We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Kowloon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #34 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a nice boutique hotel in Kowloon.

The hotel is not easy to find as it on a small street off of Nathan Road. Nathan road is a major thoroughfare in Kowloon, but many of the cab drivers did not know Cheong Lok Street.

The more western hotel experience is in Central. However, if you want to see what life is like for the locals, stay here. I had to work for a week in HK and stayed here to get a local. If was very Chinese in the neighborhood. Easy to take the 1, 1A or 6 bus to the water. Get an Octopus card to get around local transit (including bus, subway, airport express).

The hotel staff was great and helpful. The hotel was comfortable but the rooms were small. The views were of an abandoned building across the street, but the lounge on the top of the hotel yielded some great views. Nice spot to grab a beer to unwind from a long day. There is also a coffee shop on the 3rd floor (not easy to find), but nice place to get a coffee and stretch out your legs. Nice gym and game room if you are so inclined.

In short, nice hotel with a friendly staff in a comfortable environment within a very Chinese community. Close to Kowloon Park, Jade Market and a short cab ride to the ICC (4th tallest building in the world). Also, easy to get to the water and to Central.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 945 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4N in a room on the 19th floor. The view was nice - overlooking the other buildings and hotels nearby and had a partial view of the harbour. The room was clean, a bit small (which is normal for HK & Most asian city hotels) - had a slight wet carpet smell to it but not offensive and quiet. On arrival the mini bar is stocked with free drinks etc and you can fill them up with your own when they are gone. I like this approach as you don't have to empty the fridge of the hotels overpriced drinks to fill it with your own.

The rooftop balcony is excellent, you have about 300 degrees worth of view over the city., It is above the top floor bar, so 30 floors above the street. It is great to have a look at sunset or at night. Go to the rooftop and you will save yourself money as there is no real need to go to the skydeck near the water.

The Madera is 1 block away from Jordan Train station so if you catch the train and it is raining, you wont get too wet as there is only a small section not under cover. It is also only 1 block away from the markets and a million street food stalls/restaurants.

Location is excellent.

Overall the hotel is very good... HOWEVER......In our room, the toilet and bathroom (1 room) is separated by a frosted glass window only. At the top and bottom of the glass section isn't frosted (~30cm +/-) so when you sit down to do number ones (female) or number two's - you can be pretty much seen by anyone else in the room. I really didn;t like this. I don;t know why it is like this (cost - fashionable - to be different) but it made it a bit uncomfortable for us both when you went to the toilet. If I had of known this before I booked, I may not have booked this hotel. I say MAY not have booked but you should consider this when thinking about your stay. I didn't like the light 'buttons'. rather that switches they are buttons labelled and it got a little annoying trying to turn off a light but having to press them all to work out which was which. This really didn;t make much of a difference but it was something that annoyed me- hardly a deal breaker and probably wont affect anyone else.

The breakfast was average - you get a voucher for the cafe next door and you get a coffee, OJ, warmed bread basket with 2 x muffins, 2 x pce of bread, 2 x pastry and some fruit. nothing ace but enough to fill you up before you head out. Coffee was very good.

Overall the Madera Hotel is a very good hotel but the frosted glass separating the toilet and bedroom really let it down (for me/us). It may not bother anyone else traveling or if you travel by yourself, but just be mindful of this when booking a room.

Would I stay here again if I was in Hong Kong - most probably. I would just know about the frosted glass and bring/buy something to put up over the window to block the 'view'.

For value and location this hotel should be towards the top of your list of places to stay in Hong Kong (Kolwoon).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btandrmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the hotel, can say that the room was great, big and come at great price as compare to other hotel, Enjoyed my time with my gf, she too like the room alot, the downside might be the door for the toilet is faulty, the free breakfast wasnt really nice too, had to buy breakfast outside of the hotel. Overall it has a great location, very near to a mtr line. The staff will always helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freed0m89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Madera Hong Kong Hotel is a beautiful place. The room is large, clean and modern. The bathrooms well equipped and one if not the best showers i have come across in Asia, great water pressure. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The only two things we disliked were. We wanted to book another night to our stay, and to get the same room rate as the previous nights, we had to go through a hotel booking website, instead of just matching the rate and booking another room for us at the front desk, minor annoyance. The second thing is Breakfast at the Cafe, Little to no options and quite expensive. It is not really known for breakfast, so we can give it that much. But extremely expensive for toast, croissant and tea. All in all, it was a great stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 21st floor hypoallergenic room, not by our own choice, was given to us. It was wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K2onlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great stay at this new smaller hotel in Jordan/Kowloon. The location is unbeatable, and is convenient to markets, MTR and airport link. The service was friendly and professional, and the room was clean and bright. My only quibble was an unpleasant odor in my room which the staff quickly rectified when I brought it to their attention. The rate was a good value for the location and the standard and size of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner & I stayed here earlier this year for 4 nights. Got upgraded to a suite on one of the higher floors. Had very nice views of the Hong Kong skyline from our room. The open air rooftop bar is a gem. Great for a drink before or after dinner. Room has all the modern amenities, bit on the small side though, but to be expected for Hong Kong. Starter pack in mini bar was a really nice treat.
Location was great, very near Jordan mrt. Attractions nearby like Temple street markets. Would stay here again if visiting Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed one night on route from Canada to Malaysia. We were very tired after a long flight with no sleep and our room was not ready at check-in so we were switched from twin beds to a king size. Staff were courteous and helpful throughout the stay. The room itself was very clean and very quiet. We could not hear street noise from below. Breakfast was included and consisted of bread, rolls and english muffins, tea or coffee, juice and fruit, although our server forgot the fruit. The cafe latte was delicious.

Location wise, it was an easy walk around Kowloon to visit the lovely bird garden and park area and to explore the waterfront. We ate nearby at the delicious Tsui Wah restaurant.

The hotel has a fantastic roof top patio. Highly recommend that you go up there. Hong Kong puts on a waterfront laser light show every evening at 8pm. We were the only 2 people on the rooftop patio so enjoyed a perfect view of the light show over a cold beverage. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Enjoy a great view of the daily 8pm laser light show from the comfort of the hotel's rooftop pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
TUVE
#35 of 726 in Hong Kong
333 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
814 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#41 of 726 in Hong Kong
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#99 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,043 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $123 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing