We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$200
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$267
$182
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$144
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$178
$129
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$172
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$71
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
103
105
27
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
105
27
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine policetung chungstilt houseslantau islandpink dolphinssea tigerlookout restaurantold police stationholding cellscolonial charmshrimp pastaseparate lounge roomcharming propertyunique heritagehear the wavesnice weekendset lunch
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 256 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited the restaurant of the Tai O Heritage Hotel, mid-week. The restaurant is in a great location, in the former Tai O Police Station, although the restaurant visitors are segregated from the hotel (understandably) as it is a boutique hotel with few rooms. We looked at a display of B&W photos of old Sai Kung, so we were able to go to the hotel reception, where some photos were on display. The organizers seem to have done quite a good job on keeping historic features of the old police station.

The restaurant location is great, accessed up some steep steps but with a lift (under maintenance when we visited) so people with mobility problems could probably gain access. Four of us had meals, at lunchtime. The tables are good though they have somehow managed to obscure the great view with some sorts of marble walls. Two of our party were vegetarians and the steamed vegetables and rice meal was acceptable but not exciting. The fish and chips were undercooked, and the chips were cold - but the staff immediately brought some hot chips when asked, so we must have been served "in between" fry-ups. This indicates rather poor attention to quality. The Club Sandwich was terrible, small, greasy, white bread, with poor fillings. The service was acceptable but clearly there is something of a quality control issue for the food. The a la carte cost is average and the food not really great value for money. There is a set lunch available (3-course plus tea/coffee) for $138+.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from the hotel and I couldn't wait to compliment on its services as well as its nostaglic tranquility.

Being a former police station, the heritage hotel offers only 9 rooms with 4 being suites and 5 being standard rooms. The hotel is nestled on a hilltop at the tip of Tai O, the fishing village. 5 standard rooms and reception area on the ground floor and 4 suites on the second floor. Verandahs for the suites are not private ones but something like a corridor outside the suites. Nevertheless, the setting is lovely and it is definitely enjoyable to watch the sun sinking into the sea with a book and a cup of coffee made from the nespresso in your room. Unfortunately, i had met with the severe typhoon and the rainwater kept seeping into the room through the door gap, a little bit messy though not serious. Hearing the rain and the wind roaring outside, the feeling was mixed. It was noisy throughout the night, but it had been while that I had ever been accompanied by the waves, the ruslting leaves and blustering wind. to me, it's a close encounter with mother nature in a comfortable setting.

The room was spacious, comfortable with a fairly large bathroom. A DVD player is available but the tVchannels as well as the pay movies are more than sufficient if you did not meet with the inclement weatehr as we did. Actually, the booking could be delayed or cancelled if the weather was real bad,k since the hotel was very accomodating but we chose to go on as booking a room there was difficult. Of course, we might give a a miss if we had known that it would turn out to be a severe typhoon that HK had not experienced since 1999.

There is a restaurant at the second floor, which is a glass house surrounded by greens. Making good use of the natural sunlight, dining there is comfortable. Due to the typhoon, I had my breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Oveall speaking, the food was good, choice limited though.Price was reasonable. the staff were friendly and were doing their best to accomodate our needs, though they were green and not at all professional.

All staffs at the hotel were great, very accomodating and they were always ready to offer help to guests. Escorting you through the dimly lit staircase to the restaurant, offering you an umbrella, or a helping hand when you came with a handful of luggage, umbrella, & etc. Their flexibility and hospitablity were comparable to or exceed those of the 5 star hotels. Due to the inclement weather and my being travelling with 2 elders and 2 kids, we were allowed to stay in the room as long as we may deem fit to leave. the standard check out time was 1200 but it's almost 1600 when we finally left. it was impressive.

There is an escorted tour about the history of this heritage daily at 1500-1600. it's a pity that we did not try it due to bad weather. Will definitely return to get a romantic getaway with my hubby soon.

Room Tip: suite is preferred if you do not need 2 double beds.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrianmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stopped here after walking through the village just in time for dinner. The concierge at the door was really friendly and we found all the rest of the staff to be super helpful as well. The food was good, and when my companion complained that the lamb was slightly undercooked it wasn't just recooked, but replaced! We also got a complimentary round of drinks for our inconvenience. I really loved the atmosphere and the mini funicular going back down was fun! Frankie the manager made us feel very welcome. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is run by a charity organization and the money they earned will be used to maintain this heritage hotel. We booked a Birthday Package (please find out the details from their website), the package price we paid for was a great great value. You cannot find such deal at this price elsewhere in Hong Kong. Room is big and spacious particularly the bathroom. We like the restaurant, the whole place is covered by glass, beautiful. The hotel is handicape friendly, very helpful! We rent the tricycle and cycled around the village for fun! Don't miss the sunset just outside of the hotel at the pier! This is one of the best sunset spots in Hong Kong. If you are lucky, you can watch the sun goes down the horizon!

Room Tip: Only 2 levels in the hotel, those with better view are on the 2nd level. If you don't mind smaller room, the best value room is the Double room which is on the 2nd level with the best view. However, it is often rent out! You need to book it a few months ago.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mingi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel looks exactly like the photos. Comfortable, spacious rooms with luxurious bathrooms and top of the line amenities. The rooms themselves have few windows but the verandah outside has a lovely sea view. You can sit outside with a book and enjoy the views and the singing cicadas (mosquito spray is a must)

Setting is beautiful. Nestled in trees with the said sea view. The restaurant has a limited menu but the food is tasty enough and reasonable-priced. Service is friendly although not polished (I understand they employ local villagers, who may not be as well-trained).

Not much to do inside the hotel except relax, read a book and watch tv (no pool, no gym, no activities), but that's not the point anyways. This is more about chilling out and sightseeing an old HK village. 15 minutes walk to Tai O village proper for sightseeing and boat trips.

Overall, a comfortable short stay to experience a different era. I would also spend some time at Long Beach, Big Buddha, and Tung Chung outlet mall to make it a complete wknd getaway.

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 adults and 1 baby and fit comfortably in their suite (Seahorse + Seahawk). There were 2 bathrooms, one in the living room and 1 in the bedroom. Baby cot provided.
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank blcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews