We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy Moly, that's a lot of food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Market

The Market
Ranked #13 of 7,786 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Inspired by the iconic food markets of Asia and Europe, with their vibrant atmosphere and abundant fresh produce, Hotel ICON presents a restaurant unlike any other. The Market's open kitchens serve international delights from antipasti to laksas to grilled beef. With separate sections for Deli, Sashimi, Hong Kong, Eastern and Western cuisine + Desserts, you can browse at your leisure. For special occasions, The Market's private dining room seats 15 people.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holy Moly, that's a lot of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's a good job that I was hungry when we went to eat the lunch buffet, because the spread on display was quite impressive! It is fairly expensive, but the quality is top-notch, and there is food to satisfy every palate.

Personal favourite: Tandoori Chicken. Mmmmmm

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    174
    50
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We LOVED The Market. We stayed at the ICON and had breakfast here. What a fantastic selection of buffet breakfast foods. At least 3 cultures in one place and all done perfectly. I highly recommend this eatery. totally wonderful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DEK649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a dinner here, which is a buffet style. It has a wide variety of food.

I love Panna cotta, but have only once had a real great smooth one in an italian restaurant, until now! The Market made me enjoy not just one, but a couple of Panna Cotta's -> WOW

We went back a second time to "The Market" it was this good!

If you like wine, you maybe want to have the "special" drink as much as you want for a fixed price (if it is still available)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
294 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Excellent selection - quite pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate at the Market for breakfast as we stayed at the hotel. It cost 240 HK dollars and although that's quite expensive you could eat enough to last you the whole day.

The selection is extensive. You can have a full English breakfast with eggs cooked as you want. There's a huge range continentai style (yoghurts / pastries / meat / cheese) and you can have dim sum and noodles etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome spread with unbelievable seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Offered the biggest prawns I have ever seen, fresh oysters, crabs, sushi and sashimi, and everything else you would expect in a first rate buffet

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank In2exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market also viewed

 

Been to The Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing