We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern hotel with good space and good amenties”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Ranked #45 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 12, 2014

the location was really inconvenient if one is taking the MTR. very far from where the city activities are. That said, it is indeed a really nice hotel with great service staff (even the porters outside were outstanding). Good space to move around, one does not feel cramp at all. Nice comfy bed and a good choice if one is back in HKG to meet up with a couple of friends, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Checked in on 03/01/2014 and checked out on 08/01/2014...........had asked for a late check out which I got...........booked directly through the hotel website and the experience was a pleasure all through.Only issue was that I think we took the wrong ferry from Macau to Hongkong so the distance was too much from the ferry terminal to the hotel,Check in was smooth.......nice rooms with all you expect from Crowne Plaza........lovely bathroom.Only major issue is being such a big brand a shuttle service is expected from them from the airport at least....and if guests have booked in advance then they should check were to pick them up from .....airport or ferry terminal.....that will be an excellent service......MTR station is right beside the hotel in the popcorn mall next door.Check in was smooth and free internet for members was an added benefit & a pleasure to use.Lack of a bathroom scale and a heated swimming pool was missing else all was perfect..........no powder proivded in the toiletery.....services was very good...location is not that great as it is not near to any of the main attractions of HKG........but worth the price all the same since MTR is very effiicient and fast there.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which also had a good view on the 28th floor.......non smoking
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is modern, clean, well-staffed and well-run. At least as good as any comparably priced hotel I've had the opportunity to visit. Bell hops and housecleaning personnel were outstanding. Those at the front desk and concierge desk were knowledgeable and helpful. All in all the hotel is just what one would hope for but rarely finds.

It was perfectly situated for my purposes but is not in the "center of town". For most purposes if I were you I would not be deterred by that fact. Hong Kong is vast and everyone uses public transportation. In this respect, the Crowne Plaza is very well situated: it is right next to Tseung Kwan O station (on the MTR line of the same name) as well as the bus interchange. The MTR ie especially easy to use and getting to Central, for example, is really child's play, much easier than navigating the New York system, for example. There are also umpteen taxis if needed.

All in all, this is a great place and a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defaultdefault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for about 5 days and 4 nights. This hotel is fully equipped with everything you need. The bed is really comfortable and the pillows are awesome. We had the room with the kind-sized bed and with the swimming pool view.

The staff are very friendly and very efficient. They are very customer oriented. In one of the days, the housekeeper accidentally threw away a bag of our dirty socks while we were out. When we informed the hotel, they compensated us by waiving all additional charges included a breakfast. We appreciate the staff's speedy response.

The hotel is strategically located with 2 shopping malls within walking distance and also with the MTR station at the same location. We had no trouble going around Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Choose the pool view and king size bed if you are travelling as a couple.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked The Crowne Plaza through Hotels.com because of its affordable rates for us who would be travelling to Hong Kong with three kids. Two connecting rooms were arranged in 10 minutes by the staff of hotels.com and we thought everything was waaay to good to be true. When we arrived at the hotel, we noticed that it was a bit out of town, but as it had its "own" subway station it wouldn't be a problem. Besides the subway station, to the delight of our teen daughter, there was also a huge shopping mall connected to the hotel. The rooms were spacious and fresh, and according to our boys (8 & 10), Vincent Tong was the best "hotel person" in the world (the hotel's super friendly concierge who got the kids hearts right away by being attentions and patient with all their questions about the subway and how to get to our attractions!). The only thing that was expensive was breakfast, but we soon realised it to be common in HK that breakfast is not included and it costs about 200-300 HK dollars. The shopping mall had more than three bakeries and everyday we could buy lots of delicious bread and coffee for the whole family for about 100 HK dollars. If you stay at the Crowne, I really recommend you to try these bakeries! There was also a 24 hour convenience store just three blocks from the hotel, which saved our jetlag food-craves in the middle of the night!
As there were not too many non-Asians staying there, I guess you should book it before the western world finds out about this jewel and raise the prices! For our family, this was a 5 star stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've generally stayed at the City Garden Hotel when visiting Hong Kong but were very pleased we tried the Crowne Plaza instead.

The hotel is characterised by large rooms, much larger than you generally find in HK at this price level. The bed was fine, there was a sofa which allowed both of us to watch TV comfortably, and the lighting was sufficient for reading or working. The desk/work area was a reasonable size and I found the chair comfortable once I had worked out how to adjust the height (by a switch rather than a lever). There were few drawers, mainly cupboards.

The bathroom had a bath, separate toilet and separate shower, the latter having both a ceiling "rainshower" plus the traditional, directional type. My wife liked the adjustable make-up/shaving mirror, the rainshower, and the full-length mirrors in the room, though she found the sliding door to the bathroom a little heavy and would have preferred a wardrobe with doors rather than the open type.

In terms of location, the hotel is not central, as other contributors have pointed out, but we did not find this a problem. The hotel is just outside a shopping mall which contains the entrance to the MTR (Hong Kong's excellent underground train service), and it felt very safe returning to the hotel late at night. The shopping mall also contains several restaurants, cafes and a small, local food court.

We found the service to be fine, both from Reception and the Concierge. We didn't try the restaurant as we ate out.

One tip - do get the bell boy to show you the room when you first arrive as it does have its design quirks. For example, the safe is in a bedside table, the switch for the bedside light is on the underside of the fitting (easily missed), there is a bathroom curtain which can be lowered by a switch just inside the bathroom, and the kettle is in an easily missed cupboard. You would find everything eventually but being shown does help.

Overall, this was a very good hotel for the money and we shall return to it when we next visit Hong Kong.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Frequent-traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

THE HOTEL

This hotel is better than the Crown Plaza at Causeway Bay for a few reasons. One the price is considerably lower. Two, the hotel is newer and therefore the amenities are very nice.The hotel is also located in a non-commercial area so the excessive crowds which some dislike are not here.

THE LOCATION

Some have said that the hotel is too far. The question is: too far from where? If you are talking shopping, with very little time left in your trip. The hotel is atop a shopping mall called Popcorn, which is very modern and has many good brand names. The mall is also linked to three other malls which are less swanky but will meet the practical needs of most people. Fast food?--absolutely, all over. You have whatever you want. Now if too far means, too far from Hong Kong island, think of this: it's a 25-minute subway ride to Causeway Bay, one of the busiest shopping and business districts in Hong Kong. Not so far at all, with the super efficient, albeit crowded, subway. There is a subway station in the hotel's shopping mall.

The Greenness

One thing I like about this hotel is that it's surrounded by greenery with a park just across the street. It's not the typical Hong Kong hotel where you are squeezed for space and concrete. In the morning, many people do their Tai Chi exercises in the nearby park.

Safety

Hong Kong is a safe place, and Crowne Plaza East Kowloon is even safer, partly because it's in a residential and school district. There must be at least 6 schools within walking distance of the hotel.

See How Hong Kong People Live

Because this is a school and residential district, you have the opportunity of seeing how Hong Kong people really live, by doing a walking around the hotel. It's a lot more relaxed than what you see down-town. And if you like to see young people learning in schools, the opportunities are nearby. There are also "wet" markets near the hotel for those who wish to see live fishes being sold. I do recommend a visit for the experience.

Room Tip: If you want very good quality at a reasonable price, this is the hotel for you. It's better than...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinbeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 721 in Hong Kong
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#67 of 721 in Hong Kong
434 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 721 in Hong Kong
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Address: Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $117 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the contemporary Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. The spectacular Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East is an international hotel located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn Shopping Mall, providing an easy starting point to travel freely around the city. The hotel is just 20 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC). If in a leisurely mood, visit Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch overlooking the beautiful South China Sea. All 359 guest rooms offers excellent city views, dining choices range from the all day dining buffet restaurant to Cantonese dining and a roof-top Italian restaurant. Hi-tech connectivity makes it easy to stay in touch with business associates, friends and family. Fitness center and a soothing spa featuring seven private treatment rooms will make you feel rejuvenated and restored. Enjoy a 25-meter outdoor swimming pool (closed during winter). Enjoy seamless service in one of Hong Kong’s largest, well equipped Grand Ballroom; it can accommodate 1000 guests with an energy that inspires success and is the ideal place for weddings. Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing