We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in the hustle and bustle of Wan Chai”
Review of Le Chef

Le Chef
Ranked #1,841 of 8,531 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $38 - $64
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Enthusiasts of delectable gastronomy and fine food art can expect heavenly and creative dishes that best epitomize the essence of east meets west at Le Chef, our restaurant on the mezzanine floor. Sourcing only premium ingredients, the menu is paired with the sophisticated notes of a wide selection of fine wines.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fine dining in the hustle and bustle of Wan Chai”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was so happy to get invited to a tasting dinner at Le Chef which used to be Cafe De Metro park.

During lunchtimes they serve the buffet and in the evening they serve fine dinners paired with specially selected wines.

The new decor is so much nicer and stylish.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Assorted bread and condiments:


I loved the bread selection and the breads were warm too.
They had foccacia and mini crispy buns as well and it was delicious with the butter and balsalmic vinegar provided.
The oil which I thought was olive oil was actually orange flavoured oil.


★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Botan Ebi Carpaccio in Ceviche:


This was beautifully presented but I felt that there was too much yuzu sauce which covered the prawn taste and it was slightly too sweet.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Togarashi Seared Tuna Salad with Shizo Vert:


The tuna was delicious. The edges of the tuna were crispy. As the the flavouring was quite heavy, the crispy edges and soft tender tuna reminded me of the Chinese roast pork belly.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Cream of Pumpkin & Fennel Soup with Scallop:


The colour of this soup looked like butternut squash, but the taste was amazing. It was extremely creamy and I love Fennel.
The Fennel was strong and wholesome.
The scallop in the soup gave it some depth.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Seafood Tomato Soup:


This soup was quite interesting, it was quite creamy with strong basil.
There were lots of mussels in the soup.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Double Flavored Brown Crab: Baked Brown Crab Shell with Crab Meat & Mango Salad:


The mango salad and crabmeat was a refreshing pairing and the mango was really sweet.
The baked crab was full of surprises, there were mushrooms in the creamy sauce and beneath the sauce, there was generous crab roe!!


★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Sauteed Tilapia with Lemon-herb Glaze:


The fish was really satisying and the mash was delicious.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Poached Japanese White Peach in Red Wine:




The poached peach was presented beautifully and there shard of yellow sugar glass on top was pretty.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Coffee or Tea :


To finish off the meal there was soothing tea.
The lemon slices were separate so you could decide how much lemon to put in.
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
Once again I would like to thank Le Chef and the the related people for inviting me and giving me the lovely travelling garment holder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely rude waiters and staff. Decent food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Extremely rude waitstaff. They force you to sit where they want despite the breakfast room being empty. Always with a scowl in their faces.
Food is decent, atmosphere decent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Royaldane375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Romantic fine dining place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's amaze us when we first step in the resturant. It's so quite and romantic!

Service is good too and the waiter is more than willing to explain the cusine to us~

With the use of iPad menu, it's much more cyber and easy for us to order food!
The food is exceptionally good, especially the salmon and lamb, and please don't miss the dessert, which is specifically designed!

We couple have had a romantic night here! Thanks Le Chef!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelover1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Place for fine-dining with baby!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is a lovely fine-dining place where people can dine and chat quietly. And the best is -- it welcome babies! Actually, my husband, my 11-month-old baby boy and me have enjoyed our night so much. For a 4-course dinner at town-centre hotel, HKD398 is very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy Town, null, Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Wonderful Wine Pairing Dinner at Le Chef”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Last night I got to try the wonderful bimonthly wine pairing dinner at Le Chef, located on the mezzanine level of the Metropark Hotel Wanchai. Le Chef is a fantastically funky and unique fusion restaurant characterized by a chic yet creative decor (towering throne-chairs around the central table in the dining room, elegant decorative decanters and a pink glow which adds a sense of mischief to the place). Carefully designed wine pairing dinners are offered, which rotate every 2 months depending on the trends in customer preferences and seasonality of ingredients. As a hotel restaurant, Le Chef pays attention and caters to the needs of hotel guests very thoroughly, constantly asking for feedback and recommendations and actually considering these when varying the cuisine. Here are some of the signature dishes I tried and loved.

Our appetizer – Braised Australian Blue Mussels in White Wine, Garlic and Chilis. A great light way to start out dinner. The mussels were cooked perfectly, and although they were small in body, they were packed with deliciously briny flavor and were plump and soft in texture, with a slight bite to them. The white wine they were cooked in added some depth to the dish, the acidity of the wine bringing out the soft sweetness of the mussels. The mass of shellfish was topped with Japanese (trumpet?) mushrooms, which echoed the texture of the mussels in a funky way, slightly slippery and tender, almost shellfish-y in themselves. Mixed in with the mushrooms were slices of roasted garlic and thin slices of chili, which added a subtle spice, but not enough to overpower the delicate sweetness of the mussels. A wonderfully well-balanced dish, which harmonized very well with the 2011 Vignobles David Cotes du Rhone Le Mourre de l’Isle Blanc paired with it, a white packed with ripe white fruits and a floral finish.


Cream of Roasted Artichoke & Scallop. My favorite dish of the night but, unfortunately, one which was a bit difficult to capture properly with the pink light of Le Chef shining on. A wonderfully rich and dense, creamy soup which was very flavorful indeed. Sweet and buttery from the roasted artichoke blended in. A tender, juicy little Hokkaido scallop, seared ever-so-slightly on its two sides positioned in the soup and topped with some fresh parsley, donating its very subtle marine tang to the broth as an undertone in flavor. When paired with the Clos Lapeyre Jurancon Sec 2010, a floral, fresh very slightly mineral wine, the broth became even sweeter with a clean, white flower petal, vanilla bean essence to it with which the virginal scallop was an even more delicious match. The textural contrast between the creamy, thick soup (sinful in its texture but innocent in flavor) and the tender but firm scallop was wonderful and made the dish interesting and complex, despite the simplicity of the ingredients used.


La pièce de résistance, the Pan Fried King Prawn in Maggie Sauce and Pan Fried New Zealand Rib Eye in Herb Garlic Sauce, matched with a 2006 Vignobles David Côtes du Rhône Prieuré la Clastre. Truly a signature of Le Chef, which prides itself on how it handles the fusion of local cuisine with foreign ingredients. The dish was centered around a wonderful (I asked for rare) rib-eye steak, minimally seasoned in itself, but bloody, juicy and tender. Lean without an ounce of excess fat. The meat lay on a bed of creamy, buttery mashed potatoes and was drizzled with a slightly sweet roasted garlic sauce which seeped in through the grains of the beef and added a deep layer of flavor to it. A tiny little cube of sauteed zucchini and one of carrot added a textural contrast and an extra vegetal sweetness. The meat was topped with a king prawn, pan fried in oil and Chinese soy sauce, with a delightfully crispy skin and a wonderfully soft, white, buttery flesh on the inside. Not an ounce of excess oil, which it was probably drained of before placed on top of the meat. A detail I found especially delightful in this dish was the single slightly chewy, dried baby shrimp lying in the garlic sauce which communicated almost audibly with the big papa prawn hovering above it. The red paired with this was deep and very spicy on the nose, with dried black fruit and licorice as well as slightly smokey tobacco aromas. The blunt, strong tannins held out perfectly with the flavors of the dish, complementing both the bloody, garlicky steak as well as the crunchy, soy-flavored prawn equally well.


And finally, one of Le Chef’s signature gastro-desserts: The Egg Dessert Platter. A creamy, rich, vanilla-flavored custard with a slightly sweet egg-white foam on top. The custard could have had a tad bit more flavor to it and I was missing the crunchy caramel lattice which I was expecting from a “creme brulee” and which would’ve contrasted the texture of the custard, while also adding a layer of burnt sugar flavor to this bite. The red currants on the side did, however, picked it up a bit, adding a very tangy and sour zing to the custard, when combined in the same mouthful. Next to the custard was a wonderfully sweet and tropical-exotic mango pure encased in an edible gel ball, which was meant to resemble (and succeeded in doing so!) an egg yolk. Sipped up in a single bite, the pouch exploded with the juice of the mango which flooded my mouth, waking up my taste buds. The enlarged gel caviar, now broken, was a tad chewy but not bad at all, with a mildly sweet flavor of its own which added to that of the mango. Lastly, a chocolate pancake which was just okay for me. The filling was a bit rubbery instead of the thick, dark, rich ganache I was expecting from the look of it. The pancake wrapping itself was nice and crisp though, light and thin. I just wish I had ended the dessert with the mango yolk, which was my favorite part of the dish. The dessert was paired with a Fizzy Red by Vignobles Gélis, a very sweet, fresh red fruit flavor – especially strong on cherry and strawberry essence. I appreciated the selection of a sparkling sweet wine, which lifted up the richness of the dish and added a fruity touch to it, as a strawberry or cherry glaze could have also done, but without that wonderful alcoholic buzz .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilibog K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chef also viewed

 

Been to Le Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing