We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful stay but a bit out-of-the-way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #84 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wondeful stay but a bit out-of-the-way”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just returned after spending 8 nights here. The hotel was chosen by the university where my husband was visiting, so I did not compare rates, debate locations, etc.

We were very pleased with the hotel itself. The breakfast that was included with the room has significantly changed from the one described in previous reviews. Now, there is a buffet with many options and the possibility of having a HUGE breakfast. There was always congee, some type of eggs, ham/sausage, dumplings, fried noodles and/or rice, baked beans, cooked and raw vegetables, fresh fruit, toast, cold cereal, juice, teas and coffee. We could eat as much as we wanted.
The room was a good size and well-arranged. Our only complaint is that there were no shelves or drawers for unpacking. We truly had to live out of a suitcase for 8 days. There is enough room (under the bedside table or lengthy surfaces for sitting) to put something. We were pleased to find an electric kettle with a selection of teas and coffees, free bottled water, and a safe in the room. The shower was enormous. We knew that there would not be shampoo. There was a hair dryer.
The bedside lighting was superb. Lights on both sides with controls for the overhead as well.

The reception staff was always friendly and helpful, indeed pro-active. When we checked in, the woman asked me whether I wanted an iron and ironing board sent up to the room. I suspect that this is something they noted from an e-mail I had sent asking about hair dryer and iron. I don't think this is asked of all guests.

We laughed about going to Hong Kong to stay at a mall, but in the end the joke was on us because the mall came in really helpful. You could get money from an ATM by just going down in the elevator. There were many options for dinner and snacks. If you take the hotel elevator to the first floor and enter the mall, there is a Starbucks to your left, which many of our friends seemed to find indispensable. I liked the access to supermarkets for snacks and for souvenirs (teas, spices, candies, dried fruit, etc.) There is one supermarket on the lower level of the Pop Corn Mall (the mall with direct elevator access from the hotel) and two in the adjacent Tseung Kwan Plaza (no need to go outside....it's connected).

I don't know whether I would have chosen to stay in this part of Kowloon if I were coming just for tourism, especially if I were on a tight time schedule. It does take 30-40 minutes on the MTR to get to most sights. However, the transit is about the most efficient I have ever seen. Connections are typically just across the platform. We never had to wait more than 3 minutes for a train. And with the Octopus Card, you just scan and go. No need to buy tickets each time. We bought ours at the airport and "cashed it in" at the Tseung Kwan O station the morning before we left (in a taxi). The senior citizen rate means each trip is less than 30 cents. And the Star Ferry is free!
The station is right in the mall, a minute or two from your room, so it is really very convenient.

Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel if its location meets your needs. The room was great, the mall and easy subway access huge benefits, and the free internet and breakfast made the rate really quite attractive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redtwizzler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    287
    87
    14
    9
See reviews for
136
162
73
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here last month for 3 nights and were happy with it. We were given a room on one of top floors and had a very nice view of the city. The hotel itself was very nice. It was new and clean. It was also connected to a new and big mall. We had no complaints and would not have any second thoughts staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcaduceus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavnagar, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel location is good. As known to everyone hotel doesn't provide any services as its a business hotel on budget side. Rooms are very clean but the only draw back point is the location of the hotel is very far from the city airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VishalHarlalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hong kong hotels are very expansive and some of them presnt themselve as 5 stars and when you get there you find that it's not even 3 stars, only the price is for 5 stars. this hotel is great if you don't want to spend the crazy prices in HK or in the center of Kowloon. the rooms are small, but they clean and comfortable. the hotel is new , so everything there still in good shape. there is a big mall attached to the hotel, and it's better to give up on the free breakfast (reall bad breakfast) and have your coffee and breakfast in one of the mall's resturants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very good Holiday Inn Express; it delivered everything a Holiday Inn Express promises. The stay started off less-than-great, because the sheets were a little dirty. The staff were overly apologetic, and took care of the issue very efficiently. I was actually more impressed with the hotel after this than before. The location, although far from downtown, is ideal; the mall next door (which has a subway station in it) is affordable but very nice, and the location is perfect and very calming compared to the rest of Hong Kong. The free breakfast was quite good. I truly have no complaints.

Room Tip: A high floor will afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiHi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Staying in 15 - 17 November 2013, The location of the hotel is far from the usual Central and Tsim Tsa Tsui but you can go easily by MTR (Tseung Kwan O MTR Station) which is located under the Hotel area linked thru' a big shopping centre (Pop Corn Mall).Not point taking the cab unless necessary. MTR is good enough.

The hotel does not have many facilities. There is no gym or swimming pool which I don't mind as I was out large part of the time. Room is new and very clean. Pretty big comparing Hong Kong standard. Not much food after late but about 300m away can find a few shops selling local desserts, noddles and porridge.

There is a direct bus to airport around the area. So for those on a budget and you dont mind the hassel to travel about 20-30 minutes each time to city central, this can be a good hotel to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrVTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear MrVTan

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that your overall stay experience is satisfied.

The 3-star Holiday Inn Express offers travelers an easy stay experience at good value. The Green Terrace located on 8/F provided an open air environment to relax and a sheltered haven for leisure activities, some basic fitness equipment are placed, you may enjoy on your next visit. If you wish to enjoy a hotel experience with full facilities include 24-hour fitness center and 25-meter swimming pool, you may consider to stay with the adjacent 5-star Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I booked via Agoda and was staying there 14 - 16 November 2013, I was really happy and satisfied. Although the location is not in the main area like Wan Chai, Causeway Bay or Tsim sha Tsui etc, but you can go easily by MTR which is located under the Hotel area. The Hotel it self is attached to the Pop Corn Mall above the Tseung Kwan O MTR Station. Room is perfect, very clean. Staff are attentive and quite friendly. The only downside for me is you can not find local food after 10 PM (or maybe I just did not know the place), however there is a convenient store near the hotel,2 mins walk. This hotel is better than HIE in Causeway Bay in terms of the rooms and price.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#66 of 718 in Hong Kong
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing