We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never eaten so bad as here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Restautant

Tivoli Restautant
Ranked #5,935 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never eaten so bad as here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Today I went with my wife to restaurant Tivoli. The restaurant looks great from outside so we decided to have our diner here.
When we stepped inside an enormous stinking smell came to our noses. Stupid enough we didn't leave. Strange enough after 10 minutes you don't smell it that much anymore. We ordered for a starter Parma ham with melon and Canadian salmon.
My wife got her food first and 15 minutes later, after I told the waiter that we like to eat together, my food arrived. The Parma ham was sliced to big and the color was not like it should be. My salmon was cold at one side and warm on the other side.
It was clear they took it out of the freezer and microwaved it.
Also no beautiful slices but some lumps.
You could see from the presentation of the food that it was not a really professional cook.
Anyway it was eatable but that's all.

As main dish I had scaloppine al limone. Veal with lemon sauce. My wife ordered ribeye.
We got our food and on our plate was a mix from potato and mashed potato, carrot and an strange vegetable. The potato mix was almost cold, the vegetables were cold and it all tasted horrible . The veal was to thick and dry and looked more as a schnitzel, no lemon sauce was with it only two very little pieces of lemon just enough for one drop of lemon. The ribeye had 70% fat and the meat what was left was also dry and had a strange taste.

We had a few bites looked at each other asked the bill and left. In a normal restaurant they would haved asked why we left without eating our food. But no questions asked. We paid and we were happy we were out of the smell and away from this terrible restaurant. Really never eaten zo bad in my life and I have been in a lot of restaurants in my life.

It was so terrible bad that I decided to register here to warn other people not to go there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pizza class for you guys”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Probably the most disappointing Pizzas we have had. We were going to have one between us as we were not particularly hungry however the waiter suggested they might be a bit small share one so we ordered two, different varieties we thought. They arrived and appeared to be not much more than Pizza base with cheese. Mmmmm. I know there should have been some cabarossi on at least one of them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Budge45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'm Italian, DON'T EAT HERE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Don't be fooled by the authentic decor, this so called 'restaraunt' serves the worst food I have ever experienced in my life. This is definitely NOT italian food!! The pizza was served on what seemed like a cracker biscuit. The pasta was served with a very sweet red sauce which does not resemble any type of Italian food. Save your self the pain of eating here and GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!


Sources:
Italian born
foodie
Experienced international diner

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InternationlFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch for one, Good specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was killing a bit of time in TST Jordan area when I chanced upon this place for lunch. I arrived at about 12:30 and there were about 15 people inside so I took a chance on them. I ordered the lunch special of soup and salad. By the time my soup arrived the place was 3/4 full and by the time my salad arrived there wasn't a seat to be had.
The food itself hit the spot although I wouldn't say it was the most traditional tomato bisque or chicken Cesar I've ever had. Service was adequate so long as you were aware you had to call to the server. I left my water bottle on the table as I left and they stored it for me when they bussed the table on my departure. When I returned a few minutes later I was happy they had kept it for me. All in all I'd eat here again alone or with partners so long as the meeting was meant to be casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,074 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A popular Italian restaurant in the Jordan area of Kowloon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a dish of salad (Capli salad, they called it) and two pizzas (Margharita and "Tivoli") for our quick dinner. The salad was decent, but the pizzas were not quite as authentic tasting as the crust was too crunchy. Further, it wasn't salty enough, though this is a very sutle issue. Our comparison was made against the truly genuine pizzas from Naples.

The restaurant was filled with young people, partly because, we think, it was a Saturday evening. Its atmosphere was quite good.

Overall, the food was over-priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tivoli Restautant also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Tivoli Restautant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing