We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-do experience”
Review of MingCha Tea House

MingCha Tea House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start a senses-opening tea journey at MingCha Tea House! A must-do in Hong Kong! MingCha, established in 1999 with the aim to create an environment for people to understand tea with different angles. Run by artist & designer-turned entrepreneur Vivian Mak, MingCha has recognised as one of the ‘The World’s Best Tea Shops’ by FOOD & WINE Magazine and a Quality Tourism Services-accredited shop by Hong Kong Tourism Board. MingCha Tea Tasting Workshop MingCha Tea Masters will share the stories and origins of teas and guide you to explore teas with your senses. You can capture all the wonderful moments of sniffing and slurping teas with friends around the world! Moreover, you will master the skills to brew tea like a pro. With much fun and interaction, you will never see tea the same way as before! Handcrafted tea is not just a cup of tea MingCha teas stand out from the crowd to win reputation and the loyalty of people around the globe. MingCha won numerous awards including Most Outstanding Tea Branding Award and the Champion Awards in the Oolong category in Hong Kong International Tea Fair Tea Competition 2012. MingCha teas were also included in the Academy Awards' (The Oscars) official gift basket in 2002.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stopped in without an appointment and Tomoko was very accommodating. She shared her knowledge and love of tea with our group and we loved every minute. It was hard to find but we had a driver and once we got to the area, we were directed by helpful workers at the warehouse. One of our group members is blind and Tomoko went out of her way to ensure everyone had a fulfilling and enjoyable experience. The product available for purchase was lovely and we all indulged but did not feel pressured at all, merely educated. I'd go back again if I ever find myself in Hong Kong with other friends and family.

Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianmak, Owner at MingCha Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Carrie,
Thank you for visiting our shop during your stay in Hong Kong and also thank you so much for taking your time to write the review for us. It is very useful information for a lot of tourists who are interested in such kind of experience.
I also enjoy sharing Chinese tea with you at that time. Hope you still enjoy the tea in your daily life!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tomoko was our guide and she is a lovely person to share her knowledge and made me feel very welcome. I never tried so many different types of tea before and left with allot of experience. I would recommend this to all people young or old and families also.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianmak, Owner at MingCha Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Paul,
Thank you for visiting our tea house and also writing your review for us. Your comments are very helpful for all who are interested in Chinese tea!
Looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Best regards,
Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don't let the warehouse scare you off! It's a little challenging to locate, but when you do, the confused look on your face will tell the warehouse workers that you are looking for the MingCha Tea House and they will promptly send you on your way. Once you are inside the tea house you'll be joined by other foreigners looking to enjoy tea, and the staff at MingCha are excellent, creating a comfortable, warm atmosphere. For tea newbies like me, or the tea snob there is something to be learned. The origins of your tea, the process to which it goes through, and how to prepare it. All with friendly service and hopefully good company. Even for those who may not be tea lovers, they'd be hard pressed not enjoy most of the teas and the experience. Be prepared to spend a lot of HKD on tea, and to walk away with a tea you've never known! Highly recommend visiting the MingCha Tea House if you have a few hours (2-3) and enjoy tea.

Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianmak, Owner at MingCha Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Alex,
Thank you for visiting our shop and taking time to write the review! It is very useful information for the tourists who is planning to visit us.
Do you enjoy our tea you got at that time?
Looking forward to seeing you soon again!
Best Regards,
Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mingcha tea tasting was a major highlight of my trip to HK. Ms Tomoko was superbly detailed and accommodating, ensuring that knowledge was shared regardless of questions raised. One thing to note though is that prospective visitors should indicate via email if they prefer the full paid tea tasting session or just an introductory exposure. Both ways have their respective strengths.

Having gone through tea tasting with Ms Tomoko, the tea appreciation habit in me has just begun and I am going to start on my 1st pack of tea.

Thank Ethan_Yeo_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianmak, Owner at MingCha Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Yu Ting,

Thank you for writing your review for us.
How about the tea you got at that time? Hope you enjoyed it!
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warmest Regards,
Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

MingCha was a pleasant surprise for me. The small teahouse was thoughtfully designed with a cozy atmosphere and you'll relax immediately once you step in:) Our tea master Ms Tomoko was very experienced, graceful and engaging. She introduced MingCha's fine tea collections: white tea, green tea, black tea, and floral tea to us with great knowledge and skills. We totally enjoyed the teas and our conversations, and admiring the fine collections of the teawares that we easily spent 3 hours there without knowing! We also met the owner of MingCha, Vivian. An expert in tea, she's got a very interesting character, and she's a very good designer:)

If you love tea, you should visit MingCha to enjoy their fine tea collections and a personal tea-tasting experience; if you do not love tea, you should visit MingCha to relax your mind and have a chillax afternoon. I won't be surprised if you fall in love with tea after your trip to MingCha:)

MingCha is a hidden treasure in Taikoo area. We loved everything about it. It's definitely worth your time and effort.

Thank qiansquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianmak, Owner at MingCha Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear qiansqure,

Thank you so much for writing review.
Hope you enjoyed the tea tasting and shopping!
We spent 3 hours!! The time just flied by so quick cause I also enjoyed brewing tea for you and talking :)))

See you again!!
Tomoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MingCha Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing