We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #98 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is near Sheung Wan MTR Station, about 5 mins walk. You could take Airport Express from the airport to Hong Kong Station. The journey is about 20 mins. Take the hotel shuttle (H1) and alight at the first stop. Holiday Inn Soho is just around the corner. However, if you have things to attend to at the New Territories most of the time during your stay, you could consider choosing a hotel in that area as switching trains is time consuming.

The check-in lobby is small. Room is basic but cozy and functional for business traveller. Size is appropriate for one or two persons maximum. The bathroom has frosted door. Toothpaste and toothbrush are provided. They have also the all-in-one kind of shampoo and shower gel. No body lotion though.

Breakfast choice is limited but was enough to feed our appetite. Be prepared to wait for the slow elevators during breakfast hours. We waited for more than ten minutes.
Hotel room is not clean enough. We could find strands of hairs on the bed quilt cover. There was also a leak under the wash basin and at the base of the toilet bowl. Hopefully the hotel housekeeping and their maintenance team will make an effort to improve.

Overall, this hotel is of great value for money and will stay here again in our next stopover in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camomile_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    686
    185
    20
    3
See reviews for
234
330
150
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Especially if you like dining and shopping the hotel's location is very convenient. SOHO, IFC mall but also the ferries are all on walking distance. What is also interesting in this neighborhood is that you still can see the old Hong Kong. Small streets with small business of all kind.
The hotel is rather basic but I guess that is the Holiday Inn Express concept. Simple lobby, simple facilities and small rooms that do offer the most important things you need.
Considering that I found the room rate a little bit on the high side, especially since there was no big event in Hong Kong at the time of my stay. The bathroom was not as clean as I would like. Stained sealant and spaces between the tiles.
The breakfast was rather basic, only the main items. Special items needed extra pay.

Room Tip: If you can get a high floor room with view on Victoria harbour it is worth it. But also the view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear JBONanjing_China,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our location, the nearby lively Soho area and our easy access to downtown (e.g. Sheung Wan MTR station, Hong Kong Macau Ferry, free shuttle to Airport Express station, etc…). Whereby, please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room’s facilities. Please be ensured that we will be working very hard to ensure our facilities and services to be flawless and striving to the best of our ability. Thus, your comments are duly noted and improvement’s implementation will be taken.

We hope you would return in the future to provide us another opportunity to serve you right and better.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and was really impressed both with the location and the room. The rooms were a pretty good size for HK, and really well laid out - everything you needed in small space. The beds were comfortable and the shower was nice and hot with good pressure. We tried for breakfast but everyday it was a madhouse when we went down (granted we were not that early in waking up)....but no problem though, there are some really nice cafe's nearby. We frequented a coffee place that did great eggs by the 7/11, towards the stairs on the left hand side. All in all this is a solid choice for an island stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
422 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is pretty much what you'd expect from a high-rise Holiday Inn Express. The room was quite small but clean, in good condition, and nothing fancy. We were upgraded and got a room with a view of the harbor, which was nice. Hotel has a good location near the antiques district. The included breakfast has few western items. Totally satisfactory and a decent value, given the inflated hotel prices of Hong Kong. Convenient to the metro. Good, speedy internet. Very comfortable bed and bedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed in 33rd floor room with mindblowing view of gigantic buildings and overlooking harbour and sea. The hotel is just 5 min walk from Sheung wang station. Room was spacious given places like Hongkong. Breakfast was awesome too with lots of varieties. The front desk staff were very cheerful and helpful in providing directions to places of interest. I would definitely return to stay here and would recommend to anyone visiting Hongkong.

Room Tip: Choose top floors with view of sea and harbour even if it is costly. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krismani85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed there for six days in a harbour view room on the 37th floor and view was indeed quite impressive. Room was nicely appointed but quite small; same applies to shower/bathroom. Location is central with many attractions in walking distance and close to public transport. Some dining options immediatley surrounding the hotel. Breakfast was reasonable but same every day and on two occasions had to wait 10 min + to get a seat in restaurant. Receptions staff friendly and helpful. However price fairly high but Hong Kong is quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gullivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Definitely love the location just across from Macau ferry terminal, Western Market or Sheung Wan MTR station. Upon check in the staff upgraded me to the higher level room with panoramic Hong Kong view to Tsim Sha Tsui. The room was great and come with all the needs plus the staff is friendly. Can easily explore the surrounding of Hong Kong Central district by walking from the hotel. Will definitely stay with this hotel in near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingtattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,082 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,136 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,669 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 718 in Hong Kong
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing