We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunky Dory In Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #101 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When a chain hotel does so exceedingly well, it accomplishes remarkable: it makes me think twice about only focusing on boutique and family-owned smaller hotels when on the road. That a Holiday Inn Express, natch, would actually inspire forgoing custom details, personal touches and the opportunity to make new friends at the communal dining table is a great feat. And the staff at this hotel, from the front desk to the restaurant for breakfast, can take all the credit for it.

It would get boring for me to list every way that they knocked it out of the park, whether the seamless, efficient and warm check-in to the blink-and-they've-done-it luggage recovery after they'd held it for us on our last day. But that everyone in the hotel makes it a passion point to think two steps ahead of you should not be skimped on. It's like you only had to harbor a thought for a heartbeat before they've gotten it done for you. I was in Hong Kong for an ultra-marathon on Lantau island, which meant I had to leave the hotel by 7.15am on Saturday morning. I popped by the restaurant to see if there was anything I could grab for breakfast, and when I said I was getting stuff to go, immediately I was given a takeaway box and a paper cup (with lid) for a hot beverage. I ended up grabbing just some scrambled eggs (average) and muesli (delicious), but the hot spread of local and Western dishes looked pretty good for a Holiday Inn Express.

Being Hong Kong, and in particular, the Central area of Hong Kong island, the rooms are snug, although not claustrophobic, and some ingenuity in bathroom design made it all work and fit together well, with a corner work table and armchair to boot. The WiFi was super-fast, and each room was decorated with a painting by a disabled artist that captured a scene from the hotel's Sheung Wan district. The building itself is the first hotel building in the world to earn a triple platinum award for its environmental consciousness, complete with blackout drapes that closed at 11pm every night to conserve energy. That, and recycling bins in the lobby, completely won me over.

Finally, the hotel's location cannot be any better. Minutes from hipster central Hollywood Road for great modern dining and minutes the other way from Wellington Road and its decades-old family joints for local noshing, you don't have to go far to experience Hong Kong in all its glory and frenetic thrills. The MTR station is also just minutes away, as are the trams and buses on Des Voeux and Queens Central Road. Even if you were getting drunk in Lan Kwai Fong, you're within stumbling distance. If you can't go very far for food (as I couldn't post-race), La Creperie right next door serves excellent authentic Breton crepes and cider.

Room Tip: A high-level room will give you a nice view of the city and if you're facing north, of the bay a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desireekoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bit of a no-brainer, really, if you're looking for an inexpensive (relatively speaking) hotel room in Hong Kong, to go with a well-known chain that uses a formula that has been honed and fine-tuned worldwide. Many of the complaints about hotels at the inexpensive end of the market (tiny rooms, thin walls, non-smoking rooms smelling of cigarette smoke, worn furniture) simply don't apply here.

You get a spotless, well designed, decent-sized, 18 sq m (6 m x 3 m) room, crisp high thread count all-cotton sheets and a feather & down duvet (not every 5 star has these), a choice of soft or firm pillows, free super-fast WiFi, an adequately sized built-in work area with a proper swiveling office chair, so you can actually work in the room. Lots of small touches too – an adapter in case you forgot that HK uses those odd British mega-plugs, a LAN cable (which you don’t need if your computer has WiFi), the aforementioned soft/firm pillow choice, coffee/tea making facilities, shower gel dispenser, drinking water, the list goes on. This is not a luxury hotel, but it certainly isn’t a no-frills one.

The flat-screen TV has a good selection of channels (though it annoyingly defaults back to Channel 1 showing the same promotional video every time you switch it off). My room was next to the lift, but I never heard any extraneous sounds throughout my stay. The rooms seem very well sound-proofed – application of a corporate standard, I suspect.

Holiday Inn takes over the building’s Thai restaurant to serve breakfast, which gets somewhat crowded at peak hours, and singles may find themselves sitting at a communal table. The basics of cooked Western and Asian breakfasts are catered for buffet-style – nothing fancy, but more than adequate.

All in all, highly recommended, with no downside.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for any view- I did, but only got a medium level one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackem888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You normally don't go far wrong with the Holiday Inn, and this is no exception; in a surprisingly quiet area of Hong Kong that is still only one train station away from Central, or a 10 minute walk if you are so inclined, this hotel is nicely nestled on a street corner. The frontage is relatively unassuming, and the lobby similarly simple (perhaps even a little stark). The rooms are decent sized for Hong Kong, and particularly nice is the free wifi. The shower area did have a bit of an industrial feel to it, but not unpleasantly so, the shower cubicle was large and spacious! Easily accessible to 7-11 (2 minute walk) and a larger Wellcome supermarket (5 minutes and one street away), as well as a lovely dim sum place across the road. In addition there is a good roast place a short walk away. All in all, a good choice if you are looking to stay on Hong Kong Island itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

having stayed in this chain before we knew mostly what to expect,the room itself was a good size and was clean comfortable and functional.the hotel was over 30 storeys high and we thought we might have trouble getting a lift but this didnt prove to be the case.one problem is the size of the breakfast room and sometimes it was difficult to get a table although the staff did their best. a great feature of this hotel is the self service laundry room perfect if you are travelling. if you arrive from the airport by train a free courtesy bus will take you to the hotel and on our trip we were first off.

Room Tip: we stayed on floor 26 and there wasnt much of a view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express Soho delivers. For the money, you get a great location. It's a short walk from the Sheung Wan MTR and a 10 minute walk to Central. The area was light industrial and commercial but is lively and becoming yuppified. Plenty of taxis. Bright, clean aspect to the hotel. Rooms are small but well designed and you don't feel cramped. Desk staff very pleasant. A problem with the room curtain was dealt with quickly. Internet fast and free. Breakfast free but indifferent - pop out to one of the nearby cafes or fast food joints. In a tough town for business travellers on a budget, this is a good deal.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor for quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangkokwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed here one time previously and found it to be comfortable and convenient.

This time, the water from the tap in the bathroom had a distinct unpleasant odour. I didn't trust myself to use it to brush my teeth (there is a sign saying to boil the water for drinking). Instead, I bought bottled water for that both brushing and drinking. They need to rectify this quickly.

Apart from that, the bed is comfortable, the staff competent, breakfast average and conveniently near a Sheung Wan MTR exit (A1).

I'd stay here again as long as they fix the water odour issue!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear SachE,

Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your constructive feedback.

Please be assured that your comments are duly noted and the concerned departments worked diligently to have the said problem fixed and resumed normal service.

We hope you would give us another chance and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

New and very good hotel. Clean, pleasant rooms with a view. Free wifi, fridge, complementary bottles of water. Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was okay, fruit, toast, eggs, Asian food. The hotel is situated in a rather quiet neighbourhood with small shops, restaurants (we loved Katong on Mercer St). Not far from MTR station Sheung Wan. Walk or take a streetcar to the pier where you can take a ferry to Kowloon

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rooster031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,126 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#167 of 721 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#97 of 721 in Hong Kong
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $108 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing