We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean & close to public transportation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #98 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value, clean & close to public transportation”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is just perfect for travelers who seek for a nice and relaxing staying and close by everything including the MTR and ferry to Macau. Hotel is new, green, clean, bright, practical, near to all the public transports: ferry, Sheung Wan MTR station and trams. Just about 5 to 10 mins walk up and you found yourself in the Soho district full of cafes, bars and great restaurants.

Staff is very friendly and helpful as well! The hotel is featured as being green with a system that automatically triggers the hall way lights and the room window curtains to close at 11pm in order to save energy consumption. Though the hotel lacks the amenities such as gym and pool. The room size a bit smaller but kept clean by the staff. For someone looking at a no frills stay, highly recommended! On top, breakfast is included that suits the both asian and western taste, however, the menu is the same daily. After a few days, one might want to skip the hotel complimentary breakfast and check out the local cha chaan teng (cafe).

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvick5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    685
    185
    20
    3
See reviews for
234
330
150
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Our trip could have been better if we had found Holiday Inn before! The hotel is just perfect for travelers who seek for a nice and relaxing staying and close by everything. Hotel is new, green, clean, bright, practical, near ferry, subway and Soho streets. Staff is very friendly and helpful as well! I got amazed by the fact the hotel being green (there is a system which automatically triggers the window curtains to close at 11pm in order to save energy consumption). Just cool! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafflesia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was vacationing with my family and we enjoyed our stay very much. We rented two rooms
(5 people) for four nights. Bobo in reservation and staff were very helpful. Computers in the 3rd floor business center were helpful. Great Location near Metro.

Room Tip: Upper floor with partial Kowloon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuprioB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have just stayed here with 3 friends, whilst on a long weekend shopping/sightseeing. It was an excellent place to stay, enabling us to walk to most of the Soho and Central area. The rooms were spotless. Thoughtful extras included a wall plug for electrical equipment from outside of HK, plus an iPhone/iPod dock/charger, a well-stocked coffee/tea bar, large shower area and good sized room for a neat person!
Two small gripes.
Firstly, the breakfast room is too small for a hotel of this size, and we were either waiting for a long time, forced to eat out on the terrace (fine on the sunny day, not so much fun the following, chilly one) or cramped up inside barely able to get past people's chairs to collect our food.
Secondly, for some unfathomable reason, one of the ladies at reception seemed unable to call us a taxi. On the first occasion she rather off-handedly told us to walk to the nearest road to get one. This proved totally useless as the taxis there were already full and we didn't know where to go next. On the second occasion she said she'd ordered one, but hadn't and it was just lucky that one was dropping someone off at the hotel, and we were able to hop in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here for three nights before heading to Macau,its very close to the ferry terminal and no drama to walk there with luggage .
The room was plenty big enough,nice and clean,good view,huge TV ,nice shower,in room safe and decent wifi.
There are planty of places to eat within 5 minute walk,7/11 across the road and Macca's around the corner.
Its not far in a taxi to go out in Wan Chai and have a drink and check out the bars.
Overall it is a very good hotel,staff were friendly and breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room,up high,great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in September for 4 nights when it first opened so not everything was up and running.
Loved the room, very functional, everything you could ask for was provided. Small but more then sufficient for 2 people. We were lucky enough to get the 32nd floor, great view! Loved that the curtains opened automatically when power came on. The bed was super comfortable.
Staff was terrific, very eager to make your stay a great experience, answered all questions and looked up any information they didn't know.
Wish we had known that the hotel was only 1 stop from the central station (5 min. commute) 4 minute walk from the subway stop. We lined up for 45 minutes in the taxi que, what a waste of time. The subway system is fantastic.
We really liked the area, everything is close by, good french restaurant next door, take a walk to the escalator for an abundance of bars and restaurants and great atmosphere.
We loved Hong Kong and wished we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this facility for a four night stay in December 2012. It is recently constructed and located more in Sheung Wan area of HK island. The metro is a brisk 3 minute walk and central stop is only a one 2 minute stop away with easy access to IFC and Airport Express.

It is more of a business and casual hotel with rooms approximately 200 sq ft. Internet and a decent basic breakfast is provided complimentary. For it's pricing is a very good value, evidenced by a full hotel during my stay with business people and tourists. Service is cordial and attentive. A self service laundry area is available, but I did not see a workout facility. It is a very good basic hotel.

In summary, I would consider staying here again in a more quiet area of HK. However, for first time visitors who want more activities like heavy duty shopping, then they may want to consider tsim sa tsui, causeway bay, or central. Overall a good value for the buck for this hotel, that's why it is well subscribed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliothefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,080 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,130 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,664 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 718 in Hong Kong
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing