We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #98 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The check in area is very tight but remember this is a Holiday Inn express. Location is fantastic but finding it from Sheung Wan MTR station can be confusing. Fortunately I have a map marked by a previous stay.at Golden mile. I stayed on the 33rd floor with great views. The room was spacious, clean and better than expected. The free breakfast was good and WiFi excellent.. The bed was very comfortable and everything looks new. Great restaurants around the hotel from Coral to a Malaysian restaurant, Sabah. A great Thai restaurant round the corner that serves very good Hainanese Chicken rice. The HI bus stop is very near that takes you to the Hong Kong train for the airport. All in great stay and great value.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    695
    187
    20
    3
See reviews for
237
333
154
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

With such a new hotel, everything is very clean and is in perfect working order. The restaurant is far too small, but since it's well documented by other reviews already, let's not dwell on that.

The bathroom is a bit of a mix-bag though. I found the shower pressure to be somewhat inadequate, and at check-out, I heard someone else complained about the same at the reception. The bathroom door is designed so that it's the same door of the shower screen. In theory, it allows another person to use the toilet/basin while someone is having a shower. However, in practice, the person using the toilet wouldn't have a door (although I guess they don't allow any more than 2 people staying in the hotel), and, when the person finished his/her shower, it might just be possible to swing open the door to find the room mate to be sitting on the toilet staring at him/her naked. Perhaps not the best design, I guess, but with the low water pressure, hardly water splashed out from the shower area so it might be a better idea to leave the door that way.

Apart from the above, I'm actually quite happy with the hotel. The markets are just down the street, the MTR and tram stops are a few mins walk away, and the HK/Macau ferry is also within a walkable distance for those who want to have a day trip out to the former Portuguese colony. There are also a couple of pubs 2 blocks down the street as well, and a few local cafes/restaurants near by so if the (free) breakfast is too crowded, there are plenty of breakfast options available for a small cost. The staff at the reception is also very helpful, and have a good command of English. Although, note that there are no parking areas at all at the hotel, taxis sometimes stop right in the middle of the street to pickup/drop off passengers - in which case, beware of the angry drivers behind in the queue.

Inside the room, the quality is very similar to the sister property in Causeway Bay. Most things are included, such as slippers and toothbrush/toothpaste. There is also a choice of pillows (firm and soft) already on the bed. However, note that the beds are quite hard which suit local tastes better. Both wired and wifi internet are available for free as well.

In summary, it's not perfect, but as a frequent visitor to Hong Kong, it's one of the hotels I would consider in my future visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesom_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Soho is really new and it shows. Everything is sparkling clean, and new. In fact, a few of the issues that we had related to what may have been bad capacity planning on the part of the hotel designers. More on that later.

First, the location of the hotel is very good. It is a little away from the hustle and bustle of Central, which can be an advantage or disadvantage depending upon your outlook. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Queens Rd, Wellington St, and Hollywood Rd; each packed with shops, bars, and restaurants. Around the hotel things are a little more sparse, and most of the restaurants cater to a more local crowd.

The hotel is a quick walk from the Sheung Wan MTR station in the Island Line; take exit A2, make a right out of the exit, and a left at the corner. Walk up Mercer St (it forks a block from the MTR, take the right fork), then turn right on Jervois St, and the Hotel will be just ahead on the right. Alternatively you can walk here from Central in about ten minutes or so, follow the walkway from IFC/Central to Queen St, walk West on Queen st, cross Queen St at Wellington, and make the first left onto Jervois.

The rooms in the hotel are actually quite spacious by Hong Kong standards, the windows are double glazed which makes the room very quiet, and the blackout shades, although intended for energy saving, make it far easier to sleep in during your holiday.

There is a fridge, but it is not stocked; no major issue as convenience stores abound where you can stock up on drinks of all kinds. One minor gripe here, the fridge smelled quite bad, as if it had been turned on, run for a while, then turned off and allowed to get that moldy-fridge smell, which then permeated most of the items we had stored in it.

There is a restaurant on site where breakfast is served in the morning, but as other reviewers have mentioned, the restaurant is far too small for the amount of guests in the hotel, resulting in tables that are near impossible to navigate around, long waits for breakfast, and having to share tables with other guests in order to get a seat in a reasonable amount of time. There is a patio for overflow, but we happened to be there during Christmas week, and the cold was just too much to bear that early in the AM. Others did brave the cold periodically, however not all of them lasted the whole time out there. I imagine that in the summer the situation will be similar. It is worth mentioning that it is a free breakfast, and a good one at that. There are a variety of hot foods, fruits, and cereals; in short, we found it worth the wait for all but one day where we succumbed to the temptation of eggs Benedict at the flying pan (another highly recommended breakfast option to keep in mind).

The last admittedly minor gripe has to do with the housekeeping. During one day of our stay, we requested our room be made up upon leaving the hotel at eleven AM. When we returned at four PM, it still had not been made up, so we requested it be made up at six PM. We left at six for dinner, and returned at nine thirty to find that our room still had not been visited. We called housekeeping again, and headed out for a few drinks. Upon our return around eleven PM they had finally gotten around to making up the room.

None of these gripes constituted a major issue that would preclude us from staying here again, overall we had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Express Soho.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikediliberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and location. Our room was on one of the highest floors which afforded us a decent view out towards Kowloon. Room was spotless and a great use of space meant the room was much bigger than similar properties we'd looked at beforehand.
The staff, especially Tommy, provided a warm welcome and gave us several options on how to get to Happy Valley racecourse.
Conveniently located for the metro and also the Macao ferry. Not a great deal in the way of bars but a short taxi ride to Hollywood road (or you can take the mid level escalators).
It was commonplace for tables to be shared with other guests on rainy days when the outdoor section was closed but it was novel eating noodles for breakfast (there are other options too).

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank StanleyPark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is just perfect for travelers who seek for a nice and relaxing staying and close by everything including the MTR and ferry to Macau. Hotel is new, green, clean, bright, practical, near to all the public transports: ferry, Sheung Wan MTR station and trams. Just about 5 to 10 mins walk up and you found yourself in the Soho district full of cafes, bars and great restaurants.

Staff is very friendly and helpful as well! The hotel is featured as being green with a system that automatically triggers the hall way lights and the room window curtains to close at 11pm in order to save energy consumption. Though the hotel lacks the amenities such as gym and pool. The room size a bit smaller but kept clean by the staff. For someone looking at a no frills stay, highly recommended! On top, breakfast is included that suits the both asian and western taste, however, the menu is the same daily. After a few days, one might want to skip the hotel complimentary breakfast and check out the local cha chaan teng (cafe).

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvick5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Our trip could have been better if we had found Holiday Inn before! The hotel is just perfect for travelers who seek for a nice and relaxing staying and close by everything. Hotel is new, green, clean, bright, practical, near ferry, subway and Soho streets. Staff is very friendly and helpful as well! I got amazed by the fact the hotel being green (there is a system which automatically triggers the window curtains to close at 11pm in order to save energy consumption). Just cool! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafflesia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was vacationing with my family and we enjoyed our stay very much. We rented two rooms
(5 people) for four nights. Bobo in reservation and staff were very helpful. Computers in the 3rd floor business center were helpful. Great Location near Metro.

Room Tip: Upper floor with partial Kowloon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuprioB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,702 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#162 of 718 in Hong Kong
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing