We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, best experience, best service, best Dim Sum in Hong Kong!”

One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mong Kok
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best value, best experience, best service, best Dim Sum in Hong Kong!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just had dinner there due to excellent TA reviews and various blogs and it didn't disappoint. We were extremely fortunate to get there at 6.30pm and straight in to a table but the queues started almost as soon as we sat down. A little hard to find as slightly around the corner of where you think it should be and you need to peer at the poster on the glass to see the name but I would guess that generally just look for a group of people on the footpath waiting to get a seat and a queue number in their hand! The actual venue very smalll with close tables and no airs and graces. Menus with English names are the placemats on the table which is convenient and tea comes in generous mugs that are constantly topped up. We over ordered and the fabulous English speaking (Manager?) advised us of this and we down scaled. He was spot on. The food was so fresh and fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The cost was minimal and we just walked out shaking our heads wondering how it took us so long to find this gem. Well done One Dim Sum we will be back every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    612
    150
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant last night, which turned to be a great food experience. First of all, the food was just great. Then, the manager was very nice and helpfull, he helped us to make a diversified selection: dumplings, buns, etc. And to finish, it was very cheap. Our best dinner in Kong Kong so far.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cheap Cheap Cheap”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided to try this place because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the excellent ratings. We are sure not disappointed with our selection of food. We ordered a total of 6 items and it only costs us HKD98??!?!?!?!?! I mean come on that is DIRT cheap, not even half the taxi fare I pay to travel from Mongkok to Central!!!

1. BBQ Pork Buns - soft bread texture but the BBQ pork taste need some refinement
2. Chicken Feet - excellent
3. Rice Rolls - least favourite but not horrible tasting
4. Siew Mai - good
5. Har Gao - good
6. Custard Buns - this is the highlight of the day. Soft fluffy buns but the custard filling can be richer IMHO

We queued for 45mins since we reach there 10mins after 10. One tip - go there at 930am, you should get the 1st seating. Fortunately there were some chairs which are meant for waiting diners. The service staff is also never rude despite impatient waiting diners raising their voices whenever the clock ticks. I like their service and appreciate the value even though the space is tight and some dishes require just a tad of refinement but then again how can anyone complain with such low prices?

I left a happy and satisfied person.

ps: you can walk to the nearest local market (Fa Yuen Street market for some interesting local activities and goods). Don't just go HK for high end shopping as it is no different from other cities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dim sum yum yum...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Just went there yesterday afternoon for lunch... service is good.. food is excellent. Love the char Siew bun... different from other dim sum restaurant. Highly recommend! !

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In the past 4months I've been many times to this restaurant and I'm a huge fan of it. In my opinion it is one of the culinary highlights in Hong Kong. I can really recommend the deep-fried sesame balls, meat balls, bbq pork buns and prawn dumplings. In addition to the quality of the food it is really cheap, so value for money is just perfect.
The staff is also very friendly and competent, the manager speaks very well english and because he attended hotel school in switzerland he also speaks swiss-german/german.
This restaurant is a highlight in HK!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BeneHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing