We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in the clouds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #83 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Life in the clouds!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

HIX East Kowloon has been open one month and there are a few kinks to work on but it's great. Priority member so on a high floor with an interesting view of reclaiming land, giant condo buildings and a small bay. Night is magnificent with lights on 50 stories of adjacent buildings and across the bay. Rooms are compact in the new HIX China model but adequate. Internet free as always and no issues. About 20 minutes with one transfer to Central on the subway located below the giant mall below the hotel! Breakfast is one of 4 fixed trays and no changes. Adequate but not over abundant nor interesting. Lots of Chinese tour buses so the model fits but if this is not your culture or lifestyle make sure you are not on their sleeping floors. Shoppers paradise and some very good restaurants in the Mall. Once a month young entrepreneurs sell their goods in the Mall and its fun to talk, watch and maybe buy. Laundry not in place so they took mine outside and the refrigerators are not yet in the suites. Lovely outside veranda to hang in good weather with net swings, couches and a fresh breeze.

Room Tip: High is high if you don't like heights but its quiet. See above for other comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    287
    87
    14
    9
See reviews for
136
162
72
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If there is no need to be in the traditional tourist areas of Hong Kong and is able to use the transit system, the newly opened Holiday Inn Express in Tseung Kwan (East Kowloon) is a good alternative.

Rooms are more or less the same standard units as seen in the newly opened HI Express in Soho (HK Island). The (plastic?) doors of the shower leaked both here and in the Soho building.

Breakfast is included in the rates, and accordingly the breakfast restaurant (2nd fl) is clogged at peak times. There is no self service, luckily. In staff challenged European HI Express hotels a customer may lose his table seat while going to get additional items, if travelling solo. This risk does not exist, but waiting times were long. On my third day, I noticed individual customers were picked out of line and given preference, triggering fairly visible protests from Chinese tourist groups lining up as well.

To and from the HK international airport, bus line E22 gives direct transportation - and at a lower rate than a combination with the Airport Express Train and MTR would.

The hotel (and the neighbouring Crowne Plaza) are located directly above the Tseung Kwan O station and bus terminal. The airport line E22 does not call in the bus station though and has to be boarded at a street stop (and closes at 21.30).

I stayed during the same week both in the HI Express and in the Crowne Plaza. Conditions in the CP are more pleasurable, of course, but the difference is not that great - if you do not need room service and do not mind encountering other travellers. I am planning to stay in this hotel again next week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maitland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Being a new hotel which just opened, it offered a special price. It also stated that it's just one minute walk from Tseung Kwan O MRT Station thus taking this into consideration, we decided to book Holiday Inn Express Kowloon East. Silly us for not doing our homework. Since it says Kowloon East, we assumed that the hotel is in Kowloon. It was not a good start being lost in Kowloon. But once you get the hang of it, reaching the hotel by MRT is very easy since it is located practically on top of the MRT Station. It is also part of the mall thus finding something to eat is not a problem since inside Popcorn mall and the other older mall next door, there are plenty of restaurants and fast food chains. The room is spacious and clean. One thing we found disappointing is that it does not have a mini fridge and when asked, they said the hotel does not plan to have a mini fridge installed. Also, housekeeping was a bit slow making up the room. We had been out all day and when we returned at around 2 in the afternoon, we found that our room had not been made up yet. Although when we called front desk, they were quick to respond to our request for housekeeping to make up our room immediately. The complimentary wifi is fast. The complimentary breakfast was just average and since it stated that it only offers set menu, we didn't expect much. Overall, it was a great stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. We hope that perhaps the hotel chain would consider installing a mini fridge in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this hotel when planning on visiting friends living in Clearwater Bay. This and the sister property were new additions to the Hong Kong hotel market and fortunately very close to the Clearwater Bay area. Having stayed in many IHG hotels I quickly decided to book at this hotel. As it got closer to my trip I realized that it was actually just opening up when I was arriving. Having been through many new hotel openings I mentally prepared myself for a potential challenges. The challenges did come. In many ways and in many ways that I just didn't find acceptable.
Starting with the physical hotel and location. This is a new property and it is obvious it is a developing area with lots of new construction nearby including a new park across the street. The Holiday Inn Express, its sister property and a serviced apartments all share the same circular entrance. Being so new taxis were difficult to come by, although the full service property had bellman to assist, when staying cheap you understandably forgo those luxuries. The hotels are attached to a new “Popcorn Mall” that really is the name. This mall has many nice shops, a Starbucks and is attached to three other malls, all of which are connected to an MTR station practically at the door step of the hotels. The location is very convenient in many ways, easy MTR access, multiple malls, shops and supermarkets and great location for visiting people in the far eastern part of Hong Kong. There are many thoughtful touches in the design of the hotel, and some poor choices that could be better communicated. They have cleverly built a meeting room into the lobby which could be useful to some. They do have some shared computers available in the lobby as well, although you do have to stand at them, which I guess will limit people’s usage. The WiFi worked well throughout the property and was fairly quick. One of the poor design features was the lift, which has a feature built into it that will disable all of the buttons if more than eight floors are pushed. There is no signage explaining this in any language, and this makes for a very frustrating and confusing ride in a full lift. I dealt with this and only know of the “Feature” after having it explained to me by a manager. There was also the requirement to touch your room card to a reader to press a floor, a feature that did not consistently seem to be required. Also the reader is only on one side of the lift, so it is challenging to get on, touch your card and press your floor all while the lift is filling with mobs of people from one tour bus and then have all the buttons unexplainably turn off. Very frustrating.
The rooms are nice, new and clean. Unfortunately they are designed as the new Holiday Inn Express room, which I have come to find in my travels are very poorly designed. This new design uses one door to work as the shower door and the bathroom door. Due to selective shower frosting you cannot have a closed shower door and privacy while showering. Basically the shower shares a large frosted wall with the main room, adequately frosted. And then the bathroom/shower door is also well frosted, but when you close the door to shower, the wall into the bathroom is not frosted and you now have no bathroom door, because it is your shower door. This design is fine for a solo traveller or traveling with your spouse, almost any other combinations simply don’t work. My big frustration is that the room is designed for 2-3 people, a double bed and fold out sofa. Three people does not work with this bathroom, and this is where the local hotel should get some frosting they could put on the unfrosted shower wall, specifically for those rooms that can accommodate more, or at least for some and inform guests of their options. Another part of the Holiday Inn Express design is the lack of soap or shampoo, instead they use a wall mounted dispenser, which while it does work seems very low class and cheap, disappointing really. Also the rooms do not have a refrigerator and there is no option for this. I don’t want/need/expect a stocked minibar, but a nice empty fridge would really be great, even if like many hotels it was available on request from housekeeping. Being located in a very residential area, attached to multiple malls with supermarkets it would be very good to have this option. The room does not come with any adaptors, which is unusual in an international property, although they are readily available if you go downstairs to the front desk, would be nice to already be in the room, but keeping costs down.
The included breakfast may be the most disappointing. Every other Holiday Inn Express or similar style hotel I have ever stayed at has offered a self-service breakfast. Some times this is just a basic continental breakfast and sometimes a more elaborate hot buffet. The key point being that you can eat what you want and fill up for a good start to the day, one of the key points to “Staying Smarter”. This was not the case at this hotel, here you are given a coupon for each guest, each night, which you hand over when being seated. You then are given a small laminated menu card to choose one set meal. My first day I had six choices, on the second day, inexplicably it was just three choices. When the meals are then brought out to you on the cafeteria tray you see that it is a small limited meal. An extra piece of toast is not an option; even a whole potato is not provided just three slices. My grandmother had to argue for a few minutes to get the scrambled eggs changed to a hardboiled egg, which was offered on another set. Aside from the disappointing and limited selection the service is very poor. “Would you like Orange Juice” “No Thank You” then it is brought out. “Would you like Coffee or Tea?” “Coffee” then tea is brought out. The breakfast was very disappointing. I felt as though I was with a local tour group and not staying smarter in a Holiday Inn Express level hotel. As some of the other reviewers have posted it felt like I was a part of the mainland tour groups, not a real guest.
The overall hotel service was also disappointing. The check in process took very long, much longer than it should even for a new opening. The humorous part was when I was asking if my Priority Club Gold number was already on the stay and I was told I could sign up. After pressing the issue and explaining I was already a member the questions wasn’t asked what my level was or welcoming me as a member, the question was “How many years have you been a member?” The Priority Club program has obviously not been taught. We were charged extra for the third adult staying in the room, which I fully understand, to cover additional costs, such as the sumptuous breakfast. However after paying the additional fee we weren’t provided any additional amenities such as towels or water and had to ask for another set of breakfast vouchers. When attempting to get another towel the guest service line just rang endlessly, going downstairs brought a promise of a towel to come, but it wasn’t until finding a housekeeping cart were we able to get another towel ourselves.
Overall I was very disappointed with my stay, and have said I would not be returning or suggesting this to friends. However upon my checkout I did have the opportunity to speak with two of the managers and offer my experiences and suggestions. Some of the issues they have admitted were known challenges that are still being worked on. Based on the physical hotel and the location if they can properly train their staff, add a few signs in the lift and fix the horrendous breakfast experience then this hotel could be a worthy stay. If traveling with the right adventuress patient people I may be willing to try it again. I do hope they can get these issues resolved as there is great potential with the IHG brand behind them and their location.

Room Tip: Rooms are not well designed for mixed groups due to a poorly designed shower/bathroom. Ask if any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Truly a pity. This is one of the nicest hotels within this price range in HK...and it's brand spanking new. They have some of the BEST hospitality staff I have encountered in HK, even when the guests are rude or yelling at them. The major drawback are the hordes of Mainland tourists flocking to this hotel. Not only are they rude, loud and inconsiderate, they've set off the fire alarm several times in the three days I've been here!!! If you're willing to fight to get into the elevators, deal with other guests who refuse to queue for service at the front desk or at the restaurant, and lose precious sleep because of loud, inconsiderate people ... this could be the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice no matter which side you are located. Unfortunately, the people you have to sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunkysaurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Today is the hotel's first day of operation. Check-in was efficient, polite and smooth. The room is cozy, stylish, modern and very comfortable! I was given a room on the 27th floor which offers a nice view and room comes with complimentary wifi. The MTR station is just downstairs of the hotel. The hotel is also connected to the new PopCorn Mall, nice (but not huge) mall with restaurants and bakeries. It's an excellent place to stay if you want a place thats connected to the MTR network but away from the maddening crowd.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JediSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#64 of 718 in Hong Kong
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing