We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem - Genuine, comfortable, and friendly”
Review of La Piola - CLOSED

La Piola
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rare gem - Genuine, comfortable, and friendly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Possibly my favorite spot.

If it is just for an apperitivo, spritz being quite common, or for a fine cooked meal, La Piola is hard to beat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    61
    8
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply great, home feel in fine environment”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have spent quite some times at La Piola either during apperitivo to enjoy a few drinks with friends at the bar (always have spritz) and enjoy the complimentary bites. However the high lights of all evening spent in that true Piedmonte style restaurant is the dinner. Simple but of high quality, creative but true to its roots, and the wine, yes the Piedmonte's wine are just fabulous. And thanks to a very caring front of the house team, we always end up wanting to be back again.
To conclude at La Piola you can enjoy a true experience of the Piedmonte's greatest from lunch to dinner, through good drinks, tasty meals and amazing friendly feeling.
I will be back as soon as I can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank junfailong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
168 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Among the top Italian restaurants in town”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Although this place is some sort of popular spot for drinking, the food is for me surprisingly good. Ingredients they use are of top quality. Not the usual stiff atmosphere of higher class restaurants. Setback of 2'000 for 3 dinner is for reasonable (including wine).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Burkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really Italian experience In Hong Kong... LA PIOLA”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love the atmosphere... really Italian Style!!!! i started with a Spritz my Friday night with friends..... lovely !!!!! Staff is very nice and competent... they support the customers in a very excellent way...
Food was good and reflected the true tradition of Piedmont : Vitello Tonnato, Carpaccio, Agnolotti , Brasato and Bollito Misto.... i loved all the dishes and would recommend anyone to stop in a restaurant with so welcoming and warm. KM Hong Kong

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KetiMazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit too expensive”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

One would not expect great food by the looks of this place. It looks like an ordinary pub that maybe serves some pasta. Looks can be misleading: this restaurant offers nice, quality foof, albeit overpriced. It is clear the chef is italan and he would probably even be successful in italy. There is only one toilet though and it is not clean. For these prices one would expect better hygiene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaConefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing