We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #83 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Recently opened, so everything looks new. Views out of the hotel on the sea side are pretty good. Rooms are larger than the usual Hong Kong hotel rooms, even the other HI Express. Breakfast is usual HI Express type, but here there is no buffet. There are breakfast sets and you are handed a tray with a plate of what you asked for, juice and tea/coffee.

Atop MTR Station - Popcorn Mall which makes it convenient to walk through with your luggage, but you need to change trains (get out of one and walk in to another) at North Point and then at Central/Hong Kong Station for the Airport Express. Has Bus Station next door and the bus ride to airport is about 45 minutes after every 30 minutes or so. Thus, connectivity is pretty good even though the hotel is about 30 minutes subway journey to Central. Night buses at a lower frequency can get you back to the hotel if stalled in the city for some reason.

Given that there isn't a big difference in room cost with HIE Soho it might not make sense to stay here wasting time traveling in to the city at work on a normal Hong Kong day. On special event days in Hong Kong, the other HIE at Soho becomes a lot more expensive and it would make sense to stay here if the difference goes beyond HKD 300 and upwards.

Crown Plaza is next door, Popcorn mall is connected with 3 other malls and normally all the usual brands for shopping are available and so are Jusco, Park 'b' Shop, etc. Food and eats and many restaurants in these malls including bakery and convenience stores.

All and all nice for a business stay, not sure if it is going to be great for families wanting to go around Hong Kong with a scanner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourbador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    266
    82
    13
    9
See reviews for
123
153
64
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you have been to Hong Kong a trillion times and want to just enjoy the local way of life with easy access to transport, this would be a good choice.

Location: Atop Tseung Kwan O MTR, which is linked to POPCORN shopping mall which is linked to 2-3 other malls!! Yes, so you can conveniently eat, shop and chill just in this area. Staying in Holiday Inn gave us some tourist discounts at POPCORN including 50% off movie tickets on selected sessions which was pretty cool. It took about 20-30mins to get to Causeway Bay. Our taxi fare from the airport was about 330HKD.

Supermarkets like Park n Shop and Wellcome are available at the connecting malls to popcorn.

Rooms: Booked a standard twin bed room, located at level 23. Room size was decent.
You get a decent view of the surrounding estates. The toilet has a very unique door, which either hinges to close the whole toilet or swing the other way to close the shower area - so basically you got to shower carefully or you risk wetting the whole toilet.

The wifi was very good and always working!

The bed was comfy but the pillow - hard or soft felt the same too me. Very very soft. I had to stack like 2-3 of them. I think the pillows were the only problems I had. Room door was very heavy too, which leads to door slamming and more effort when opening and closing!

Service and Staff: Staff was friendly and attentive, nothing to shout about but nothing to complain about either. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and always greeted us when we say her.

Facilities: A lovely green terrrace at level 8 with some rowing machines and bicycles and lovely patio furniture for you to read and relax! For breakfast, you have to choose from a selection of ABCD. Its decent but don't expect much, just choose the fruit set and have some juice before you fill your tummy with delicious HK food outside.

Eat: Popcorn has my fave HK sushi, Itacho sushi (They have discounts at certain times of the days like 50% as with the other restaurants ), Arome bakery makes nice rolls and I am a big fan of their mango cake. Walk towards the connecting malls and you have Xu Liu Shan, Fei Xia Shanghainese noodles, Victoria Harbour and Hung Xing Seafood for your daily Dim Sum. You will not get hungry here!

Room Tip: - Ask for a high level floor, away from tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vivacircus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Typical HI Express besides the stingeness of the breakfast. You fill in a card and you are served a tray of what you ordered. Small protions and no refills. Very disappointing. Also will not allow child to sleep free in the room. Have to pay for opening up the spfa bed.Other then that nice new hotel about 40 min by metro to downtown Kowloon. Friendly staff .I would day ok for business travellers but not family holidays!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haroonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

When arriving at the Ferry Terminal from Macau, the reaction of the taxi driver when I showed the address of the hotel "Oh, that's far away". Great.. :-)

Arriving at the hotel, very friendly front office staff. I don't really expect anything else in Asia. The hotel was just recently opened and it looks very trendy in the lobby. We had a room on the 22nd floor with a partial view of the bay. The room was basic, queen bed, small desk and free WiFi. The bathroom was also basic, small sink with not that much room but the shower was surprisingly big. It did have a strange door that serves as shower door or as bathroom door.

The stay also included breakfast. Of the 5 nights we only went once to the restaurant for breakfast. Oh man is it bad. And that to think that the hotel also hosts a Michelin rated restaurant. The service is not up to par and the food is really bad. On the plus side, the hotel is connected to Popcorn Mall which has some lovely bakeries where you can pick up some nice breakfast.

There is a MTR station underneath the Popcorn Mall (also owned by MTR). The main tourist attractions are about 20 - 25minutes from the hotel by MTR. A taxi from the Ferry Terminal to the hotel costs around HK$170 (tolls and two luggages). Taxis are also available from the hotel, the frontdesk will assist you with this. Ask for a businesscard from the hotel, so you have the address in cantonese if needed.

Would I return to the hotel? Probably not due to it's location. We stayed here during NYE, this hotel offered the best deal for that period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mixty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

From Holiday Inn GZ, i go to HK to finish another meeting. I choose Holiday Inn Express at Kowloon East, a bit far from downtown but near MTR Station, so closed with Crowne Plaza and Popcorn Mall.
My room at 25th floor and another perfect view from my room (not good at Intercontinental View at Tsing Sha Shui). i really enjoy my slept at holiday inn express, so perfect and recharge my body back, even i only slept about 5-6 hours a day.
Breakfast is not too good, due they give u a pack of menu. Some of the food are overcooked and not fresh. Better you booked a room with no breakfast and you can go around to find a perfect food around the hotel. From Holiday Inn it's connected to Pop Corn Plaza at the first floor.
Enjoy your stay at HK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorDragono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olongapo City, Olongapo, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

January 12, 2013



The Management
Holiday Inn Express,
Kawloon, Hong Kong
Tel.# 800 965 888

Thru: Ms. Cristine (Front Desk) & Customer Service

Dear Sir/ Madame:

A pleasant day!

I am Abigail G. Legaspi, 34yo, Media Liaison & Administrative Assistant of Olongapo City Public Affairs Office (PAO), Philippines.

I have been your hotel guest together with my dad Joseph Gracia and my two (2) daughters for an overnight stay under SL travel and tours last January 8-9, 2013 @ Room 2532.

I decided to email due to the following reasons: First, to commend your hotel, we had enjoyed your service, amenities and we are really looking forward of staying there again once we get back for another holiday vacation; and

Second, due to rush c/out I unfortunately forgot my Nikon digicam “charger and battery” at your hotel. I’ve asked our travel agent Ms. Rebecca to pick it up, but the hotel staff didn’t release it without my authorization.

Your cheerful and accommodating front desk staff Ms. Cristine patiently entertain me during a phone call conversation when I was at Hong kong Airport to inquire that if I didn’t had the chance to drop by, what are the possible ways that I can have it back and I was relieved when she told me that I can just send an email and you can send it back to me. That time, she was not yet sure of the rate that the courier will charge.

Sir/Madame, I urgently need to have it back because I can’t afford to buy another set and I hope you can mail it to my work address indicated below; I also hope you can find a courier that has a cheaper charge.

Ms. Abigail G. Legaspi
2nd floor, Room 203,
City Hall Complex Building,
Olongapo City, Philippines 2200

Hoping for your kind hearted consideration.
Advance Happy New Year to all the hotel staff.


Respectfully yours,
ABIGAIL G. LEGASPI

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alluringabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear alluringabby,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry that left an item at our property. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kowloon, Hongkong.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Clean, tidy and modern. Room is not very spacious but adequate yet. Emphasizing "Environment friendly" concept thus amenities are all back to the basic, no slipper, shaver, comb, laundry bag and using all-in-one shampoo/bath gel/hand soap dispenser. The air-conditioner control in room is fake, no matter what temperature you adjusted to, it drops back to 21 and even 19.5 in the morning, the explanation from hotel is the temperature is centrally controlled.... The quilt is not think enough to keep me warm the whole night in this cold winter. The towel rack / hanger should not be placed above the stool as you got to go around the glass shower door to take it from a high place after shower.

Staffs are friendly and helpful. especially ladies serving breakfast and the housekeepers were nice and with a great smile all the time. The reception is busy most of the time, 4 staffs working there together at the most, they have to handle in house calls, luggage deposit and claim, inquiries, check-in and cashier tasks. The worst thing is only 1 senior staff supervising the other 3 green staffs, each guest takes at least 20 minutes for check-in and people just keep waiting.

Hotel restaurant uses sugar and toothpicks of "Royal Garden Hotel" that owned by the same company in HK, not really appropriate I think.

Direction from Exit C and the mall is not clear, possibly takes you up and down before you reach the lobby. My advise is take the escalator nearby up 1 floor, keep forward until you see Giordano, turn inside and the lift lobby is right next to the Crystal Jade Restaurant, reception is on the ground level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#67 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#62 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#65 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing