha Shui MTR was right infront of the hotel's Nathan Road entry and thus made our travel quite comfortable. especially at the end of the day, stepping out of MTR to enter your hotel was the ideal thing to happen. Also, Star Ferry Pier, Symphony of Light, was 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Overall I would rate the hotel, extremely value for money and would definitely recommend for family travel with small kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArijitChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have stayed here many times and if you are on business and don't want to work in your room opt for the executive floors (16 -18) as you gain access to the lounge to work in privacy.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better for doing a bit of shopping and accessing the MTR.
There's plenty of choice in the restaurants too.
An ideal business or stopover hotel. The free shuttle bus to the station to get to the airport takes the strain of your luggage too.

Room Tip: go for a floor above 10, it's quieter. Don't ask for a room with a view; there are none - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotter237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#103 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,762 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#45 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $153 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing