We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and overpriced.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monogamous

Monogamous
Ranked #150 of 7,777 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service and overpriced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

At first we thought we had missed our opportunity, when we couldn't find Monogamous on Caine Road. Luckily we stumbled upon it as we made our way down the escalators. It was late in the evening, and we were one of the last tables to be seated, but the restaurant was still packed. It seemed like a popular spot for foreigners to grab dinner/drinks before heading out for the evening.

Unfortunately, the staff seemed more interested in getting us fed and out of the restaurant, than making sure we enjoyed our experience at the restaurant. We were rushed to order drinks and our food. We shared fried rice, sweet and sour pork, and a noodle dish, none of which stood out as being anything worth writing about. As we were finishing up, we could tell the staff was eager to get everyone out of there and close the restaurant, as we were only one of two tables left.

There's really nothing special about Monogamous, a slight twist on your traditional Chinese food, and obviously overpriced - due to the location and crowd they are catering too. The bigger groups seemed to be enjoying themselves, drinking and sharing plates. That might be my only recommendation - that it's good for larger groups. Unfortunately, there seem to be a lot of other options, all of which are probably better food, price, and service-wise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    77
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really one of the best in HK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have now lived n HK for 14 months and eaten in some diverse restaurants - top end and very local. Monogamous is one of my favorites. Not just mine but pretty much all of my visiting friends and family. It's small, probably some 30 covers, nice local art, which you can buy, and great food. The wine is ok, nothing to write home about, but it's the spicy Chinese schezuan food that jumps up and grabs you. Go for the spring rolls, nothing like you've had before, super spicy, long and almost like cheese straws - amazing. Add in the special monogamous beef, which is fab, and fish in any of a number of ways and you realize that this is great food. It's mostly full each night so you do need to book. The host is an English manager/ owner who seems to enjoy life and you having a good time. If you not have a few days here, go to Monogamous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

On a recent business trip to Hong Kong friends took me to Monogamous. It is a small, quaint restaurant with larger-than-life paintings adding a splash of vibrant color to the subtle decor. We started with spicy pork and white cabbage dumplings. WOW ! The flavor was intense and wonderful. I actually ordered a second helping for the table. For our main course we shared the roasted duck and other wonderfully made dishes (sorry can't remember which fish dish we happily consumed). The selection was excellent, the food was delicious and the atmosphere cozy and hip. I hope to return upon my next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CSperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quality, flavour, and service - a winning combination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Between Caine Road and Elgin on the mid-level escalator, Monogamous offers a tight flavourful menu combined with attentive service and a quite well appointed decor. Each of the dishes emphasized flavour rather than volume. Try the crisp fried chicken with chilies, the pork ribs with black vinegar sauce, the pork dumplings in chilli oil, and the chinese kale (tender crisp green stalks) with garlic and ginger. A quite environment that lends itself to conversation and lingering, the staff are friendly and engaging. Seating about 24, this restaurant deserves more kudos than many of its more well known competitors. Make a reservation, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Diana_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Meal in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Had been trying to get reservation for some time. Finally got lucky and got a table. Unbelievably delicious
A great find!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monogamous also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Monogamous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing