We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for vacation visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #99 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel for vacation visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights here and absolutely loved this hotel. It was convenient to the MTR (subway) and numerous stores (ranging from a 7-11, to a Circle K to local bakery) and restaurants (unfortunately I didn't write down their names). The Airport Express' free shuttle stops about 1/2 block away. The trams are only a few blocks away. Everyone in the hotel was very helpful. We were early risers, so didn't run into the lines at breakfast others mentioned. Breakfast included a number of hot items like scrambled eggs and some meat (usually one of sausage, ham or bacon) unlike US Holiday Inn Express hotels. Sometimes the elevator was slow to arrive, we never had a problem so I didn't reduce the rating because of it. Our room was always clean. The price was quite reasonable for Hong Kong.

So, clean, comfortable, convenient to transportation. We had a great stay and this would be our first choice of hotel for our next trip.

Room Tip: A high room has two advantages. It might have a better view and it also gets the elevator first, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorvairTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    674
    180
    19
    3
See reviews for
226
325
144
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel only opened in the fall of 2013 so is really clean and modern. It's location is very good and the walk from the MTR is very short. Hong Kong hotels are expensive so while more than the usual Holiday Inn Express, it offers good value for the city. Rooms have modern amenities, like auto closing blinds, free wifi, etc. The hotel was built with "green" in mind and a card on the desk offers a self guided tour of their green features. Breakfast is good and included. The restaurant has a nice covered outdoor area which is a nice place to start the day. Lots of other features that are handy: a lounge with vending machines and free computers (Mac and PC, living happily side by side) with printers. Also has a laundry room with coin operated machines and a place to iron. Shuttle is available to and from the Airport Express MTR station. Lots of places to eat in the neighbourhood. Have stayed there twice in past two months and would visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WaynePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Small room, but everything was there and worked perfectly. Very clean and comfortable.

I didnt use Airport Express shuttle. For arrival, I was too late, and for departure as I had tricky luggage, I chose a taxi again. 30HKD.

Front desk people were so helpful, getting my luggage in and out of the lobby.

WIFI fast, free, and always on.

Breakfast, quite crowded, but plenty of choices, although not surprisingly, very Asian targetted. Having said that, most of the people having breakfast were westerners.

Very close to Sheung Wan MTR, and I strolled to Star Ferry in about 20 minutes.

I have already booked my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijante mundial
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express with tiny rooms as per Hong Kong standards and average breakfast. It's close to the subway (Sheung Wan. exit E2), and lot of places around for dinning.

CONS: Noisy outside and inside (slamming doors) and tiny rooms but this is Hong Kong, you have to deal with it.
But what you can't stand is the lack of cleanliness. They don't vacuum!!, when we enter the room we found a ball of hair rolling through the room, more hair in the bathroom, peals of almonds and peaces of paper on the carpet...simply disgusting!!. Please fix it.

PROS: Good location, quick ckeck-in, reasonable price.

I'm not sure if I'd come back, cleanliness is critical.

Room Tip: Get a higher room, above 21 if you can and views to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear MigueAngel,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

We are glad that you cognised our advantages, such as location and the lively surrounding. Whereby, we are hereby to apologize for the issues you had experienced with your room. Please be ensured that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and services to be flawless and strive to the best of our ability. This reason, your comments are duly noted and improvement’s implementation will be taken.

We hope you would return in the future to provide us another opportunity to serve you right and better.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was staying in Holiday Inn Express Soho for few days in April, it was a business trip. Hotel provided free shuttle service to Wan Chai fairs everyday which was very convenient.
It is also located very close to MTR station (few minutes walk) and HK/Macau Ferry Terminal.
Room rate includes breakfast which is served in a Michelin recommended restaurant on 1st floor. There are usually rush hours at breakfast around 8am so you may stand in queue to get a table. The breakfast is simple but tasty, restaurant also offers additional meals for extra fee.
Rooms are small but comfortable. There is a self-service laundry room available, tokens to be bought at reception (30 HKD per 30 minutes).
Staff is always very helpful and make your stay enjoyable.
There are two disadvantages though: the elevators - there are 3 elevators however they are quite slow and as hotel has > 30 floor sometimes you wait several minutes for a lift.
Second - there was high humidity in the room and air-conditioning seemed not to work properly, clothes which were not in the small closet were a bit moist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and the hotel is located in a great location. We were slightly confused during arrival because we were not familiar with the area, but there's nothing google maps can't solve. However, the hotel is actually located nearby the MTR exits and it is within walking distance.

I actually requested for a higher level room overlooking the harbor, but we arrived earlier than expected (way before check-in time). The efficient front desk staff informed me that there are available rooms in the lower level, and I immediately agreed because we were really tired from our overnight flight. Took a quick rest before we headed to the ferry terminal linked to Sheung Wan MTR, and it was really a savior when we got back late from Macau that night.

Location: Walking distance to MTR nearby, lots of food around the hotel though I noticed most of them remained closed during the weekend. Would suggest the Dim Sum restaurant located around the corner, and there are always crowds in the restaurant during lunch/dinner hours. McDonald's is just across the street if you need some midnight snack, there's also 7-11 & other convenience stores, Starbucks and the list goes on.... Definitely a plus for the location!

Room: Clean and modern rooms. Size wise is acceptable since HK hotel rooms are generally not big. Free wifi/internet, and most importantly it was pretty fast. Housekeeper was friendly, and bottled water was replenished daily. Requested for an extra bed because there were 3 of us, and the bed was actually a sofa bed. The sofa bed was terribly thin & hard, and I really had a terrible time during the 4 nights. TV channels provided was rather boring, we really wanted to watch Hong Kong shows(local channels) but there were only old HK movies shown.

Breakfast: Repetitive food offered everyday, and we actually got quite sick of it by the third day. Ended up having breakfast elsewhere. Buffet spread was okay and pretty acceptable though.

Service: Generally OK and acceptable. However, there was a misunderstanding between Agoda and the hotel a couple of days before my stay. Agoda stated that a third pax has already been paid for and an extra bed would be provided. Hotel wise insisted that we did not pay for the extra pax and the extra bed would not be provided. After making international calls to both Agoda and the hotel, it was finally concluded that we actually did pay for it. Was rather upset by the hotel before the trip, but I guess the stay did made me change my impression of the hotel.

Overall I think this hotel is a great place to stay in HK island, and it was really worth the value. Will definitely consider this hotel again should I decide to make another trip back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liwenong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear liwenong,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel on tripadvisor and giving great and fair commentaries of our product.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed quite a number of our services and attributes, such as location, speed of wifi and the cleanliness of the room. Whereas, we are sorry to hear that some of our parts are not up to your expectation. This is definitely what we are working on it, which includes but not limited to training, service culture enhancement and improvement’s implementation. We wish to thank you for your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that we could have the opportunity to demonstrate our improvement to you.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after our stay in Sheraton Macau and a comparison was sure to be drawn. The 1st impression of the area and the hotel room was disappointing. The location is not one of those fancy locations of Hong Kong like Tsim Sha Tsui or Central and the area is visually not appealing. Having said that, the convenience to get to places is excellent. The Sheung wan metro station is a 3 min walk and you can get to the tourist areas like Tsim Sha Tsui is just 3 stops away. The Central station is stop away from where its a 5 min walk to the Peak lower Terminus. And similarly most of the tourist attractions can be visited conveniently by MTR.

There are malls 5 mins walk from the hotel. You can walk around Soho and a 20 min long walk exploring the area will take you to Central which is a complete contrast to Soho area.
The hotel has a lot of eating options around. Subway, 24 hr McDonald's, a pub are just below/around the hotel, 7/11 opp the hotel. a Lebanese take away, pizza hut and an Indian restaurant called Masala... 2 blocks from the hotel.
For all those who like to party all night, there is Lan Kwai Fong just 10 min walk from the hotel.

The breakfast at the hotel is ok. The same everyday and with limited options for vegetarians i.s. fruits, cereals, baked beans, noodles,breads and beverages.
The hotel is clean, has a small reception area, we were on the 21st floor and the view was tall buildings and mountains. When we entered the room, we were disappointed 'cz it was damn small. The bathroom unit is cut out of the room with the translucent bath area. But to think of it I guess that's how business hotels are! The rooms were absolutely clean and well kept though!

The airport express shuttle stop is also opp the hotel's car park. That's another convenient thing. The HongKong- Macau ferry terminal was a 10 min walk from the hotel but a cab doesn't charge too much...just about 22 HKD.

The staff is helpful and guides you around for eating places and areas to explore.
Decent hotel with the biggest plus being the convenience to get to locations both on Hong Kong island and Kowloon island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kushika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Kushika,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho and for taking your valuable time to share a review of your experience.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed quite a number of our services and attributes, such as convenient location, the nearby lively Soho area, our easy access to downtown (e.g. Sheung Wan MTR station, Hong Kong Macau Ferry, free shuttle to Airport Express station, etc…) and helpfulness of our operation departments. Whereas, we are sorry to hear that some of our facilities could not address your expectation, please assure that we have taken note and thank you for your valuable comments. Your comment is vital to us and serves as a catalyst for improvement.

We hope you would return in the future to provide us another opportunity to serve you right and better.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,038 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 716 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,088 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 716 in Hong Kong
227 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing