We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to say in Kowloon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #29 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to say in Kowloon”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed three nights here and really enjoyed it - the position is excellent, close to markets, underground and harbour. The staff are very friendly and they make good coffee. There is also an excellent roof top bar with a brilliant view over the city. Breakfast is probably the only downside with a limited range and limited seating - sometimes you need to wait to get a seat inside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    291
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
146
355
77
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during a one night layover. The location in the Jordan area is very convenient. It's not far from the Airport Express Kowloon station and also very close to the Jordan MTR stop.

Check-in was quick and easy and we were upgraded to a suite on a high floor. The room had a very nice design and a decent view North. One of the really nice features is that the mini bar is complimentary. Granted, it's not as well stocked as some other hotels that charge you for it, but it was so nice to look at the goodies and actually be able to partake without feeling ripped off!

There's no restaurant on site, but there's a McDonalds and Starbucks nearby for western cravings and plenty of local joints, including a wonderful steam bun place, on the other side of Jordan Rd.

Overall, this hotel is a really good value with friendly service and I would definitely stay here again if I wanted to be in Kowloon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed in April 2014. And they have ticked at all the right boxes
1. Clean room
2. Big bathroom (One of the biggest I have ever seen in a HK deluxe room)
3. Fuss free check in/out
4. Conveniently located near Jordan MTR
5. Near choice eateries and restaurants.

They have a great exhibition area which featured Hong Kong of the 60s.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionelOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear LionelOP

Thank you for taking the time to comment. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. We appreciate that you chose The Hotel Madera Hong Kong for this special occasion and we hope we will see you again in the very near future.

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent accommodation in a great location. We stayed here for 3 nights in June. Very easy to find (we took the express train and K1 bus and only had to walk a very short distance), handy to Nathan Rd and markets at night. Room spacious and well appointed. View from the rooftop bar is amazing and half price beer and wine between 4-9pm (although at full price it would have been a bit pricey). Would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZcowcocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear NZcowcoky

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We do hope we’ll see you again in the very near future. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Checked in and had a lovely surprise of an upgrade, room 2703 (pictures attached). The hotel is really neat, modern and efficient building. All the decor is unique and makes your stay feel more personalised. The hotel staff are friendly and happy to help. The room is the outstanding feature (not that you travel to stay in your room) but its modern, high tech lighting and a fantastic level of comfort. Its size is outstanding for a Hong Kong hotel, and for the price it is exceptional value. The hotel is literally 2 min walk from Jordan MTR exit B1, it cost me about 45 HKD to get to the hotel with a taxi from Kowloon Airport Express Station. Give the Madera a go and you wont be disappointed. well done Madera keep up the great work !

Room Tip: Each floor is unique with a different design. I can recommend floor 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Melbourneboys

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Madera Hong Kong.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Madera Studio. The decor, furnishing, bedding and all of the guest room amenities were carefully selected to exacting standards.

I am also very happy to hear that your experience with our associates was memorable. Our associates are very intuitive and work hard to ensure your every need is not only met, but exceeded.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, and we hope you will honor us with another visit should your travels bring you back to our area.

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here during a family holiday and was very pleased with the experience. The hotel is new, clean, stylish and generally comfortable - rooms are a very decent size by Hong Kong standards, and for the price range.

The staff were friendly and helpful with food recommendations, and the location is well connected, with Jordan MTR literally 2 minutes' walk away, and a handy airport bus on the next street.

Will definitely stay here again if I'm visiting Kowloon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamantiumdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear adamantiumdreams

Thank you very much for your comment in Trip Advisor I am very happy to know that we were able to deliver a service that made you want to stay more time with us. If you return to Hong Kong, remember: Hotel Madera Hong Kong. All the Best!

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Madera as part of our honeymoon travelling around Asia and we were really pleased with this choice.

The hotel came us as one of the most highly rated and affordable options on Trip Advisor so we went for it and booked it!

Our room was amazing, very modern, clean and comfortable with a great view over the city.

We enjoyed staying on this side of Hong Kong as it didn't feel as hectic as other areas and it wasn't too far a walk from the harbour. We found it easy to get around walking, taking the ferry and the underground.

Everyone at Madera made us feel welcomed and well catered for. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissloveIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Misslovelbiza

Its a source of great pride for us all in Hotel Madera Hong Kong to receive such a nice review from a Senior Contributor of Trip Advisor.

I just loved your description of our location, and I agree 100% with you, it is quite special, easy to access and convenient.

I am also very happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay and our services, I hope that you can come back to Hong Kong again.

With all good wishes

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
TUVE
#28 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing