We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy dim sum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dim Sum Square

Dim Sum Square
Ranked #39 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy dim sum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went here on 29 April cos the restaurant across the street was apparently closed Mondays. Good thing we tried out this restaurant. However small it might be, the food was great and came promptly. No wonder both locals and foreigners go here.

Must try if you love dim sums. The location is only walking distance from Sheung Wan MTR station.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karenkulit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    221
    45
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yummy, cheap, crowded! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Just across the road from Holiday Inn Soho, I had 3 dishes for 50hkd and was full. Simple menu that is easy to understand. If eating alone you will most likely share a table.

Helpful?
Thank Melske
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great dim sum! Affordable and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were a little hesitant to try Dim Sum Square due to the smaller number of reviews on Trip Advisor, but this spot is definitely a favorite for the locals and a hidden gem in Hong Kong.

We lucked out and ate in the mid-afternoon and didn't have to wait. But at times, there are 3-5 groups waiting for seats in this small restaurant.

Nothing special about the service, which is fine, you're there for the dim sum. Very straight forward, fill out the dim sum form, refer to the menu images on the table if you need help and enjoy!

Crispy pork buns were amazing, along with the pork and shrimp dumplings.

The best part are the prices. We paid about 4 times more for dim sum the next day in Stanley, and the quality of the food, portions and options were supremely better at Dim Sum Square. I definitely recommend and even say it's worth the wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy straight-foward dim sum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were first introduced to this place thru the HK Foodie Tour and now, it's a must on our return trips to HK. It's straight-forward, no frills dim sum where you can get all your essential dim sum dishes. Favourite items are the custard bun and pineapple barbecue pork bun, along with almost everything else on the menu! Good value and great and quick place to stop in for a bite to eat. Yum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
314 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Yummy custard buns and crispy bbq pork buns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Ate twice at this restaurant during our stay (at the Holiday Inn Express Soho) across the street. We liked being able to have dim sum for dinner (instead of the customary breakfast/lunch). The quality of the dim sum was very good and there were a few innovative spins on old favorites such as the bbq pork bun (char siew pao) and various steamed dumplings.

Restaurant is very small and does get rather crowded/busy during lunch/dinner. Go early or late or be prepared to share tables. Service is prompt, polite and efficient.

Look out for the daily specials written on the board outside the restaurant. Menus are printed in Chinese and English, so it's easy to order even if you don't speak cantonese.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendywelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dim Sum Square also viewed

 

Been to Dim Sum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing