We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady dungeon like place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New China Yan Yan Guesthouse
Ranked #90 of 264 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First of all the hostel is located inside shady bazar like chungking manssion "mall" and its extremely hard to find. So if you book this hostel prepare to search it. The owner has outsourced the management to couple of african guys who where nice but not aware about your booking. Also they are not always there on the spot and there is no reception only Phone number on a locked door. So prepare prepaid card and Phone so you can call them.

The room was ok and clean but EXTREMELY small. I am 185cm tall and the bed was 180cm so if you are tall dont book ;) hot shower worked and there was ac in the room. Price is cheap but i am sure there is better value for your money elsewhere...

Pros:
+ cheap
+ good location next to metro

Cons:
- extremely small rooms
- only one elevator to take you there and its extremely crowded
- shady area
- extremely hard to find
- no reception
- beds are for verticaly chalanged

Room Tip: Elevator for 4d block is located right and then midle from the front door of chungking manssion. Tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The guesthouse is located in Chungking Mansion. You need to use small elevator to go up level 9, sometimes I need to wait my turn to use the elevator very long time. It is wasting my time. The rooms also has bad odour, and smelly. The room also very small.

Room Tip: Choose the room on side where the windows can be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adib R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

That is a combination of 2 hostels, same management. 9/F is the New China Guesthouse where I stayed. Room F.
Double Bed Room for 2 for P2,024. Free use of towels (found a hair and it was creepy!), ceiling fan, dirty a/c, white molds in the window grills (turn off!), uncleaned below bed floor, you can use your big luggage under the bed, fairly cleaned toilet, h&c shower, 14" cable tv w/ limited channels, free wifi (fast), free hot & cold water, free use of ref, no microwave tho. Helpful black assistants. Safe area. You might get confused w/ the elevators at G/F of Chungking Mansions, checked the upper walls it indicates floors per hostels.
Chungking Mansions offers a lot of Indian Halal Food normally ranging from 40-45HK$. A lot of convenience store, fake watch shops, bags, jackets, etc. They will offer you products and don't be scared. Just turn them down if you are not interested. Very Safe even at night even at past 12mn.. I love Tsim Sha Tsui!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE NEW CHINA OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

New China Yan Yan is the same as New China, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other. We stayed in a New China Guesthouse room, but I have added this review to both.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels. This room was one of the worse ones.

We booked a double, and it was very small (not unusual). The toilet leaked onto the floor whenever it was flushed. As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower.

The linen was very old, and we were given a sheet only. They provided towels. There was a TV in the room (no fridge). They had the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan. The shower also leaked, and couldn't be stopped. There were a number of cockroaches in our room. Unfortunately, we were unable to get the hot water to work for the duration of our stay, as the hot water switch was not functioning, so we had cold showers (luckily we only stayed two nights).

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.

Whilst we would stay at ChungKing Mansion again, we would choose one of the better guesthouses next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank ちぃ115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank ame_coolzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank patkung2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Xinhaohua Hotel
Xinhaohua Hotel
#318 of 723 in Hong Kong
3 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Guangdong Guest House
Guangdong Guest House
#66 of 161 in Hong Kong
48 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super 7 Hostel
Super 7 Hostel
#57 of 161 in Hong Kong
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
European Hostel
European Hostel
#80 of 161 in Hong Kong
15 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kamal Deluxe
Kamal Deluxe
#41 of 161 in Hong Kong
43 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#65 of 161 in Hong Kong
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New China Yan Yan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New China Yan Yan Guesthouse

Address: D2 & D7, 9/F, Block D, Chung King Mansion, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New China Yan Yan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New China Yan Yan Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing