We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Soho pitstop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ChomChom

ChomChom
Ranked #210 of 7,939 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Chôm Chôm is a place on Soho’s Peel Street to gather over beer and the delicious tastes of Vietnamese street food. A casual neighbourhood hangout inspired by Vietnam’s Bai Hoi culture of sipping draft beer on busy street corners, Chôm Chôm brings a new vibrant Vietnamese experience to Soho.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Funky Soho pitstop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I just had a great meal at Chom Chom! The place is packed with a great Soho vibe and contemporary decor. The service was quick and attentative and the drinks are delicious - try the Saigon Sour! The food comes quick and they're packed with flavor. Our favorites were the eggplant and crab, sole, and vfc. Don't come for a romantic and quiet dinner, this is the place for a quick and funky meal between drinks! It is pricey, but a great place to visit when doing drinks in Soho.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    69
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place - bland food and overpriced like crazy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a F&B professional since 20 years, I am always checking out the newcomers for new ideas and inspiration for our own restaurants spanning Asia Pacific. Reading the reviews of ChaChawan my wife and I were quite full of anticipation especially since the guy in charge is Vietnamese and should know his stuff. Well, we were wrong. While the food is not bad, it is fusion bland leaving out the very essence of what makes the Vietnamese contribution to the world culinary stage so spectacular. While we were served the food faster in a Mc'Donalds (which is not necessarily bad), we finished the miniscule plates equally fast and at prices starting from some 75 bucks, we called it a day and left. The 10 ounce beer glasses for 38 did not encourage me to order a second one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antoniopersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere, great food and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Second visit to Chom Chom to try the food and service after a disappointing first drinks only.
What a difference in the quality of service, was very good and not over the top. Food was excellent with focus on tapas style Vietnamese.
As they do not take reservations there is always a buzz of people waiting to take your table but if you can relax and ignore being eyed up all the time by hungry clients then you can take in the lively atmosphere and enjoy the overall experience. Tables are all very close together but this again adds to the character of Chom Chom.
We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food, great vibe, super location and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after walking past one night and it is terrific.

Sitting at the bar as a couple is a great way to dine, watching the team of chefs do their stuff with fresh and colourful ingredients and plenty of style.

Peter, the owner and executive chef, is very friendly and struck up a conversation with us - he kindly gave us his insights into why Vietnamese food is some of Asia's best and so different from other cuisines in the region.

The freshness of his ingredients and the beautiful balance of flavours was shown clearly by the Shaking Beef (our favourite), Spicy Tuna Roll, Pepper Squid (lightly fried with lovely sauce) and house cured salmon. The atmosphere is very lively due partly to the great location (slightly elevated over a Soho intersection) and the appealing design of the bar (open air at the front). The staff were super efficient and friendly.

We have eaten at lot of Vietnamese food in different countries (incl Vietnam itself) and Chom Chom is up there with the best for us.

It is also very well priced for the quality of food and good atmosphere as well (c.600 for four dishes before drinks).

A great restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crpipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lively Restaurant, Lively Kitchen - Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the recently opened reincarnation of a smaller restaurant that had been on Wellington Street until a few months ago. The new Chom Chom is a much livelier place that opens onto the street and has bar seating facing into the busy kitchen, where you will find chef Peter Franklin and his team. We had a series of small plates - each very tasty with interesting flavours. This is new Vietnamese cuisine done to perfection: fried chicken wings with garlic, coriander and mint; beef skewers with vermicelli and Vietnamese pesto; grilled beef in betel leaf; a "Cha Ca Hanoi" white sole fillet with turmeric, dill and vermicelli; and much more. We ended our delightful meal with a seasonal fruit plate with sweet and savoury chili dipping salt, a refreshing twist. A wonderfully lively restaurant with equally lively dishes - some of very best food you can find in Hong Kong - all delivered with brisk and attentive service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank areopagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ChomChom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing