We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - just out of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Ranked #47 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is not smack in the middle of the city, but it is very close to a MTR station so HK island is within a 30 min reach.

I found this hotel value for money as the rooms are big and the bathroom has a separate toilet, rain shower and bath. Best of all, the breakfast was excellent.

I really felt welcome as the staff is enthusiastic and willing to help with whatever question comes up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haaienvoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

I will not repeat details on the location or rooms, ( which incidentally are terrific , I stayed on the 32 floor ) etc but this is a wonderful place to stay for one important reason, the staff are exceptional. From reception to the restauarant to room servce all the staff make you feel a very welcome guest which makes for an enjoyable and memeorable stay, and quite different from many hotels who dont notice you at all. Over the years on busines I have stayed many nights in IHG hotels but because of the staff this is without doubt the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I'd give 2 thumbs up for the hotel if you don't consider location as a major issue.
Although the hotel is connected with MTR, it is a bit far from the busy streets of Hong Kong. So if you want some peace and quiet environment, Kowloon East is the place for you.

I love the rooftop open air bar. The service was also great from the bartenders to the bell men to the front desk officers, everyone was exceptional and the hotel looked very fancy.

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is well structured, and it has large bay windows. I also wrote about them in my blog.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was excellent. The bed was HUGE! and all the amenities included were amazing. We got upgraded to a deluxe room because we had booked online and I guess the girl at the reception was feeling generous! We also called to get a late check out at 2pm and it didnt cost a penny. The only complaint is that we couldn't stay for longer!

Room Tip: Any room, they are all beautiful and you will receive great service!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenC89x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is quite new with a design style from the lobby to the guest room. The place is clean on regular basis and very well maintained thanks to the management and the efficient staff.
I had a room at the highest floors with a great reliable service which is an added value especially on a business trip after a long day. The hotel offers a business package which includes for instance free dry cleaning done within the same day.

Breakfast offers a wide variety of choice of tasty food and drinks. The fitness room is fully equipped with cardio and weight stations.

As regard to the location: indeed it is far away from the main sights of Kowloon or Hong Kong island; however, there a is a MRT station right at the feet of the hotel that lead you to TTS in about 20 to 25 minutes. Furthermore, there is a wide shopping mall with plenty of restaurants and a movie theater that is connected to the hotel.

Great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREG_H_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stay 1st jan 2014 to 3rd jan 2014

Crowne Plaza HK Kowloon East is situated at Tsuen Kwan O (TKO) at the east side of Kowloon. It is built on-top of a shopping mall known as Popcorn Mall. Crowne Plaza is a 47 storey Hotel with an Italian Restaurant on the Top Floor known as (CIELO). Let's look at how my 3 days 2 nights stay when during the New Year of 2014 =)

Check-in

My Taxi had pulled up at the front of CPHK-KE and i had 2 luggages in the taxi. The taxi driver had helped me carried out my luggages but the 2 doormen standing behind the stand just looked at me without helping me with my luggages even the taxi driver was shocked. So i just pulled them into the lobby when another Doorman had helped me with it. I proceeded to the check-in counter when Ms. Pamela had assisted me in my Check-in. We had a nice small chat and she had also introduced me the Club Manager Ms. Renie. Check-in when well and i was given Room 4507. They had assured me they my coming 3 days will be great (Which it definately has).

Rating: 9.5/10 (only the luggage problem)

Room

I was given a Corner King Size Room and for a Hong Kong Hotel, this room is Big and Spacious (you can see from the video below). The Room is shaped like a half curved due to the design of the building. Which made it bigger including the Toilet which i love it! Lets look at each part of the room.

The toilet is made mostly of marble which made it had the "Rich" feeling. It consist of a huge bathtub that faces to mounted mini-tv. Great for soaking into the bathtub while watching ur fav shows. The shower area is separated to another corner where next to it was the bidet area. My fav area in the toilet would have to be the Vanity Area. It had a huge mirror and the sink area had ample space for our own personal toiletries. The hotel toiletries they supply on club floors are from the brand "Kenji" and it was really good and refreshing.

Now the room is huge as said due the shape of the building. The King size bed is really really awesome .. as in it totally just sucks you in .. disallowing you the leave the bed (which is honestly a good thing for me). The room consist of a 42" LCD TV (if I'm not wrong) which enables you shift the position. We had a view of HIX and other parts of TKO area. Some hotels hardly do "turndown services", thankfully CPKHKG does! As the pix below, we were given their hotel chocolates (Yums) =). The room really had a Homey feeling and whenever i opened my room door from my outings, i know that i am HOME! =)

Room Rating: 10/10

Facilities and Restaurants:

Gym: Gym area for me is quite ok thou i expected to be slightly better but it still good. Clean, neat, service staff was attentive and helpful

Pool: Sadly i didn't get to use the pool as it was going for a schedule maintenance, so can't comment on here.

The Chef's Table: This was where we had our breakfast and i actually like the design of the restaurant. It had a very warm and bright colours that made the restaurant feel like home. As we only had our breakfast, the selection here are quite good mostly on Quality rather than Quantity! The staffs are very friendly and helpful thou language is slightly a barrier but thats ok. I enjoyed the food that has made by the chef's here! Thou i feel the fruit juice is quite limited, hopefully to see more selection on this. Other than that everything when well for the past 3 days here

Club Floor: The club floor of this hotel is located on the very top floor @ the 47th Floor that is shared together with their Italian Restaurant. My whole stay i was taken care by Ms. Renee and her team! She has been really friendly and we even shared about each of our country's culture =D. I mostly visited quite often here and they serve really authentic Italian cuisine. Thou the choices were limited but still it was good Quality Choices =). I really enjoyed the cosiness of this club lounge as it is really peaceful and quiet + the staffs here were very attentive. The view at the Club Floor is amazing being on the 47th Floor. We had views of TKO areas and a part of the sea view of HKG East side. It really made you feel like you were away from HKG.

Sevice: Service @ Crowne Plaza here is great. They made you feel very welcome right from the door step of the hotel of your stay until you have left your hotel the day you check-out. The Team at CP is really amazing and friendly. They brought the warm smile and always treated you not only just a Guest of the hotel but as a friend. Every night there is also a turndown service from and they placed their 2 little chocolates onto the fluffy pillows.This little mic touches just always makes you smile and know that you are very well taken care off very much.

Service: 10/10

Overall: I truly enjoyed this hotel very much and would definitely be back to stay here. Thou traveling to the main city is far but its also convenient as the MTR is just below the POPCORN MALL TKO Station. Club floor definately for sure. I'll be back again Crowne plaza HK Kowloon East =).

Thank you the Mr. Carlos/Ms. Josephine and the team for everything and this wonderful experience.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jonheng87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Indeed a bit off-track from central HK but in easy reach as well from the airport on Lantau Island by means of unbeatable direct Citybus-Line E 22 A ( some 75 mins for just 24 HK$) with its bus-stop in walking distance to the ground floor reception area of the CP as to the heart of HK-Island by fast and cheap MTR (Subway/Underground) with a station integrated in the building complex which is being shared with a Holiday Inn. The MTR station again a few steps away from the hotel's Lobby plus some 20 mins for the journey to HK-Island. This combined with the high standard of the hotel, its efficient staff, nice rooms, comfortable beds and inter alia a tasty breakfast, the breathtaking view from the Italian restaurant on the 47th floor plus the integrated shopping mall definitely make-up for staying in one of HKs suburbs.
And as regards HK now in Chinese 'hands', English is still largely being spoken, thus, communication is easy, a big surprise for my friend from northern China.

Room Tip: As usual, the rooms located in the more expensive upper floors are the rooms to be preferred.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 721 in Hong Kong
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#70 of 721 in Hong Kong
432 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 721 in Hong Kong
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Address: Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $116 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the contemporary Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. The spectacular Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East is an international hotel located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn Shopping Mall, providing an easy starting point to travel freely around the city. The hotel is just 20 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC). If in a leisurely mood, visit Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch overlooking the beautiful South China Sea. All 359 guest rooms offers excellent city views, dining choices range from the all day dining buffet restaurant to Cantonese dining and a roof-top Italian restaurant. Hi-tech connectivity makes it easy to stay in touch with business associates, friends and family. Fitness center and a soothing spa featuring seven private treatment rooms will make you feel rejuvenated and restored. Enjoy a 25-meter outdoor swimming pool (closed during winter). Enjoy seamless service in one of Hong Kong’s largest, well equipped Grand Ballroom; it can accommodate 1000 guests with an energy that inspires success and is the ideal place for weddings. Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing