We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Time”

Twenty Six by Liberty
Ranked #159 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $217
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Since July 2015 Helmed by Chef Chris Keung 8 course tasting menu inspired by Chef Keung's Western upbringing and his influences from around Asia
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An experience never to be repeated, overpriced, overly pretentious and a bizarre menu comprising of foods that just simply just don't work together, and to boot we had to sit through a ridiculous lecture before each miniscule dish was placed before us. The view was nice, i'll say that. But I go to restaurants to eat good food - there was nothing remotely good or satisfying at Liberty Private Works. The highlight of my visit was stepping into the elevator to leave the premises.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nickm439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    27
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-try restaurant”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Make sure to call ahead of time and book your seat because there is a VERY limited number of seats. The timing for the dinner is also limited because they try to synchronize serving all customers at the same time. I am not sure if they serve only one dining per night or more.

So, we arrived with a taxi on the address given and by surprise the place was dark and very quiet. There was nobody on the street and it is a bit filthy. It was just after the rain and there were insects everywhere (cockroaches). If you are coming from the nearest perpendicular road, the building is located on your right side. It is a bit hard to locate the restaurant since it is located on the 26th floor and the entry of the building is deserted. There is a very small indication on the entry and if you don't look closely, you wouldn't see it. There is an elevator at the end of the hallway that takes you direct to the 26th floor.

The restaurant is small. It is not a typical kind of restaurant. The interior is basic, as the center of interest is the kitchen itself. As you enter, you would see a kitchen surrounded by a counter and tall chairs. So, you will be sitting side by side with all the other customers, surrounding the kitchen where the chef and his staff cook for you. You will actually see what they do and how they do every plate they serve. It is very interesting and entertaining. There is a nice view of the city at night from the glass walls. Since it is on the 26th floor, the view is quite amazing.

We booked the menu with wine pairing. For those who do not know, this means that each plate that they serve comes with a glass of wine and there are different wines for each plate. You could see the menu on the photo I posted with this comment. You also have the option to book the "degustation" menu. There is no "a la carte". The plates were beautifully done. Each plate is a masterpiece, an art, beautiful on the eyes. There is an explosion of flavors that are really interesting to the palates. And there are 8 plates in all.

No problem about the service. They know what they are doing. They know their food and wine very well. Chef Vicky is nice and approachable. We were able to chat with him at the end of the dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cacahuette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Possibly the finest and tastiest food in Hong Kong....”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Liberty Private Works last night.

Pros: Excellent food. Chef Vicky is a genius. The dishes were all tasty, used fantastic ingredients (I especially like the game hen. Fantastic!), the noveau/fusion cuisine meant the flavours were very alive, strong and oh so memorable. Service was good as well with our server knowing his food and wines impeccably. The view is fantastic as well, as they have a penthouse view of Hong Kong. I especially would recommend this as somewhere to take your partner for a special evening. For what you're getting, the price of ~900 HKD for a set menu, and +680 HKD for wine pairing is good value for money.

Cons: The seating is unusual. They have a pseudo-circular seating arrangement where you all sit around the chef and the kitchen staff. On the pro side, you get to see your food being made live. And get to admire Chef Vicky's skill, creativity, ability and attention to detail. The cons is that there is little privacy as you can see and HEAR your fellow diners relatively easily, and they of you. Also, there is only one fixed menu. So if you're a vegetarian or have fixed dietary requirements (eg. gluten intolerance, nut allergy etc), it may be difficult for the staff to fully accommodate your dietary requirements. However having 1 fixed menu does allow for impressive operational efficiencies, and it is impressive to witness this.

Note: They do a very tasty frozen-nitrogen/carbon dioxide strawberry soda-ice cream for desert. However my other half scalded the tip of her tongue on the cold pieces. I would suggest other diners give some time for the frozen bits to warm up a bit before trying the ice cream. The staff were absolute gems though and got us some paracetamol and warm water to try to soothe my other half's scalded tongue.

In summary. This is a FANTASTIC restaurant. Offering probably what is the finest, tastiest, and most creative yummy food in town. At a fair price. Only downside is that this restaurant is VERY popular and it's very difficult to get a table (we had to book WEEKS in advance). I would implore Chef Vicky and his staff to open further venues please to make it easier for us to try his wonderful food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian0345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Food is an art that requires a lot of skill and passion, and that whats happening at Liberty Private Works. Chef Vicky Cheng awesome to watch, as is his whole team. Rock our sever was awesome and he knew his wines well. I have to say this was one of the best meals I have had of this caliber and a while. If you like innovative delicious cutting edge food. GO HERE.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A surprise above the crowd.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The venue may not scream a strong character, besides being in an average business building. The toilettes may not be of that type that eventually would influence the judgement of Michelin-starred restaurants more than food. However, in terms of food and presentation, this place is a precious gem. Ingredients are treated with respect, never too cooked, and left with the task to let you enjoy the intrinsic features of the basic ingredients (texture, tenderness, smell, tactile sensations, etc.) rather than covering (or "camouflaging") everything with thick sauces. The price you pay (around HK$ 900, wine excluded) is more than fair and for sure deserved.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilitoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Six by Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Twenty Six by Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing