We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
2
2
4
7
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
2
4
7
18
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 33 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked New London Hostel for HKD600 because I liked the location, and that's the cheapest available at that time (believe me) scoured). I also read that majority of the reviews gave it a high rating. The hostel was located in Block A of Chungking Mansion but we were instructed to proceed to 11/F of Block D, where the reception area is. Since we arrived at 1230 and check in is at 1PM, we just went downstairs to pass the time, and a huge chunk of it spent waiting for the elevator, really narrow and could only accommodate 5-6 persons max. So we came back at 1 and we still waited until the "bellboy" arrived and took us to the room.

We were surprised when we were being led to Block E and when we got to the 14/F, it was in Angel Guest House. I pointed this out and he said it's the same. It totally wasn't and when we were lead to a really small room that takes you to the bed after 4 steps. I originally booked for 2 separate beds and he said those are for triple sharing. The shower and toilet were another thing, I could let go of the narrowness, but not the plumbing problems. The water comes up from behind the toilet when we flush and the water heater wasn't working. Tiled walls surrounded the double bed and there were small roaches crawling. I wasn't able to sleep well. Who would? Due to my exhaustion I was supposed to sleep for 8 hours but I slept for only 4. My friend woke up cause the smell of curry wafted through the exhaust in our room. We had to spray lots of cologne to temporarily dispel the annoying scent.

In the morning I saw a guy sleeping in the hallway. We met with some other travelers while waiting for the elevator and they were on their way to another hostel. It's a good thing we only stayed for 1 night cause my friend and I felt robbed.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjoyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Location is right on the main street in South Kowloon, close to a MTR station and several buses, which is very convenient. To get to your room you however need to enter and pass through Chunking Mansions, which resembled some sort of not-too-pleasant run-down Indian bazaar. All the cheapest hostels in HK are located here. The rooms were clean-ish, okay room and bed size (it is HK, after all), but the bathroom was a bit too funky for my taste. Manager was unpleasant. Wasn't sad to leave.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oslokatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A young Indian guy on the entrance to Chungking mansions asked us if we needed a room and offered it extremely cheap for 250HKD a double-bed. Since we didnt have any reservation and were on a low-budget we followed him to E block Angel guesthouse on 5th floor.

First impression of the room was not so bad, it wasnt good but quite ordinary for chungking mansion standards so we decided to stay. Later on we noticed that the bed-sheets and the towels werent very clean, and the blankets werent sheeted at all. The bathroom door was broken and the bed was creaking a lot. Also, the corridor was quite dirty and smelly at the entrance, and we saw some shady people.

Overall, we didnt feel very well and safe there. I can only recommend it to travellers who are on a really low budget. The place does has wireless internet and TV, but all the guest houses in chungking mansions seem to have it nowadays. Maybe their rooms in C block are better.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momon_vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked this online for a cheap stay between flights and it was badly overpriced. It was a tiny room in a the Chunking mansion complex with the reception in one block and the rooms in another. The lifts are tiny and you have to wait 10-15 mins each time just to go up or down!! Never stay here or any of the places in this complex!

Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jamestravelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews