We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will certainly return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #83 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will certainly return”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Whenever one books a hotel in HKG, the cardinal rule is to ensure that's its close to the MTR. I'm a Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay regular, so was eager to check out their new Kowloon East property. So glad I did. Though the Tseun Kwan O location is little far from the 'action', easy access to the MTR in the basement, through Popcorn Shopping Mall on the 1st floor, leaves no room for complaint. It's just 20 mins to anywhere you wish - that's not asking for much.
The staff are extremely helpful (I misplaced all the breakfast coupons and they were kind enough to issue me a whole new set). The room is clean, air conditioning perfect, and the toilets spacious by HKG standards. The free breakfast boasts of 4 set choices - I availed of it just 2 days - but was thoroughly satisfied with the servings.
The free wi-fi was the deal clincher. Good clean signal 24/7. No username/password required.
My only concern was easy access to the elevator. No key card verification is required. Anyone can take the elevator from the 1st floor (mall entrance). It could be a security hazard.
After 6 nights spent here, I'm off home tomorrow. Will certainly return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SumithRamachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    279
    85
    14
    9
See reviews for
132
159
70
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daughter and I were traveling in China and Hong Kong staying in Hostels. Had a great experience except with a hostel in downtown HK. So at the last minute we called this Holiday Inn anad they could not have been nicer. The staff, the room and the location were just perfect and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-South-Carolinans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
356 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for tourists who wants budget hotel but also considers true value.

We came from Macau, and how we got here is easy as a breeze. We took the MTR (from SHEUNG WAN station, which costs us HK$ 12.50 going to Holiday Inn) and got off the NORTH POINT station then took the MTR going to TSEUNG KWAN O station. From the Tseung kwan O exit, there are directions that will lead you directly to the hotel/reception. In the elevator, I noticed that the Hotel actually has exit directly to the Popcorn Mall. Perfect! It means that MTR is just an escalator away from this Hotel. Amazing!

The room is not bad, spacious, with cabinets, at par comfy bed and soft pillows, has window with amazing view and the bath room is quite comfortable.Not the typical hongkong budget hotel. And what is more surprising is: the hotel is very affordable! We got the 2nights promo which we booked directly from the hotel. So I suggest you check it out first before booking it from any third party booking sites.

If you are a tourist, you can get the Tourist day pass which costs at HK$ 55 for unlimited day pass. When we went to Hong kong Disneyland, from the Mall/hotel (Tseung kwan O station) it costs us HK$ 22.50 one way fare. Not bad. Going to Tsim Tsa tsui is just HK$ 9 (avenue of the stars/clock tower).

I remember the last year, we stayed at a budget hotel around Kowloon and it costs us around HK$ 1400/day but the room was horrible. the bed was for like small people. no cabinets, tiny bathroom and room so we barely can move around. Unlike this hotel, very affordable but they live with their standard and name. Even if we added our MTR expenses, Holiday Inn East is still worth it. I would prefer the comfort and save more(with this hotel). Yes quite far, but I wouldn't mind a difference of 20-30mins MTR travel if I can sleep and take a bath comfortably afterwards.

By the way, The accommodation was also provided free breakfast (you can choose from chinese, western and italian breakfast), We chose western (eggs, beacon, toasted bread w/ butter, coffee and juice) for 2 days and it was consistent. Great staff and service aside from the good food they served.

They also have free Wifi and cute Terrace garden at the 7th or 8th floor, on which fitness equipment are available.

This hotel makes taxi worthless! Amazing!

The only down side is, they don't have bell boy who will assist you with your luggages.

From this day on, Hong kong travel means Holiday Inn express Kowloon East stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be brand new when I first stayed there but there were so many problems with the hotel:

The toilet won't stop flushing if you hit the lid by mistake;
The air conditioning is loud;
You can smell cigarette in a non-smoking room;

Also the hotel was populated by Chinese group tourists that a lot of the extras such as travel adapter and laundry bags - and they can be really noisy and disturbing. I heard door slamming and kids singing and running out loud in the corridor.

The free breakfast is not a buffet - it's a set. It's actually taste very nice - it's good if you are in a hurry.

I don't think I'm willing to pay more than HKD 800 for something like this.

Room Tip: Check your room before settling in. If you can't tolerate cigarette smell, get a room on 23rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear CPHBear

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us.

Regarding the non-stop flushing and the noise generated from the air conditioning, we have already rectified the problems with our technicians. We also reminded our housekeeping staff to pay attention the smell of cigarette in non-smoking rooms when servicing the rooms.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is great if you have time to spend on the metro and you are not in the rush. The rooms are clean and big, the service is fine the price is good for HK. But you must spend min half an hour to get into town. Around the hotel there is not mutch to do. The "seaview" is basically means when you look out from your window you can see the sea in between two residental tower so dont go there for the view either. The breakfast is a disgrace. All together I can only recommend this hotel for people who go to HK often, need a clean room to sleep in and thats all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsofiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Zsofiaw

Thank you for your valuable time on sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our rooms, service and pricing.

Our hotel is located atop MTR Tseung Kwan O station, we provide an easy starting point to travel freely around the city, only takes 20 minutes to reach Causeway Bay. There are 3 shopping malls nearby the hotel, also only a 20-minute drive to Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch, dinner or boat cruise, and many more surrounding areas are worth to visit.

Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the breakfast experience you encountered. We understand that it was not up to your expectation. The set breakfast is to offer travelers an uncomplicated breakfast experience at good value. Please rest assured that we are reviewing the breakfast with the restaurant management and currently working on improving our breakfast experience.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Kowloon East came up when I was confused selecting Hotel for my visit to HK this early April. Read about other comments saying about small room, but when I was arrived there, the room is considering spacious in my opinion compare to other Hong Kong Hotels at the same price. There are soft and firm pillow in bed. Clean and almost no smell of cigarette in room, even though my room is on smoking floor due to no more non-smoking room available when I was there. Bathroom is clean and fresh with complete amenities, and if it didn't you could ask Hotel staff to deliver any incomplete item to your room (there was no mineral water on my 2nd day and they delivered those in 5 minutes without much difficulty). The Receptionists are also helpful and efficient. Those are what made me happy with my choice to stay in this Hotel. There are also Lift with direct access to Pop Corn Mall below and MTR station is within walking distance from the Mall. The location is also nice, if you don't like the frenetic of HK cities, and wish for good night sleep, this place is just perfect for you. Breakfast come with 4 choices of set menu: Western, Chinese, Healthy and Vegetarian Menu. It would be a bit boring for you who stay more than 4 nights, hope they can improve on that...Overall my stay was wonderful, would plan to stay here again when I visit Hong Kong.

Room Tip: ask for higher level of rooms if you want better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nency P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice room with good bed and clean but small but effective bathroom. Breakfast is a bit average but love the free wi-fi and good access to MTR but this hotel is along way from just about everything - but nice price , nice room , nice staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicTRIPvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,158 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing