We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for those who know their way around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #99 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Makati
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good value for those who know their way around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I love trying hotels, especially when I'm travelling alone. Had a trip coming up, so decided to try this hotel. Took a look at the location on Google Maps and it was not too bad, as I'm quite familiar with the general area around it.

First, the staff. They are very friendly (and very new too). I think this was just the 2nd week that the hotel was open.

The hotel has 3 lifts to service 38 floors. Each floor seems to have 10 rooms, so we're looking at 300+ rooms for this hotel. If this hotel eventually gets busy, I don't think the lifts will be adequate. The rooms are nice and clean, they provide 2 pillow choices (firm and soft). Wifi is complimentary, and so are 2 small bottles of water a day. Breakfast is included, although the buffet selection while I was there consisted of boiled eggs, noodles, baked beans, bread and pastries, coffee, tea, orange and apple juice, yogurt and cereal. A very spartan, basic selection. But hey, this is a budget hotel! The bathroom is small, the rooms are ok sized. It would be a tight fit for anything more than 2 adults and 1 child below 10. There are drilling noises throughout the day, maybe they are not done yet with the fitting out. There are maybe 20 cable TV channels, adequate for a quick catch up, but when in HK, who watches TV?

Location is good if you know your way around. The MTR station is about a 3 minute walk away on Wing Lok Street, and the MTR can take you all around HK so having a station nearby is important. If you like to walk, it is a good 10 minute stroll to Queen's Road Central (and the surrounding areas) where all the brand name shops are. There are 2 convenient stores (7-11 and Circle K) around the corner.

Will I be back? It depends. It depends if I'm travelling alone and if the rate is good. Sometimes the Holiday Inn Express on Causeway Bay has a cheaper rate than this one, and the location of that one is much better

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (30 and up) and you can get a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BizTraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    674
    180
    19
    3
See reviews for
227
325
144
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed there for a night when I transited in Hong Kong. Good location. Close enough to Central and Causeway Bay.(Personally, I prefer Hong Kong Island)

I love cleanliness and I think the hotel is clean.(Of course, it is a new hotel)

It's not a bad idea if you are not looking for a 5-star.

Last but not least, I was heading to Macau the next day and the Ferry Pier to Macau is only 5-10min walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I worried about problems associated with new rooms, but decided to check the hotel out so that when my wife travels with me I can know whether it is the one or not.
I got the charge waived, since I booked directly from ihg.com, not a third party, and didn't worried about the charges a bit. The room is on the 30th floor, and has a partial "ocean view", not bad. The smell is very OK to me, maybe because my own home was re-decorated recently.
Didn't use the breakfast, since there are just so many good Cantonese eateries around, and eating at the hotel will be simply just a waste of your life (you have your meals in Hong Kong counted, man).
So overall, I wanna say the location is my biggest problem. Since the Sheung Wan region is more residential than commercial, the hotel is surrounded in old department buildings and small eateries, which look bad but make wonderful food. If you are used to the bright lights in Tsim Sha Tsui, or the Harbour, you may think the neighborhood is not so good, which is actually not the case.
Of course I believe the hotel is gonna be a hit once the smelling is totally gone, so the most sensative guys are even OK. But I may opt for a more expensive Causeway Bay HIX next time.

Room Tip: Having a ocean view doesn't really give you much stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Checked in and were told because of "certain problems" we would not be charged for our entire stay. Great we thought.
Until after the first night when one of us woke up with breathing problems and the other one with a headache due to paint and building fumes.
Got to breakfast and were shocked to discover the use plastic, one way, crockery!!! Were told this is because the breakfast room is only temporary in that location and they have no running water there!!! They managed to use regular curtlery, so not sure why they cannot clean dishes either...
Decided to change hotels. They were helpful enough to call around a little. Having to do it twice though because they weren't listening when I said I needed a room for three (when we checked in they had no note of a third person staying either!)
Having booked the hotel through hotels.com they (the hotel) wouldn't give me written confirmation to show to hotels.com not to charge me. They said hotels.com knew about it. I had to call hotels.com in the end, they of course didn't know about it, had to call the hotel and then process the refund.
Needless to say the hotel's good bye was rather frosty towards us.
Shame about our experience.
If you are thinking of staying there, givem them a few months to sort out their theething problems.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing