We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
3
7
14
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
7
14
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 33 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

That is a combination of 2 hostels, same management. 9/F is the New China Guesthouse where I stayed. Room F.
Double Bed Room for 2 for P2,024. Free use of towels (found a hair and it was creepy!), ceiling fan, dirty a/c, white molds in the window grills (turn off!), uncleaned below bed floor, you can use your big luggage under the bed, fairly cleaned toilet, h&c shower, 14" cable tv w/ limited channels, free wifi (fast), free hot & cold water, free use of ref, no microwave tho. Helpful black assistants. Safe area. You might get confused w/ the elevators at G/F of Chungking Mansions, checked the upper walls it indicates floors per hostels.
Chungking Mansions offers a lot of Indian Halal Food normally ranging from 40-45HK$. A lot of convenience store, fake watch shops, bags, jackets, etc. They will offer you products and don't be scared. Just turn them down if you are not interested. Very Safe even at night even at past 12mn.. I love Tsim Sha Tsui!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE NEW CHINA OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

New China Yan Yan is the same as New China, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other. We stayed in a New China Guesthouse room, but I have added this review to both.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels. This room was one of the worse ones.

We booked a double, and it was very small (not unusual). The toilet leaked onto the floor whenever it was flushed. As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower.

The linen was very old, and we were given a sheet only. They provided towels. There was a TV in the room (no fridge). They had the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan. The shower also leaked, and couldn't be stopped. There were a number of cockroaches in our room. Unfortunately, we were unable to get the hot water to work for the duration of our stay, as the hot water switch was not functioning, so we had cold showers (luckily we only stayed two nights).

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.

Whilst we would stay at ChungKing Mansion again, we would choose one of the better guesthouses next time.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 15, 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews