We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific tour of central (victoria) and food in hong kong, do your first day!”

Hong Kong Foodie Tasting Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.80*
and up
Hong Kong Food Tour: Central and Sheung Wan Districts
Ranked #3 of 51 Food & Drink in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recommended by Hong Kong Tourism Board and led by true locals born and raised in this gastronomic mecca, Hong Kong Foodie Tasting Tours offers unique, small-group walking tours to help you explore Hong Kong's culinary culture. Our mission is to lead hungry souls from around the world to wander off the beaten path and taste some of Hong Kong's favorite foods. We have researched throughout the city, tried numerous eateries, talked to restaurant owners, before putting together an itinerary that features many of the locals' most-loved foods. Along our excursion, your Foodie guide will also lead you to discover some of Hong Kong's other flavors - its history, culture, architecture and neighborhoods. We will also show you some of Hong Kong's unique features and what makes our hometown so special. Our goal is for everyone to return to these neighborhoods with confidence and take advantage of the wide range of food and cultural options that our city has to offer. We are the only food tour company licensed by the Hong Kong Travel Agents Registry and we are a member of Travel Industry Council and Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents. All our Foodie guides are also licensed tour guides. We want to share with you our culinary knowledge, cultural heritage and lead you on a memorable tour of Hong Kong that will leave you with a great taste. Come join one of our Foodie guides on a memorable and unique experience of Hong Kong! For more information about the tastings, check tour availability or book a tour, please visit our website.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific tour of central (victoria) and food in hong kong, do your first day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a terrific tour of both the neighborhood and of food in hong kong. Should have done this the first day as I found myself wanting to return to all the places to sample more extensively. Sure you can find dim sum and roasted meats everywhere in hong kong, but understanding how to pick the better ones makes all the difference. Would highly recommend this to anyone and to do as early as possible on your trip will make your culinary experience for the whole trip better. It was even raining during most of the tour and don't regret it a bit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    64
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Delicious and Insightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We are so happy we did this tour as it really helped point us in the right direction. All the stops we so delicious. The dim sum crispy BBQ bun was so good. My husband and I went back to 2 of the places as well as stopped by one of the referred restaurants. We highly recommend doing this tour especially at the beginning of your trip. You will not regret it!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great way to start your stay in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband & I did this tour on our last day in Hong Kong & wished we had done it at the start. Like all the recent reviews Silvana was very enthusiastic and with clear insight into the local food scene. The food was of a high standard and also a great variety. I now know not to pour boiling water on my green tea and what dim sum should really taste like. I would recommend booking well in advance as the day we did the tour it was completely full.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsj0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great insight in to local places to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Silvana was as great as we had read about on other reviews. Her local knowledge is fantastic and her ongoing commentary just what first timers to HK need.The food is great from the 1st Noodle Shop just down from the meeting point to the Sugar Cane juice to the Crispy BBQ Pork Buns.We learnt about tea, things that all of us never knew and have taken home with us. I will never eat another steamed BBQ Pork Bun. If you do the Central & Sheung Wan Tour, hang out for the BBQ Buns!! You will be fighting over the crumbs. I loved standing in the street amongst the locals sipping, Cane Juice, ambiance, we eat and drink with all our senses. Silvana also passes on some great local history, I just hope the old guy in the barber shop at the bottom of the stairs is open when you go? Go on the tour it is well worth it!! Next time we will try the other tour over Kowloon side.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rossdco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a memorable afternoon we spent, walking the little, back streets of Hong Kong Central on the Central/Sheung Wan tour. Silvana made the experience come alive with her friendly and knowledgable way. The food was excellent, just the right mix and quantity. The tour took us to an interesting array of traditional eating places and all at a leisurely pace that allowed for everyones questions on the way. Our group of eight seemed just the right size in the busy streets and the temperature was perfect. A reasonable amount of walking up and down hills is involved so go on this tour with that in mind. We really enjoyed it, however those less mobile might find this a challenge, especially in humid weather.
Some of these places may well disappear in the years to come as real estate prices continue to rise. If you want to experience the authentic food of Hong Kong today and catch a glimpse of the past then this is a great tour. Thanks Silvana, for adding to the richness of our visit to this vibrant city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hong Kong Foodie Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing