We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and secluded hotel in the suburb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Ranked #166 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and secluded hotel in the suburb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Tai O heritage hotel located in a fishing village, about 2 hrs from down town. It's a beautiful hotel. It's a perfect for romantic gateway. The restaurant food is surprisingly good but the service is rather slow.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Take a break from the great hotels of Hong Kong and spend a night in Tai O on south west Lantau. The Tai O Heritage Hotel, once a Maritime Police Station, has only nine bedrooms, all looking out across the South China Sea and each well appointed. We had a suite, with two bathrooms, and were extremely comfortable. Staff were welcoming and helpful and our dinner and breakfast good, albeit that there were gaps in the menu ( no prawns, All-Bran, or croissants).
There were great walks in and around the village and we much enjoyed the escape from the bustle of Hong Kong. We would go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Firstly, Tai O is over the southwestern end of the Lantau Island of Hong Kong and this hotel is at about 20 minutes walk from the Tai O bus terminal. Therefore, it is a rather remote hotel with no connection to any major shopping mall or night time activities. The hotel is historical and tranquil, a very good escape from the busy city life. While walking to the hotel from the bus terminal, you can visit the traditional Tai O stilt villages and market, enjoy some local foods and shop for some interesting stuff, quite enjoyable indeed.

This is a nine-room hotel converted from an old marine police station built in 1902 so the layout and setting are rather different from other modern boutique hotels. The appearance of the hotel is attractive with a very unique colonial feel in the 19th century. Inside the room, the decoration is generally modern and spacious. The in-room provisions are complete and good. The staff are generally helpful but, frankly speaking, not very attentive. I think it is a usual problem in the hotel industry in Hong Kong, not just for this one.

Since the hotel is also a heritage building, it opens to the public visit during the day time from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm so the rooms on the ground floor always need to lower the curtain. In other words, there is no window view and a bit lack of privacy for these rooms. The view of the two rooms on the upper floor will certainly be better.

Given the relatively high room rate, there are a couple of issues that the hotel management really needs to address. The air conditioning in the room is very noisy and the fan control is inflexible (only high and low, but both are equally noisy). The bedding are not fit into the season, too thick for my time of visit. The hotel is really too small for too many outside visitors, this would cause unnecessary disturbance to the guests. Moreover, as rightly pointed out by many reviewers, there is room for improvement for the restaurant "Tai O Lookout". While the breakfast is still acceptable, you may want to have an early "local style seafood" dinner at Tai O town or market.

If you would like to visit the fishing village of Tai O, though a bit overpriced, this hotel is a possible option for a quiet and short stay.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the upper floor, may need very advance booking. Forget the dinner at the Loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caveman_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a really hard place to review. They have tried really hard to make something beautiful and luxurious but have missed the mark. For example, while they have used quality fixtures and materials the execution is poor: the toilet seats do not suit the toilet and so do not fit properly and sit off-centre, and in some cases won’t stay up which is a problem for the gentlemen. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious but dark due to no windows/blacked out glass. But it was very peaceful and quiet. Service was efficient if not friendly. The food was OK but at odds with the luxury look of the hotel. As it was raining, we had no trouble with visiting sightseers, but could see how this would be a problem esp. if in a ground floor room. In summary: the location is great and perfect for a quiet get away, to walk around Tai-O village, take boat tours to see the dolphins, and go hiking; it is not good if you want to go anywhere else on the island (35 min cab ride or hour bus ride to/from Tung Chung and access to the cable car to Ngong Ping).

Was it value for money – no. Would we go again – no. Would we recommend – yes but with full disclosure of the weaknesses and strengths noted above.

Room Tip: Only consider the second floor if staying on a weekend. Ground floor probably ok on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed one night on the romance package, room was clean and good although air conditioning was loud, be aware in the summer as this can keep you awake. Nice shower, bed was too soft for my partner but ok for me, free movies and wifi. We got a ground floor suite so view was not brilliant but OK. As other reviewers say, during daytime windows need to be closed as tourist look inside all the time.

We had a good tour of the building, very good to understand a bit of Tai O history, the guide told us places to eat and visit, saw white dolphins (use the tour boats after the bridge as it is $5 cheaper) which was great. The building had a little renovation going on but mainly complete to a high standard, my partner was impressed with the lift.

Food in restaurant is average at best, not really worth the price but in our deal was alright for us because we got a free bottle of sparkling wine. The candle-light dinner is just the same dinner as everyone else but with a candle :), so don't expect much, the free photo is just a digital camera photo (cheap one, we had a better camera phone) printed on small photo printer.

We didn't try the fishing or star gazing included as we didn't get time.

However, Tai O is a nice relaxing place away from Hong Kong with very local atmosphere. A good experience for those who have never been, good food inside Tai O if not the restaurant. I recommend to pick a non-busy period to visit for a short visit.

Tip: you can take a boat from the main pier to hotel for $10, ask at pier which saves a 30 min walk.

Room Tip: Upper floor would have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACHANLCHOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice escape for a weekend, 15-20 mins walk to the old town center where a lot of eateries could be found. However, it is still in a far end at the Lantau Island, going to the other places such as Tsim Sha Tsui or Causeway Bay will not be as convenience as the rest.
Love the Heritage building with the spacious bathrooms.
However, it is open for public in the day time, the huge groups of never ending weekend tours might be a bit annoying if staying at the ground floor. They kept peeping in from our windows that I finally lower all the window's curtains.

Room Tip: Ground floor basic room are lack of privacy, higher floor rooms are expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcmagmcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

"Not more than one star": this is what my wife reminded me of as I was starting to write this review. The staff is obviously well-meaning, the initiative to preserve the building should be applauded, and the location is absolutely stunning. But this does not detract from the fact our room was windowless, half of the fixtures were missing from the bathroom, the doors did not shut properly, there had been major water leaks in the ceiling and water had infiltrated the walls, the food in the restaurant was worse than at a school cafeteria, etc.

What should have been a relaxing night at a deluxe location ahead of a 20km hike on beautiful Lantau turned out to be as comfortable as a night in a camping, at 50 times the price.

As other reviewers have noted, this place is a wasted opportunity: keep that in mind if you read this review in 3 years when the management will have been fired, renovation work carried out, a proper chef hired, and the staff properly trained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mgoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#362 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
Gold Coast Hotel
#103 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai O Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai O Heritage Hotel

Property: Tai O Heritage Hotel
Address: Shek Tsai Po Street | Tai O, Lantau Island, Hong Kong Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#116 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tai O Heritage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tai O Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai O Heritage Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing